Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Islamic History & Historiography - تاريخ

Online Resources

Cambridge Histories

The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. EWIC hopes both to offer the state of the art in the broad sweep of topics to inform the general audience and to take on cutting-edge issues to stimulate new research in new terrains.

Bibliographies

Brockelmann, Carl.
Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur.
Weimar: E. Felber, 1898-1902.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ7510 .B7 1898 Check availability @ Duke
Online version: Hathi Trust
Annotated repertory of Arabic mansucripts, arranged by author and organized in a generally chronological order. For each author we are given a capsule biography, a short list of references for his life, and a bibliography of both his manuscript and printed editions.
Contents: 1. bd. Einleitung. Quellen und frühere darstellungen. 1. Buch. Die arabishe Nationallitteratur. 2. Buch. Die islâmische Litteratur in arabischer Sprache. 1898.--2. bd. 3. Buch. Der Niedergang der islâmischen Litteratur. 1902.
Crosby, Everett Uberto.
Medieval warfare : a bibliographical guide.
New York, NY: Garland, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library U37 .C767 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Deutsche Morgenländische Gesellschaft.
Verzeichnis der orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland.
Wiesbaden, F. Steiner, 1961-
Perkins/Bostock Library Stacks Z6605.O7 V479 Check availability @ Duke
Bd. XII. Türkische Handschriften (5 Teile)
Bd. XIV. Persische Handschriften (2 Teile)
Bd. XVII, Reihe A. Materialien zur arabischen Literaturgeschichte (2 Teile)
Bd. XVII, Reihe B. Arabische Handschriften (1 Teil)
Grimwood-Jones, Diana.
Arab-Islamic bibliography.
Hassocks, England : Harvester Press, 1977.
Divinity School Library 016.90904 A658, 1977 Check availability @ Duke
Outlines the reference tools, sources, and main centers of study for the Islamic Middle East
Kornrumpf, Hans-Jürgen.
Osmanische Bibliographie: mit besonderer Berücksichtigung der Türkei in Europa.
Handbuch der Orientalistik. Erste Abteilung, Der Nahe und der Mittlere Osten. Ergänzungsband; 8
Leiden: Brill, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Z2831 .K67 1973 International & Area Studies Reading Room Check availability @ Duke
Library of Congress.
National union catalog of manuscript collections.
Washington : Library of Congress, 1959-
Perkins/Bostock Reference Z106.5.U6 N385 Check availability @ Duke
Indexes: 1959/62, 1 v.; 1963/66 in 1966; 1967/69 in 1969; 1970/74 in 1974; 1975/79 1 v.; 1980/84, 1 v.; 1986/90, 1 v.; 1991/93, 1 v.
Markaz Dirasat al-Wahdah al-Arabiyah.
‏مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية.
Bibliyughrafiya al-wahdah al-Arabiyah lil-qarn al-ishrin, (1908-2000). ‏ببليوغرافيا الوحدة العربية للقرن العشرين،١٩٠٨-٢٠٠٠
Bayrut, Lubnan : al-Markaz, 2003.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS62.8 .B535 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: al-mujallad 1.al-Athar -al-Ayyubiyun -- al-mujallad 2.Bab al-Mandab-al-Jiyulujiya -- al-mujallad 3.al-Hajj-al-Sin -- al-mujallad 4.Dahir-Liyuti -- al-mujallad 5.al-Madiyah-yunitar -- al-mujallad 6.Fihris al-anawin (al-Arabiyah) -- al-mujallad 7.Fihris al-anawin (al-ajnabiyah) -- al-mujallad 8.Fihris al-muallifin (bi-al-Arabiyah wa-al-ajnabiyah). Includes entries in Arabic and Western languages.
Pedani Fabris, Maria Pia.
I Documenti Turchi Dell'Archivio di Stato di Venezia.
Pubblicazioni degli archivi di Stato. Strumenti CXXII
Roma: Ministero per I Beni Culturali e Ambientali, 1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library CD1400 .P833 v. 122 Check availability @ Duke
Sezgin, Fuat.
Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums.
Leiden, E.J. Brill, 1967-
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS36.85 .S494 1967 Check availability @ Duke
This works presents a broad survey of Arabic manuscripts and provides a rich philological and historical commentary for each of the fields covered down to AH 430/AD 1040.
Contents: Bd. 1. Qurʾānwissenschaften, Hadīth Geschichte, Fiqh, Dogmatik, Mystik bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 2. Poesie bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 3. Medizin, Pharmazie, Zoologie, Tierheilkunde bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 4. Alchimie, Chemie, Botanik, Agrikultur bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 5. Mathematik bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 6. Astronomie bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 7. Astrologie, Meteorologie und Verwandtes bis ca. 430 H.--Bd. 8. Lexikographie bis 430 H.--Bd. 9. Grammatik bis ca. 430 H.
Skreslet, Paula Youngman.
The literature of Islam : a guide to the primary sources in English translation .
Lanham, Maryland : Scarecrow Press, Inc. : American Theological Library Association, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room Z7835.M6 S585 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: The Qur'an: text and translation -- The traditions: Hadith -- Exegesis of the Qur'an: tafsir -- Law and legal theory: shari'a and fiqh -- History and historiography: ta'rikh -- Philosophy: falsafa -- Theology: kalam -- Spirituality and mysticism: tasawwuf -- Appendix: anthologies.

