The Cambridge Economic History of Europe. General editors M. M. Postan and H J. Habakkuk. Cambridge: The University Press, 2nd ed., 1966. 8 vols. HC240 .C312
An authoritative survey of an aspect of society not included in the Cambridge medieval and modern histories. Contents organized in chapters which deal with a well-defined topic (e.g., "Markets and Fairs"). Bibliographies for each chapter appear at the end of the volume.
Chronology of the Medieval World, 800 to 1491, by R. L. Storey. Oxford: Helicon, 1994.
Ref. D118 .S85 1994. A copy also in Lilly Ref.
A year-by-year outline of medieval history. Left-hand pages show the political events of each year, while facing pages show development in law, science, religion, education, the arts, and philosophy, along with significant births and deaths. A good index makes it easy to locate persons, places, subjects and titles of books or artworks.
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co. 1988- Ongoing.
Ref. PN610 .C53 A copy also in Lilly Ref. 809 C614 M489x.
"Excerpts from criticism of the works of world authors from classical antiquity through the fourteenth century, from the first appraisals to current evaluations." Very thorough information on authors, works, and cultural settings, with as much as 100 pages devoted to some works. Extensive up-to-date bibliographies.
A Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance, edited by J. R. Hale. New York: Oxford University Press, 1981. Lilly Ref. 945.050321 C744 1981
This work offers brief signed articles on the people, institutions, events of Renaissance Italy. It is designed to answer questions about what went on but also to suggest what it might have been like to have lived then. The subject index lists the entries topically. The articles are accompanied by bibliographies.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief. New York, Scribner, 1982-1989. 13 vols. Ref. D114 .D5 1982 A copy is also in Lilly Ref. 909.07 D554 1982
An encyclopedia rather than a dictionary, this well-written, up-to-date source includes people, places, and topics pertaining to the Middle Ages. Some entries are only a quarter of a page in length while others are more than ten pages long. Topics discussed are both specific ("Brewing") and quite general ("Bulgaria"). There is a bibliography at the end of each entry.
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Donald M. Borchert, editor in chief. New York, Macmillan, 2006. 10v.
Lilly Ref. B51 .E53 2006.
Covers philosophy of all time periods. Alphabetical arrangement with a thematic outline, bibliography, and index.
The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, edited by Norman Cantor. New York, Viking, 1999.
Ref. D114 .E53. A copy is also in Lilly Ref. 909.07 E56 1999
This one-volume encyclopedia begins with an introduction describing the current state of medieval studies. It contains an index as well as sidebars that contain writings from medieval sources, elaborations on everyday life, and legends of the period. The publication covers the history of all areas of the world during the middle ages.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, edited by Andre Vauchez Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. 2 v.
Ref. D114 .E53 2000. Also in Div. Sch. Ref. and Lilly Ref. Full text available in: Oxford Reference Online .
Arranged alphabetically, this reference work was created by over 600 contributors from a wide range of disciplines. At the end is a table of monarchs, patriarchs, and popes, including Muslim rulers and those from Central Europe.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance, ed. Paul F. Grendler. New York: Scribner's, 1999. 6 v.
Ref CB361 .E52 Also in Lilly Ref. 940.2103 E56, 1999
Articles on all aspects of the Renaissance in alphabetical arrangement, with cross-references. Each entry has a brief bibliography for further reading. It includes a chronological table with columns for politics and secular events and event in religion, arts, literature, philosophy and science. Several entries include maps or genealogical tables. A systematic outline of the contents can be found at the end.
Encyclopedia of World Art. New York, McGraw-Hill (1959-1983). 17v. Ref. N31 .E4833 1959. A copy is also in Lilly Ref. 703 E56 and Div. Sch. Lib. 703 E56 1959
Long, signed articles with extensive bibliographies. Also, good reproductions of the artworks discussed. The index volume has entries for personal and geographical names, works of art, and subjects.
groveart.com
Covers every aspect of the visual arts – painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, and photography – from prehistory to the present day. Contains 45,000 articles by more than 6,800 scholars.
Includes more than 130,000 fine art images from the Bridgeman Art Library as well as thousands of external image links.
Lexikon des Mittelalters. Ed. by Robert Autry et al. Munich, Zurich: Artemis Verlag, 1977- 1999. 9 v. and index. Ref. D101.5 .L49 1977 Also available on CD-ROM: Electronic Media | C143
This German language dictionary provides thorough coverage of persons, places, and subjects pertaining to the Middle Ages. The articles are signed and include bibliographies.
Medieval England: an encyclopedia.
France ...
Germany ...
Iberia ...
Ireland ...
Italy ...
Islamic civilization ...
Italy ...
Jewish civilization ...
These single-volume encyclopedias cover individual civilizations or countries and provide basic information on the time period. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order. Check the catalog for the call numbers; all are in the Perkins Reference collection.
Medieval Studies: an Introduction, edited by James M. Powell. 2nd ed. Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 1992. D116 .M4 1992
Designed to offer the student "a convenient orientation in the field." Essays by various authors on all aspects of medieval studies. Bibliographical footnotes and/or substantial bibliographies at the end of each chapter cover to the mid- to late 1980s. Includes palaeography, diplomatics, chronology, literature, music, archaeology, law, and science.
Medieval Wordbook, compiled by Madeleine Pelner Cosman. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 1996.
Ref. CB351 .C63 1996 Also in Lilly Ref. 909.0703 C834 M489 1996
"Medieval Wordbook is a word treasury for people passionate about the Middle Ages: its art and architecture, science and medicine, literature and law, liturgy and ceremony, sex, costumes, cookery, magic, religion, astrology, warfare, jousting, and celebrations. ...." As the editor says about the 4,000+ entries, "For lovers of the medieval world, here are 4,000 squints into its magnificence."
The New Cambridge Medieval History. ed by Rosamund McKitterick. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1995-2005. 8 vols. Ref. D117 .N48 1995
An excellent source for background information. Each volume covers a specific time period of the middle ages. In each volume a particular aspect of medieval history is considered in narrowly focused chapters. A bibliography for each of these appears at the end of the volume along with a list of primary sources and a comprehensive index.
New Catholic Encyclopedia. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, 2003. 15 vols. Ref. BX841 .N44 2003
Also in Div. Sch. Lib. Ref. 282.03 N532
Very useful biographical information on lesser known as well as more prominent medieval personages. Includes articles on many concepts characteristic of a religious age. Good coverage of artistic, philosophical, and other cultural topics.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.