Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Primary Source Materials

Online Resources

Contains the full text more than 35,000 declassified documents involving U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Includes collections on Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, China and the US, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, South Africa, and US Espionage and Intelligence. New collections will be added yearly.

Each collection contains a diverse group of primary documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, oral histories, and other secret material. Includes introductions with photograph, a chronology, glossary, and bibliography.

Please note: These databases are for the use of Duke faculty, students, and staff only. If you are attempting to use these resources from off-Campus, you will need to install the VPN client.     > More...

Manuscripts & Special Collections

Special collections & manuscript materials are handled according to special rules and procedures. Please consult Using RBMSCL for Research: A Tutorial before you request any items.

Bowden, Mark.
Mark Bowden papers, circa 1979-2002.
Special Collections Library | Manuscripts | 2nd 91: E Check availability @ Duke
Finding Aid: http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/rbmscl/bowdenmark/inv/
Description: 7125 items (11.4 lin. ft.)
Summary: Papers contain research materials for Bowden's book about the Iran hostage crisis (1979-1981), published as GUESTS OF THE AYATOLLAH (NY: Atlantic Monthly Press, 2006). Materials include interview transcripts with American hostages, Iranian hostage takers, and members of the United States military who were involved in the 1980 rescue attempt.
Restrictions: Access restricted.
Wells, Tim.
Papers, 1982-1986.
Finding aid: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/dynaweb/findaids/wellstim
Special Collections Library | 2nd 85:L (use copies and other materials) lcs
Special Collections Library | Library Service Center, Manuscripts (Reading Room only) | Library Service Center LSC Check availability @ Duke
Description: 636 items (11 linear feet).
Summary: Background materials relating to Well's book about the Iran hostage crisis (1979-1981), 444 DAYS: THE HOSTAGES REMEMBER, and a typed manuscript of the work. Includes 546 audiocassette tapes, 83 tape transcripts, and signed release waivers and consent forms of hostages. Wells interviewed 36 of the 53 hostages and included 27 in the book. (1-12-87)