Historiography

Amhazun, Muhammad.
Tahqiq mawaqif al-sahabah fi al-fitnah : min riwayat al-Imam al-Tabari wa-al-muhaddithin.
تحقيق مواقف الصحابة في الفتنة : من روايات الإمام الطبرى والمحدثين
al-Qahirah : Dar Tibah : Dar al-Salam, 2005.
Divinity School Library DS38.2.T33 A44 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Arawī, ʻAbd Allāh.
Islam et histoire : essai d'épistémologie. Paris: GF Flammarion, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library BP50 .A63 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Boekhoff-van der Voort, Nicolet, et. al. eds.
The transmission and dynamics of the textual sources of Islam : essays in honour of Harald Motzki.
Leiden ; Boston: Brill, 2011.
Divinity School Library BP20 .T73 2011 Check availability @ Duke
Bosworth, Clifford Edmund.
The new Islamic dynasties : a chronological and genealogical manual.
New York : Columbia University Press, c1996.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS35.627 .B67 1996 Check availability @ Duke
Choueiri, Youssef M.
Modern Arab historiography : historical discourse and the nation-state.
London ; New York : RoutledgeCurzon, 2003.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS37.4 .C46 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Danişmend, İsmail Hami.
İzahlı Osmanlı tarihi kronolojisi.
İstanbul: Türkiye Yayınevi, 1971.
Library Service Center DR436 .D3 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: cilt 1. M. 1258-1512, H. 656-918 -- cilt 2. M. 1513-1573, H. 919-981 -- cilt 3. M. 1574-1703, H. 987-1115 -- cilt 4. M. 1703-1924, H. 1115-1342 -- cilt 5. Osmanlı devlet erkânı.
Donner, Fred McGraw.
Narratives of Islamic origins : the beginnings of Islamic historical writing.
Princeton, N.J. : Darwin Press, 1998.
Divinity School Library DS38.16 .D66 1998 Check availability @ Duke
Dūrī, ʻAbd al-ʻAzīz.
Awraq fi al-tarikh wa-al-hadarah.
‫ أوراق في التاريخ والحضارة
Bayrut : Dar al-Gharb al-Islami, 2007.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS38.16 .D87 2007 v.1-v.4 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: al-Juz 1. Awraq fi ilm al-tarikh = Papers on Arab historiography -- al-juz 2. Awraq fi al-tarikh al-iqtisadi = Papers on economic history -- al-juz 3. Awraq fi al-tarikh al-Arabi al-Islami = Papers on Arab history -- al-juz 4. Awraq fi al-fikr wa-al-thaqafah = Papers on Arabic culture.
Dūrī, ʻAbd al-ʻAzīz. / إشراف عبد العزيز الدوري.
al-Jāmiʻ li-nuṣūṣ al-iqtiṣād al-Islāmī / الجامع لنصوص الاقتصاد الاسلامي
Ammān : Muʼassasat Āl al-Bayt lil-Fikr al-Islāmī, Maktabat Ṣāliḥ ʻAbd Allāh Kāmil, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library Int.l & Area Studies Reading Room BP173.5 .J35 2002 5 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Dūrī, ʻAbd al-ʻAzīz.
The rise of historical writing among the Arabs.
Princeton, NJ : Princeton University Press, 1983.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS38.16 .D8713 1983 Check availability @ Duke
Faroqhi, Suraiya.
Approaching Ottoman history: an introduction to the sources.
Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Perkins/Bostock Library DR486 .F36 1999 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: 1. Introduction -- 2. Entering the field -- 3. Locating Ottoman sources -- 4. Rural life as reflected in archival sources: selected examples -- 5. European sources on Ottoman history: the travellers -- 6. On the rules of writing (and reading) Ottoman historical works -- 7. Perceptions of empire: viewing the Ottoman Empire through general histories -- 8. Conclusion.
Faruqi, Nisar Ahmad.
Early Muslim historiography : a study of early transmitters of Arab history from the rise of Islam up to the end of Umayyad period, 612-750 A.D.
Delhi : Idarah-i Adabiyat-i Delli, 1979.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS38.16 .F37 1979 Check availability @ Duke
Gershoni, Israel et al.
Middle East historiographies : narrating the Twentieth Century.
