Bibliography of British and Irish History
An authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day, produced by the Royal Historical Society. Contains over 420,000 entries and is updated three times a year.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Contains more than 487,000 records that index and abstract (in French or English) the current literature of European and American art from late antiquity to the present, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, electronic publications, conference proceedings, and journal articles in more than 2,500 periodicals. Subjects covered include art and fine art, decorative and applied arts, archaeology, architecture, selected contemporary art, folk art, industrial art, new media, painting, photography, prints, drawing, sculpture, theater, and festivals. Covers 1973 to the present and is updated quarterly.
Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Centre d'études superiéures de civilisation médiévale. Université de Poitiers, 1958- Lib. has v. 1 to date. Divinity School Lib. q901.92 C132
Focus is on 10th-12th centuries. One issue each year is an extensive subject listing of articles and books, primarily on European history and civilization of the 10th-12th centuries and to a lesser extent including materials relating to Byzantine, Islamic, Slavic, and Middle Eastern civilizations. Annual author index; index for v. 1-5 of names, places, texts, etc.
Humanities Abstracts, 1984-, with abstracts from 1994-
Covers 500 journals in the areas of archaeology, classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
International Index, 1907-1964/65. and Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1965/66-1973/74. Ref. AI3 .R49.
Humanities Index, 1974/75-. Ref. AI3 .H85 Also in Lilly Room 113 – 050 H918
Under various titles this source provides indexing of English language periodicals dealing with social sciences and humanities. Entries appear under both author and subject.
International Medieval Bibliography. 1967-
Indexes journal articles, colloquium papers, and essays treating medieval topics from the accession of Diocletian to the end of the fifteenth century. Includes research on medieval history in areas such as archaeology, architecture, arts, canon law, crusades, daily life, ecclesiastical history, folk studies, historiography, language, literature, military history, music, philosophy, political thought, social history, and theology. Arrangement of the cited items in the paper version is in topical sections ("Crusades," for example) which are subdivided by geographical area. There is an author index and an extensive subject index at the end of each volume.
The electronic version provides searchable access to more than 300,000 entries from 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volumes.
ISIS: International Review Devoted to the History of Science and its Cultural Influences. This journal is also available in print: I81
An international review devoted to the history of science and its cultural influences. Includes "Critical bibliography of the history and philosophy of science and of the history of civilization." More than 500 journals are checked systematically in the compilation of the bibliography.
Iter.
Indexes journals relevant to the all aspects of the European Renaissance (1300-1700) and the medieval period (400-1500), including history, literature, art, philosophy, politics and government, and religion. Covers complete runs of more than 400 scholarly journal titles, published from 1843 to the present. It also indexes books and collected essays.
The Philosopher's Index. Also print copy for 1967/68- in Lilly Ref. Room 113 - 100 P568
This database provides coverage of foreign language philosophical literature from 1967 and English-language philosophical periodicals from 1940. Also covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Indexes and abstracts about 400 major journals. The electronic version is updated quarterly.
ATLA Religion Database
This database provides citations to literature covering all aspects of world religions (including Buddhism, Christianity and all its denominations, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and others), religious study, and theology. Coverage from 1949.
Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie. t. 1-68, 1910-1964; N.S. t. 1- 25, 1965- 1989. Lib. has complete file. Lilly Ref. 016.7 R425
Includes books and journal articles published in Europe and North America. The contents are organized into chapters that treat a chronological period and which are further divided by topic and geographic area. Continued by Bibliography of the History of Art.
Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique. Universite catholique de Louvain. 1900- . Lib. has v. 1 to date.
Divinity School Lib. 282.05 R454D
Semi-annual bibliographies. General history of the medieval church and some other studies such as; archaeology, palaeography, and textual criticism. Author index and outline of the classification are at the end of each second issue.
Web of Science 1975- for arts and humanities; 1900- for sciences; 1956- for social sciences
This database includes three sections: Science, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. The Arts and Humanities section comprehensively covers over 1,000 journals providing citations for articles and book reviews published internationally.