Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Islamic Studies Reference

Noteworthy Resources

Brill's Encyclopædia of the Qur'ān (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'ān. It is an encyclopædic dictionary of Qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies. The EQ online contains the complete articles of the printed volumes 1 to 5.

The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. EWIC hopes both to offer the state of the art in the broad sweep of topics to inform the general audience and to take on cutting-edge issues to stimulate new research in new terrains.

Please note: This database is for the use of Duke faculty, students, and staff only. If you are attempting to use this resource from off-Campus, you will need to install the VPN client.     > More...

Useful Databases

Encyclopedia of Islam

The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online represents a major resource in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, with the online version bringing remote access to over 13,000 articles. The online edition includes access to all the material found in the the English print edition - the main volumes as well as the supplementary material and indexes of subjects and proper names. New data will be added to the online edition as it becomes available in the print edition.

Index Islamicus

Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, mainly in European languages. With its regional coverage encompassing the Middle East, Africa, and Asia as well as Muslim minorities throughout the world, it indexes over 2,000 journals as well as conference proceedings, monographs, readers, and book reviews. Subject coverage is not limited to religion, but also includes the social sciences, arts, and natural and applied sciences. Materials are indexed to the article or chapter level. Records can be saved or emailed in a tagged format. 

Multidata Online

 MultiDataOnline provides full text from and bibliographic citations to selected newspapers and periodicals from the Arab world in Arabic, English, and French. MultiDataOnline consists of five databases: 1."General News" provides full text and covers 52 dailies and weeklies since 1994; 2. "Specialized Periodicals" provides bibliographic citations from more than 225 specialized Arabic periodicals since 1920; 3. "Reviews" provides full text book reviews from more than 250 newspapers and magazines in the Arab world from 1998; 4. "Theses" provides a subject index to theses submitted to 21 Lebanese institutions of higher learning; and, 5. "Index Arabicus" documents the contents of 42 Arabic periodicals published between 1870 and 1969. The database has both Arabic and English interfaces.

Please note: These databases are for the use of Duke faculty, students, and staff only. If you are attempting to use these resources from off-Campus, you will need to install the VPN client.     > More...

Christof Galli, Subject Librarian

227 Bostock Library | christof.galli@duke.edu | 919.660.5850

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Reference Works

Adamec, Ludwig W.
Historical dictionary of Islam.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001
Check availability @ Duke
Brice, William Charles.
An historical atlas of Islam.
Leiden : Brill, 1981
Check availability @ Duke
Çiçek, Kemal.
The great Ottoman-Turkish civilisation.
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .G74 2000 4 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Clements, Frank.
Historical dictionary of Arab and Islamic organizations.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001
Check availability @ Duke
Danişmend, İsmail Hami.
İzahlı Osmanlı tarihi kronolojisi.
İstanbul: Türkiye Yayınevi, 1971.
Library Service Center DR436 .D3 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: cilt 1. M. 1258-1512, H. 656-918 -- cilt 2. M. 1513-1573, H. 919-981 -- cilt 3. M. 1574-1703, H. 987-1115 -- cilt 4. M. 1703-1924, H. 1115-1342 -- cilt 5. Osmanlı devlet erkânı.
Esposito, John L.
The Oxford dictionary of Islam.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Divinity School Library Reference BP40 .O95 2003
Lilly Library Reference 297.03 O98, 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Esposito, John L.
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Lilly Library Reference 909.09767 O98, 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Gibb, Hamilton A. R.
The Encyclopædia of Islam.
Leiden: E. J. Brill, 1954-97.
Divivinity School Library Reference Quarto 297.03 H844EB Check availability @ Duke
A revised multi-volume edition of one of the most important reference works in English on Islamic subjects. A work containing signed articles, with bibliographies, on subjects in biography, history, geography, religious beliefs, institutions, manners and customs, tribes, industries, sciences, and terms of different sorts. Special emphasis is on economic and social topics and on artistic production. Gegraphical material includes separate articles on towns and larger political divisions in the Ottoman Empire, and in foreign countries in which Islam is of importance. Cross references are included. Indexed.
Gilquin, Michel, éd.
Atlas des minorités musulmanes en Asie méridionale et orientale.
Paris : CNRS, c2010.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS339.3.M87 A85 2010
Houtsma, Martijn Theodoor.
E.J. Brill's First Encyclopædia of Islam, 1913-1936.
Leiden ; New York : E.J. Brill, 1993.
Divinity School Library Reference DS35.53 .E53 1993
Lilly Library Reference 297.03 O98, 2003 Check availability @ Duke
İhsanoğlu, Ekmeleddin.
History of the Ottoman state, society & civilisation.
İstanbul: Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O82513 2001 v.1-2 Check availability @ Duke
İnalcık, Halil.
Ottoman civilization.
Ankara : Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Culture, 2003-2004.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O886 2003 2 vols.
Indian Council of Social Science Research. Southern Regional Centre.
Select bibliography on Indian Muslims.
Hyderabad, [India] : Indian Council of Social Science Research, Southern Regional Centre [and] Osmania University, Library, 1983.
Library Service Center 016.297 S464, 1983 LSC
Lilly Library Reference 297.03 O98, 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Joseph, Suad
Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures.
Leiden ; Boston, Mass. : Brill, 2003-
Perkins/Bostock Reference HQ1170 .E53 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms, and sources -- v. 2. Family, law, and politics -- v. 3. Family, body, sexuality, and health -- v. 4. Economics, education, mobility, and space -- v. 5. Practices, interpretations, and representations -- v. 6. Supplement & index.
Knappert, Jan.
The encyclopedia of Middle Eastern mythology and religion
Shaftesbury, Dorset ; Rockport, Mass., Element, 1993
Divinity School Reference 291.13 K67, E56, 1993
Check availability @ Duke
Koçu, Reşat Ekrem.
İstanbul ansiklopedisi.
İstanbul: İstanbul Ansiklopedisi ve Neşriyat Kollektif Şirketi, 1958-
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DR719 .I68 1958 v.1 - v.11 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. Aba, abacılar-Alafranga Baloz.--v. 2. Alageyik sokağa-Aşirefendi Kütübhânesi.--v. 3. Aşiret mektebi-Baba.--v. 4. Baba-Barbunya balığı.--v. 5. Bardakçı sokağı-Berduş.--v. 6. Boğaziçindeki iskele, kayık ve sandalları-Cemil.--v. 7. Cemil Bey-Çiray.--v. 8. Çiroz-Dişbuğdaycılar Sokağı.--v. 9. Dişci-Erişteci Sokağı.--v. 10. Eritmek-Fırın.--v. 11. Fırın-Gökçınar.
Mawsilili, Ahmad.
Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1999
Check availability @ Duke
McAuliffe, Jane Dammen.
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān.
Leiden : Brill, 2001-2006.
Divinity School Library Reference Quarto 297.12203 E56, 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Medoff, Rafael; Waxman, Chaim Isaac.
Historical dictionary of Zionism.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2000
Check availability @ Duke
Nanji, Azim.
The Penguin dictionary of Islam.
London ; New York : Penguin, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Reference BP40 .N35 2008
Check availability @ Duke
Newell, Clayton R.
Historical dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998
Check availability @ Duke
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü.
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm ansiklopedisi
Üsküdar, İstanbul : Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü, 1988-
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room BP40 .T857 198
Check availability @ Duke
Winter, Tim.
The Cambridge companion to classical Islamic theology.
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Divinity School Library BP166.1 .C36 2008 Check availability @ Duke