Seattle : University of Washington Press, c2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS61.6 .M534 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Pt. 1 The state of the art. Introduction / Israel Gershoni and Amy Singer -- The historiography of the modern Middle East: transforming a field of study / R. Stephen Humphreys -- Pt. 2. Colonialism and nationalism. The historiography of World War I and the emergence of the contemporary Middle East / Charles D. Smith -- Twentieth-century historians and historiography of the Middle East: women, gender, and empire / Julia Clancy-Smith -- Reading genocide: Turkish historiography on the Armenian deportations and massacres of 1915 / Fatma Müge Göçek -- Pt. 3. Narratives of crisis. The theory of crisis and the crisis in a theory: intellectual history in twentieth-century Middle Eastern studies / Israel Gershoni -- The historiography of crisis in the Egyptian political economy / Ellis Goldberg -- Pt. 4. Emerging voices. On gender, history, . . . and fiction / Marilyn Booth -- Will that subaltern ever speak? Finding African slaves in the historiography of the Middle East / Eve M. Troutt Powell -- Muslim religious extremism in Egypt: a historiographical critique of narratives / Juan R. I. Cole -- Audiovisual media and history of the Arab Middle East / Walter Armbrust.
Haridi, Alexander.
Das Paradigma der "islamischen Zivilisation" - oder, Die Begründung der deutschen Islamwissenschaft durch Carl Heinrich Becker (1876-1933) : eine wissenschaftsgeschichtliche Untersuchung.
Würzburg : Ergon, c2005.
Divinity School Library BP49.5.B43 H353 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Heywood, Colin.
Writing Ottoman history : documents and interpretations.
Aldershot, Hampshire ; Burlington, Vt.: Ashgate, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock DR486 .W75 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Hirschler, Konrad.
Medieval Arabic historiography : authors as actors.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS37.4 .H38 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Howard-Johnston, J. D.
Witnesses to a world crisis : historians and histories of the Middle East in the seventh century.
Oxford [England] ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS38.1 .H685 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: George of Pisidia: Life and early poems ; War poetry and religious poetry ; Official history of the Persian war and other late works ; Literary achievement ; Relations with the Emperor -- Two universal chronicles: Chronicon Paschale : general characteristics ; Chronicon Paschale : universal history ; Chronicon Paschale : documentary history of the recent past ; Chronicon Paschale : scope and authorship ; Chronicle of the year 724 : content and sources ; Chronicle of the year 724 : early seventh-century material ; Conclusion -- Seventh-century Eastern sources I : the History of Khosrov: the History of Khosrov and its authorship ; Scope and character ; Sources ; Editing ; Trustworthiness ; Conclusion --^ Later historians : Theophanes: Life and work ; Last Roman-Persian war : sources ; Last Roman-Persian war : editorial errors ; A historical text disinterred : the official history of Heraclius' Persian campaigns ; Arab conquests : sources and editing ; Battle for the Mediterranean 669-718 : sources and editing ; A historical text identified : the political memoirs of the Patrician Trajan ; Conclusion -- Later historians at work in Egypt, Iraq, and Iran: History of the patriarchs of Alexandria ; Chronicle of Seert ; Annals of Eutychius ; Khwadaynamag ('Book of Lords') -- Early Islamic historical writing: The Qur'an ; Early Islamic historical traditions ; Al-Tabari's account of the last Roman-Persian war ; Muslim accounts of the conquests (futuh) ; Disruptions in the historical narrative : the capture of Jerusalem and the first civil war (fitna) ; History of events from the end of the first civil war (661) to the siege of Constantinople (717-718) ; Conclusion --^ Later historians : the West Syrian Tradition: The lost History of Theophilus of Edessa and its derivatives ; Theophilus' account of the last Roman-Persian War ; Theophilus' account of the rise of Islam ; Theophilus on international relations and domestic crises (641-661) ; Theophilus evidence on Arab grand strategy before and after the second civil war ; Editorial treatment of Theophilus' work in later histories ; Conclusion -- Later historians : Nicephorus: Life and historical writing ; Nicephorus' account of the period 603-641 : sources ; Nicephorus' account of the period 603-641 : historical value ; Later seventh- and early eighth-century history : Nicephorus' source ; Nicephorus' account of Roman-Arab relations : historical value ; Conclusion --^ Seventh-century Eastern sources II : the History to the year 682 and the Khuzistan Chronicle: History of Atropatene (Azerbaijan) from the beginning of time ; A historical text disinterred : the History to the year 682 ; Information about Turks and Arabs ; Editing ; History to 682 : reliability and historical contribution ; Khuzistan chronicle ; Conclusion -- Supplementary Roman sources of the seventh century I: Works written in Constantinople ; Evidence from Asia Minor ; Evidence from the Balkans, Italy, and North Africa ; Two show-trials in Constantinople in the 650s -- Supplementary Roman sources of the seventh century II: Propaganda and lives of saints from Palestine ; Sophronius, poet and patriarch ; The Maronite chronicle ; Evidence about Egypt in the early seventh century ; A detailed narrative of the Arab conquest of Egypt ; Conclusion --^ The Middle East in the seventh century : a new world order: Battle for the Mediterranean : phase II ; Second civil war, 682-692 ; The early Muslim state ; Siege of Constantinople, 717-718 ; Byzantium and Islam. The life of the prophet: Islamic traditions about sixth-century Arabia ; Rise of Mecca ; Historical value of the biography of the prophet (sira) ; The settlement of Hudaybiya ; Triumph and triumphalism -- Historians of the Middle East in the seventh century: Modest aims and respect for evidence ; General characteristics of non-Islamic historical writing ; General characteristics of early Islamic historical writing ; Coverage of extant historical sources ; Substantive history -- The Middle East in the seventh century : the great powers, Arabia, and the Prophet: The last Roman-Persian war, 603-630 ; The Prophet and his followers ; Confrontation and conciliation -- The Middle East in the seventh century : Arab conquests: Conquest of the Middle East ; Reasons for Muslim success ; Battle for the Mediterrannean : phase I ; The first civil war, 656-661 --^
Iggers, Georg G.
A global history of modern historiography.
Harlow, England ; New York : Pearson Longman, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Library D13 .I34 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Contents:
... * The Middle East (p. 32) * The rise of Islam and the origin of Muslim historiography (p. 33) * Main styles in Muslim historiography (p. 35) * The bureaucratization and secularization of historiography (p. 36) * The decline of the Muslim world and Muslim historiography? (p. 37) * ... * Nationalism and the transformation of Muslim historiography (p. 82) * The Muslim 'discovery' of Europe (p. 82) * Whose pharaohs? - (re)writing the history of Egypt (p. 87) * National identity and historical writing (p. 91) * Bridging the old and the new: the 'encyclopedists' and the 'neo-chroniclers' (p. 95) * Nationalism and the transformation of Indian historiography (p. 97) * Historiography during early colonialism (p. 97) * The new pedagogy and the emergence of a modern historical consciousness (p. 100) * Religious revivalism and the search for a glorious past (p. 101) * The birth of the rationalist paradigm (p. 104) * The birth of the nationalist paradigm (p. 105) * Nationalism, communalism and historical writing (p. 107) * Secular narratives and the emergence of economic nationalism (p. 108) ... 5. The appeal of nationalist history around the world: historical studies in the Middle East and Asia in the twentieth century (p. 194) * Ottomanism, Turkism and Egyptianization: nationalist history in the Middle East (p. 194) * The rise of modern education (p. 194) * Writing Turkish history in/for modern Turkey (p. 197) * The Egyptianization of historical writing (p. 201) * Academic history and national politics (p. 207) * Nationalism, scientism, and Marxism: modern historiography in East and South East Asia (p. 208)  ...  * Nationalist historiography in modern India (p. 227) * Late nineteenth-century antecedents: romantic nationalism (p. 227) * The role of religion in nationalist historiography (p. 230) * The nation as history and history as science (p. 232) * The romance of the local and the emergence of alternative narratives (p. 234) * The nation re-imagined: the Nehruvian synthesis (p. 237) * Post-independence historiography: old and new trajectories (p. 238) * Towards a social science history (p. 241)  ...  * Postcolonialism (p. 281) * The Subaltern Studies (p. 284)  ... 