United States State Department Files

United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Egypt, 1955-1959, internal affairs [microform] : decimal numbers 774, 874, and 974.
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1989.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M9576 Check availability @ Duke
Accompanied by printed reel guide compiled by Blair D. Hydrick, entitled: A guide to the microfilm edition of Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Egypt, internal affairs, 1955-1959.
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Egypt/United Arab Republic, 1960-January 1963 [microform] : internal affairs and foreign affairs.
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M9577 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Reproduces records of the National Archives, College Park, MD, Record Group 59, General records of the Department of State, Decimal files for the UAR and Egypt: 786b, 774, 886b, 874, 986b, and 974 (internal affairs) and 686b, 674, 611.86b, and 611.74 (foreign affairs) for 1960-January 1963.
Accompanied by a printed guide compiled by Blair Hydrick and Barbara Brown, entitled: A guide to the microfilm edition of Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Egypt/United Arab Republic, 1960-January 1963.
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1945-1949: internal affairs, decimal number 890G and foreign affairs, decimal number 711.90G.
Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1987.
Collection guide:: Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms M9822 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: "The documents are from Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State." Click here for collection guide
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1950-1954 [microform] : internal affairs, decimal numbers 787, 887, and 987 and foreign affairs, decimal numbers, 687 and 611.87..
Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1987.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms M9821
Check availability @ Duke
Notes: "The documents are from Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State." Click here for collection guide
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1955-1959 [microform] : internal affairs, decimal numbers 787, 887, and 987, and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 687 and 611.87.
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms M9823 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: "The documents reproduced in this publication are among the records of the U.S. Department of State in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration." Click here for collection guide
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1960-January 1963: internal affairs decimal numbers 787, 887, and 997 and foreign affairs decimal numbers 687 and 611.87.
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1999.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms M9824 Check availability @ Duke
Click here for collection guide
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Syria, 1950-1954 [microform] : internal affairs [decimal numbers 783, 883, and 983] and foreign affairs [decimal numbers 683 and 611.83].
Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1987.
Perkins/Bostock Library icroforms Microfilm M9533 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Accompanied by a printed reel guide, compiled by Blair D. Hydrick. "The documents are from Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State." Includes index.
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959 [microform].
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M9521 Check availability @ Duke
Notes "Internal affairs, decimal numbers 786D, 786E, 786F, 786G, 786H, 886D, 886E, 886F, 886G, 886H, 986D, 986E, 986F, 986G, and 986H, and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 686D, 686E, 686F, 686H, 611.86D, 611.86E, and 611.86H."
Accompanied by printed reel guide, compiled by Blair D. Hydrick, with title: A guide to the microfilm edition of Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959.
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel, 1960-January 1963 [microform] : internal affairs and foreign affairs.
Bethesda, Md : University Publications of America, c1998.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M9452 Check availability @ Duke
United States. Dept. of State.
Foreign relations of the United States [serial] : diplomatic papers.
Washington : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1948-
Perkins Public Documents/Maps US Documents S 1.1:
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference U.S. | S 1.1: Check availability @ Duke
The collection is available online from the University of Wisconsin.
United States. Dept. of State.
Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Afghanistan, 1930-1944.
Washington : National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1982.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M7087 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: 1. Decimal file 890H.00/118 - 890H.0159/3, 1930-39 -- 2. Decimal file 890H.02/1 - 890H.60 Lambskins/8, 1930-39 -- 3. Decimal file 890H.607 Kabul/1 - 890H.927/22, 1930-39 -- 4. Decimal file890H.00/189 - 890H.04/1, 1940-44 -- 5. Decimal file 890H.105/1 - 890H.248/11-2044, 1940-44 -- 6. Decimal file 890H.402/3 - 890H.56/1, 1940-44 -- 7. Decimal file 890H.60/8-1444 - 890H.927/28, 1940-44.
United States. Dept. of State.
Records of the U.S. State Department: Turkey : internal affairs, 1950-1954.
Woodbridge, CT : Primary Source Media, 2008
Perkins/Bostock Library Microfilm M9813 Check availability @ Duke