Reference Works in Arabic

Dūrī, ʻAbd al-ʻAzīz. / إشراف عبد العزيز الدوري.
al-Jāmiʻ li-nuṣūṣ al-iqtiṣād al-Islāmī / الجامع لنصوص الاقتصاد الاسلامي
Ammān : Muʼassasat Āl al-Bayt lil-Fikr al-Islāmī, Maktabat Ṣāliḥ ʻAbd Allāh Kāmil, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library Int.l & Area Studies Reading Room BP173.5 .J35 2002 5 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Kurayyim, Sāmiḥ. / كريم، سامح.
Mawsūʻat aʻlām al-mujaddidīn fī al-Islām / موسوعة أعلام المجددين في الإسلام
al-Qāhirah : Maktabat al-Dār al-ʻArabīyah lil-Kitāb, 2010.
Divinity School Library BP70 .K863 2010 3 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Maqḥafī, Ibrāhīm Aḥmad. / المقحفي ، ابراهيم.
Mawsūʻat al-alqāb al-Yamanīyah / موسوعة الألقاب اليمنية
Bayrūt : al-Muʼassasah al-Jāmiʻīyah lil-Dirāsāt wa-al-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ, 2010.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS247.Y46 M38 2010 5 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Markaz al-Dirāsāt al-Fiqhīyah wa-al-Iqtiṣādīyah ; bi-ishrāf ʻAlī Jumʻah Muḥammad, Muḥammad Aḥmad Sirāj, Aḥmad Jābir Badrān. / تصنيف ودراسة مركز الدراسات الفقهية والاقتصادية ؛ بإشراف علي جمعة محمد، محمد أحمد سراج، أحمد جابر بدران.
Mawsūʻat fatāwá al-muʻāmalāt al-mālīyah lil-maṣārif wa-al-muʼassasāt al-mālīyah al-Islāmīyah / موسوعة فتاوى المعاملات المالية للمصارف والمؤسسات المالية الإسلامية
al-Qāhirah : Dār al-Salām, 2009-2010.
Divinity School Library KBP951.2 .M39 2009 11 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Yūsuf, Muḥammad Khayr Ramaḍān.
‫ يوسف ، محمد خير رمضان.
‬ Tatimmat al-Aʻlām lil-Ziriklī : wafayāt 1397-1415 H/1977-1995 M.
‫ تتمة الأعلام للزركلي ؛ وفيات ١٣٩٧-١٤١٥ه⁻/١٩٧٧-١٩٩٥م / محمد خير رمضان يوسف

‬ Bayrūt : Dār Ibn Ḥazm, 1998.
‫ بيروت : دار ابن حزم، 1998.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS37.2 .Z57 1979 Suppl.
Check availability @ Duke
Sayyid, Fuad al-
سيد، فؤاد صالح
Mu'jam al-awakhir fi ta'rikh al-Arab wa-al-Muslimin
معجم الأواخر في تاريخ العرب والمسلمين

Bayrut, Dar al-Manihil
بيروت : دار المناهل، 2001
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS62 .S291 2001
Check availability @ Duke
Zirikli, Khayr al-Din.
al-Alam : qamus tarajim li-ashhar al-rijal wa-al-nisa min al-Arab wa-al-mustaribin wa-al-mustashriqin.
Bayrut, Lubnan : Dar al-Ilm lil-Malayin, 1997.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS37.5.A2 Z57 1997 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Abiri-Ighnatiyus -- v. 2. Iftikhar-Dunaynir -- v. 3. al-Dahhan-Abd al-Salam -- v. 4. Abd al-Salam-Ali -- v. 5. Ali-Muhammad -- v. 6. Muhammad-Muhammad -- v. 7. Muhammad-Nafi -- v. 8. Nafi-Yuhannis.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified December 7, 2011 3:02:10 PM EST