7. The rise of Islamism and the ebb of Marxism: historical writings in late twentieth-century Asia and the Middle East (p. 317) * The ebb and flow of Marxist historiography in East and South East Asia (p. 317)  ...  * Islamism and Islamic historiography: the Cold War and beyond (p. 337) * Globalizing Islamic historiography (p. 337) * The interplay of history and historiography (p. 339) * Edward Said and the critique of Orientalism (p. 342) * The appeal of Marxism and socialism (p. 344) * The Islamic revival: Islamism and nationalism (p. 348) * History and politics: the challenges to nationalist historiography (p. 351) * 8. Historiography after the Cold War, 1990-2007: a critical retrospect (p. 364) * The globalization of the world (p. 364) * The reorientation of historical studies (p. 367) * The cultural and the linguistic turn (p. 368) * Feminist and gender history (p. 371) * Redefining the alliance between history and the social sciences (p. 375) * New challenges to nationalist history (p. 380) * World history, global History and history of globalization (p. 387) * Glossary (p. 402) * Further reading (p. 410) * Index (p. 425)
Khalidi, Tarif.
Arabic historical thought in the classical period.
Cambridge [England] ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS38.16 .K445 1994 Check availability @ Duke
Full Text in: History E-Book Project
Lockman, Zachary.
Workers and working classes in the Middle East : struggles, histories, historiographies.
Albany : State University of New York Press, c1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library 305.5620956 W926, 1994 Check availability @ Duke
Get Full Text in NetLibrary
Lorimer, John Gordon, 1870-1914.
Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Omān, and Central Arabia.
Amersham, Gregg, 1970.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS326 .L67 1970 v.1-2 Check availability @ Duke Table of Contents: v. 1. Historical. 4 v.--v. 2. Geographical and statistical. 2 v.
Noth, Albrecht.
The early Arabic historical tradition : a source-critical study.
Princeton, N.J. : Darwin Press, 1994.
Divinity School Library DS38.16 .N67213 1994 Check availability @ Duke
Netton, Ian Richard.
Islamic and Middle Eastern geographers and travellers.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Library G93 .I75 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. I. Medieval geographers and travellers -- v. II. The travels of Ibn Jubayr -- v. III. The travels of Ibn Battuta -- v. IV. The post-medieval and early modern period. For detailed table of contents click here.
Note: Includes some source texts in Arabic.
Peacock, A. C. S. (Andrew C. S.)
Mediaeval Islamic historiography and political legitimacy : Balʻamī's Tārīkhnāma.
London ; New York: Routledge, 2007.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS38.2 .T325173 2007 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Preface -- Acknowledgements -- Abbreviations -- Introduction -- Politics, religion and culture in the late Sāmānid state -- The transmission of the Tārīkhnāma's text -- Balʻamī's reshaping of Ṭabarī's history -- The contents and purpose of Balʻamī's alterations to Ṭabarī's History -- The Tārīkhnāma after Balʻamī -- General conclusions -- Comparison of postulated redactions of the Tārīkhnāma -- Comparison of the Arabic translation of the Tārīkhnāma and the Persian text -- Addenda and corrigenda to Daniel's "An annotated inventory of Balʻamī's manuscripts" -- Bibliography -- Subject index -- Manuscript index.
Robinson, Chase F.
Islamic historiography.
Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.
Divinity School Library 297.0722 R658, I82, 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Part I. Origins and Categories: 1. Origins 2. The emergence of genre 3. Consequences and models 4. Three categories: biography, prosopography, chronography Part II. Contexts: 5. Historiography and traditionalism 6. Historiography and society 7. God and models of history 8. Historians and the truth Part III. How Historians Worked: 9. Vocations and professions 10. Writing history Conclusion.
Rosenthal, Franz, 1914-2003.
A history of Muslim historiography.
Leiden, E. J. Brill, 1952.
Library Service Center D198.2 .R67 1952 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Shaykh, Abd al-Rahman Abd Allah.
Ilm al-tarikh inda al-Muslimin.
علم التاريخ عند المسلمين

