Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Books and Primary Sources

Bibliographie internationale de l'humanisme et de la Renaissance. Geneva: Libraire Droz, 1965-  Annual. Ref. CB361 .B535
Lists books and articles in all areas of study -- literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, science -- of the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe.

A Bibliography of English History ..., edited by Edgar B. Graves. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1928-
Ref. 941 B582 E58
Volume 1 of this set covers  "The sources and literature of English history from the earliest times to about 1485." This comprehensive source covers bibliographical guides, journals, archives and printed sources, and many materials from auxiliary studies: philology, archaeology, art, geography and local history.

Guide to the Literature of Art History 2, by Max Marmor and Alex Ross. Chicago, American Library Association, 2005. Lilly  Ref.  N380 .M374 2004.  Also a copy in the Lilly stacks.
Organized into sections entitled "General Reference Sources," "General Primary and Secondary Sources," and "Serials." The sections are subdivided into type of art and region of the world.  The entries are annotated and there are author-title and subject indexes.

A Guide to the Study of Medieval History, by Louis John Paetow. Revised and corrected edition. Millwood, N.Y., Kraus Reprint, 1980. Ref. D117 .P348 1980
An essential volume. Part 1 is a listing of general works including bibliographies, reference books, auxiliary sources, modern historical works, and collections of original sources. Parts 2 and 3 consist of topical chapters which begin with a narrative outline of the subject and are followed by a section of recommended readings and a bibliography. There are some annotations. Comprehensive index of authors, subjects, and titles of large collections.

Iter Italicum, compiled by Paul Oskar Kristeller.  6 vols. and index.
Z6611 .H8 K7 1963
The most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncataloged or incompletely cataloged Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

Literature of Medieval History, 1930-1975: a Supplement to Louis John Paetow's A Guide to the Study of Medieval History; by Gray Cowen Boyce. 5 vols., Millwood, N.Y., Kraus, c1981. Ref. D117 .B693 Suppl.  Also in Divinity School Lib. and Lilly Ref.: 016.9401 P126G Suppl.
Lists 55,000 works published between 1930 and 1975. Arrangement corresponds essentially to that in Paetow. Includes books and periodicals, many of which are in English.

Medieval Studies: a Bibliographical Guide, edited by E. U. Crosby. New York, Garland Pub., 1984.
Ref.  CB351 .C767  and Perkins stacks.  Also in Lilly Ref. 016.9401 C949 M489 1983
Approximately 9,000 annotated entries providing access to "the major collections of sources and the secondary literature considered to be of basic importance for the history and the culture of the western European Middle Ages, Byzantium, and medieval Islamic civilization." Arrangement is by topical chapters which are subdivided by types of sources.


Last modified May 11, 2007 2:44:43 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870