Misr al-Jadidah, al-Qahirah : al-Maktab al-Arabi lil-Maarif, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS37.7 .S53 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Unat, Faik Reşit.
Hicrı̂ tarihleri milâdı̂ tarihe çevirme kılavuzu.
Ankara : Türk Tarih Kurumu Basımevi, 1974.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room CE59 .U5 1974 Check availability @ Duke
Wüstenfeld, Ferdinand.
Vergleichungs-Tabellen zur muslimischen und iranischen Zeitrechung mit Tafeln zur Umrechnung orient-christlicher Ären.
Mainz: Deutsche Morgenländische Gesellschaft; in Kommission bei F. Steiner, Wiesbaden, 1961.
Library Service Center 529.3 W959V Check availability @ Duke
Description: 3., verb. und erweiterte Aufl. der "Vergleichungs-Tabellen der mohammedanischen und christlichen Zeitrechnung" unter Mitarbeit von Joachim Mayr neu bearb. von Bertold Spuler.

History of Islam - General Works

Çiçek, Kemal.
The great Ottoman-Turkish civilisation.
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .G74 2000 4 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Endress, Gerhard.
Islam : an historical introduction.
New York : Columbia University Press, c2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS35.6 .E5313 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Esposito, John L.
The Oxford history of Islam.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c1999.
Divinity School LibraryQuarto | 297.09 O98 1999 Check availability @ Duke
Freeman-Grenville, G. S. P.
Islam : an illustrated history.
New York : Continuum, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS35.63 .F74 2006 Check availability @ Duke
"Revised and expanded edition of Historical atlas of Islam"
Fattah, Hala Mundhir.
A brief history of Iraq.
New York : Facts On File, c2009.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS70.9 .F38 2009
Check availability @ Duke
Gardner, Robert.
Islam, empire of faith.
Alexandria, VA : PBS DVD ; Burbank, CA : distributed by Warner Home Video, 2001.
Lilly Library A-V DVD 389 Check availability @ Duke
Get streaming video of this movie
Gelvin, James L.
The modern Middle East : a history.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2011
Perkins/Bostock Library DS62.4 .G37 2011 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Newly revised and updated for the second decade of the twenty-first century, the third edition of The Modern Middle East: A History explores how the forces associated with global modernity have shaped the social, economic, cultural, and political life in the region over the course of the past 500 years. Beginning with the first glimmerings of the current international state and economic systems in the sixteenth century, this book examines the impact of imperial and imperialist legacies, the great nineteenth-century transformation, cultural continuities and upheavals, international diplomacy, economic booms and busts, the emergence of authoritarian regimes, and the current challenges to those regimes on everyday life in an area of vital concern to us all. New to this Edition * The Introduction and Parts III and IV have been extensively revised and updated * Chapter 20, on political Islam, has been entirely rewritten * New vignettes and document selections have been added to the text * A new, expanded, photo essay, along with new photographs, have also been added
Güzel, Hasan Celâl, et al.
The Turks
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS26 .T874 2002 6 vols. Check availability @ Duke
İhsanoğlu, Ekmeleddin.
History of the Ottoman state, society & civilisation.
İstanbul: Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O82513 2001 v.1-2 Check availability @ Duke
İnalcık, Halil.
Ottoman civilization.
Ankara : Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Culture, 2003-2004.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O886 2003 2 vols.
İnalcık, Halil.
The Ottoman Empire: the classical age, 1300-1600.
New York, Praeger Publishers, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Library DR486 .I5 1973b Check availability @ Duke
Jenkins, Everett.
The Muslim diaspora : a comprehensive reference to the spread of Islam in Asia, Africa, Europe, and the Americas.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1999-
Divinity School Library Quarto BP50 .J46 1999 Check availability @ Duke
Lapidus, Ira M.
A history of Islamic societies.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS35.63 .L37 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Ira Lapidus explores the origins and evolution of Muslim societies. The book, now revised and updated, is divided into three parts. The first covers the formative era of Islamic civilization. The second traces the diffusion of worldwide Islamic societies, while the third explores their reaction to European imperialism, and emergence as independent states. The concluding chapters consider Islam's recent history, the formation of Islamic revival movements and global Islamic identities. The book is essential reading for students and for those seeking to understand the Muslim peoples.
Schimmel, Annemarie.
Islam : an introduction.
Albany : State University of New York Press, c1992.
Divinity School Library BP55 .S3413 1992 Check availability @ Duke
Schimmel, Annemarie.
Mystical dimensions of Islam.
Chapel Hill,NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1975.
Divinity School Library BP189.2 .S34 1975 Check availability @ Duke

Selected Published Sources

Archive Editions.
Records of the Hajj : a documentary history of the pilgrimage to Mecca.
London: Archive Editions, 1993.
Divinity School Library BP187.3 .R44 1993 v.1-10  Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. Pilgrim prayers, invocations, and rites -- v. 2. The early caliphal, Mamluk, and Ottoman periods (630-1814)-- v. 3. The Ottoman period (1814-1887) -- v. 4. The Ottoman period (1888-1915) -- v. 5. The Hashimite period (1916-1925) -- v. 6. The Saudi period (1926-1935) -- v. 7. The Saudi period (1935-1951) -- v. 8. The Saudi period (since 1952)--v. 9. Health affairs and the Hajj -- v. 10. Documents and maps (7 on folded leaves in bookcase).
Brand, Charles M.
Icon and minaret: sources of Byzantine and Islamic civilization.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall, 1969.
Library Service Center DF503 .B7 1969 Check availability @ Duke
Goitein, S. D.
A Mediterranean society : the Jewish communities of the Arab world as portrayed in the documents of the Cairo Geniza.
Berkeley, University of California Press, 1967-1993.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS135.L4 G658 1967 v.1-5 Check availability @ Duke
Goitein, S. D.
Letters of medieval Jewish traders.
Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press 1974.
Library Service Center 296.0956 G616L Check availability @ Duke
Ibn al-Qalānisī, Abū Yaʻlá Ḥamzah ibn Asad.
The Damascus chronicle of the Crusades
London, Luzac, 1932.
Perkins/Bostock Library D152 .I252 1932 Check availability @ Duke
Kuran, Timur.
Mahkeme kayıitları ışığında 17. yüzyıl İstanbul'unda sosyo-ekonomik yaşam : Social and economic life in seventeenth-century Istanbul : glimpses from court records.
İstanbul : Türkiye İş Bankası, 2010.
Perkins/Bostock Library HC493.I85 M34 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Shaw, Stanford J.
Financial and Administrative Organization and Development of Ottoman Egypt, 1517-1798
Princeton, N.J., Princeton University Press, 1962 .
ebook version
Library Service Center 336.62 S536F Check availability @ Duke
Stern, S. M.
Fāṭimid decrees; original documents from the Fāṭimid chancery
London, Faber and Faber, 1964.
Perkins/Bostock Papyrology Reserve 962.02 S839F Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Eight of the decrees are in St. Catherine's Monastery in Sinai, one in the Coptic Museum, Old Cairo, and another in the archives of the Karaite Community, Cairo.Includes bibliographical references.Text of decrees in Arabic and English.

Date Converters/Calendars

See also:
Ansari, Shahabuddin.
Interchanging Muslim and Christian era dates : a handbook of precisely synchronizing Hijrah era dates with the Christian era dates and vice versa from 60 B.H. to 2100 A.H. (564 A.D. to 2659 A.D.), together with to ascertain the day of the week of any pre-Hijrah, post-Hijrah, Julilan and Gregorian calendar dates.
Kanpur: Islamic Research Centre in arrangement with B.R. Pub. Corp., Delhi, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room CE59 .A573 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Melville, Charles.
"The Chinese-Uighur Animal Calendar in Persian Historiography of the Mongol Period."
In: Iran , Vol. 32, (1994), pp. 83-98.
Article Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/4299907 (Duke only)
Unat, Faik Reşit.
Hicrı̂ tarihleri milâdı̂ tarihe çevirme kılavuzu.
Ankara: Türk Tarih Kurumu Basımevi, 1974.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room CE59 .U5 1974 Check availability @ Duke
Wüstenfeld, Ferdinand and Bertold Spuler.
Vergleichungs-Tabellen zur muslimischen und iranischen Zeitrechung mit Tafeln zur Umrechnung orient-christlicher Ären.3rd ed.
Mainz: Deutsche Morgenländische Gesellschaft; in Kommission bei F. Steiner, Wiesbaden, 1961.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room CE15 .W8 1961 Check availability @ Duke
Some of the date converter information has been gleaned, with thanks, from András Riedlmayer's guide at Harvard University.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified January 31, 2013 2:37:57 PM EST