British Documents

Beck, Peter J.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, from the first to the Second World War. Series J, the League of Nations, 1918-1941.
[Frederick, Md.] : University Publications of America, 1992-
Perkins/Bostock Library KZ4871 .B758 1992 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Britain and the League of Nations, 1918-1941: Attitudes and policy -- v. 2. The League of Nations and its members, 1924-1939 -- v. 3. The question of disarmament, 1924-1931. -- v. 4. The question of disarmament, 1932-1933 -- v. 5. The question of disarmament, 1933-1934 -- v. 6. The question of disarmament, 1934-1938 and naval disarmament discussions, 1924-1936. -- v. 7-8. International disputes and the machinery of peace, 1924-1941. -- v. 9. Legal and administrative questions, 1924-1939. -- v. 10. Mandates, minorities and economic and social questions at the League, 1925-1940.
Bidwell, Robin Leonard.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series B, Turkey, Iran, and the Middle East, 1918-1939.
Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1985-1997.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS63.2.G7 B75 1985
Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. The end of the war, 1918-1920 -- v. 2. The Allies take control, 1920-1921 -- v. 3. The Turkish revival, 1921-1923 -- v. 4. The expansion of Ibn Saud, 1922-1925 -- v. 5. The Syrian revolt, 1925-1927 -- v. 6. Eastern affairs, Jan. 1928-June 1930 -- v. 7. Eastern affairs, June 1930-June 1932 -- v. 8. Eastern affairs, Dec. 1931-June 1933 -- v. 9. Eastern affairs, June 1933-May 1934 -- v. 10. Eastern affairs, Dec. 1933-June 1935 -- v. 11. Eastern affairs, June 1935-December 1936 -- v. 12. Eastern affairs, June 1936-June 1938 -- v. 13. Eastern affairs, December 1937-September 1939. -- v. 14. The pilgrimage in the reign of Ibn Saud, 1927-1939. -- v. 15. Supplement to Eastern affairs volumes, 1918-1939. -- v. 16. Persia I: The Anglo-Persian agreement, Jan. 1919-June, 1921. -- v. 17. Persia II: A troubled year, July 1921-June 1922. -- v. 18 Persia III: Reza Khan establishes his ascendancy, July 1922-July 1923. -- v. 19. Persia IV: Reza Khan and the tribes, July 1923-Oct. 1924. -- v. 20. Persia V: The end of the Qajars, Nov. 1924-Dec. 1925. -- v. 21. Persia VI: January 1926 - April 1927. -- v. 22. Persia VII: April 1927 - May 1929. -- v. 23. Persia VIII: April 1928 - May 1929. -- v. 24. Persia IX: May 1929 -- July 1930. -- v. 25. Persia X: July 1930. - December 1931. -- v. 26. Persia XI, Jan. 1931-Oct. 1933. -- v. 27-28. Persia XII-XIII, Oct. 1933-Dec. 1939 -- v. 29-35. Turkey, Aug. 1922-Dec. 1939.
Gillard, David.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series B, The Near and Middle East, 1856-1914.
Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1984-
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ632 .B757 1984 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. The Ottoman Empire in the Balkans, 1856-1875 -- v. 2. The Ottoman Empire, revolt in the Balkans, 1875-1876 -- v. 3. The Ottoman Empire, diplomacy of the Powers, 1876-1878 -- v. 4. The Ottoman Empire and the war with Russia, 1877-1878. The powers and the Treaty of San Stefano, 1878 -- v. 5. The Ottoman Empire in the aftermath of the Berlin settlement, 1878-1883 -- v. 6. The Ottoman Empire in Asia, 1860-1880 -- v. 7. The Ottoman Empire, finance and trade, 1860-1879 -- v. 8. The Ottoman Empire in North Africa, the Suez Canal, Red Sea, and Tunisian problems, 1859-1882 -- v. 9. The Ottoman Empire in North Africa, intervention in Egypt and the Sudan, 1876-1885 -- v. 10. Persia, 1856-1885.--v. 11. Britain, Russia and Central Asia, 1865-1878.--v. 12. Britain, Russia and Central Asia, 1879-1907.--v. 13. Persia, Britain and Russia, 1886-1907.--v. 14. Persia, Britain and Russia, 1907-1914.--v. 15. Britain, Egypt and the Sudan, 1885-1914.--v. 16. The Ottoman Empire, Arabia and the Gulf, 1890-1914.--v. 17. The Ottoman Empire, Arabia and the Gulf, 1885-1907.--v. 18. Arabia, the Gulf and the Bagdad Railway, 1907-1914.--v. 19. The Ottoman Empire: Nationalism and revolution, 1885-1908.--v. 20. The Ottoman Empire under the young Turks, 1908-1914.
Jones, A. Philip (Arthur Philip).
Britain and Palestine, 1914-1948 : archival sources for the history of the British Mandate.
Oxford : New York : Oxford University Press for the British Academy, c1979.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS149 .J664 1979 Check availability @ Duke
This annotated guide locates and lists briefly unpublished papers and records of those individuals and organizations whose base was in Britain, that had involvement or interest in the events in Palestine during the first half of the 20th century. Lists of records from the Public Record Office in Kew are particularly useful. Covered are records from the Cabinet Office, Colonial Office, Foreign Office, Prime Ministers Office, War Office, Admirality, Air Ministry, Board of Trade. If you wish to check the availability of records or to order scans, see: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/default.asp
Preston, Paul and Michael Partridge.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part III, From 1940 through 1945. Series B, Near and Middle East.
[Bethesda, Md.] : University Publications of America, 1997.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ632 .B762 1997 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Turkey, January 1940-March 1943 -- v. 2. Turkey, April 1943-December 1945 -- v. 3. Iran and Afghanistan, January 1940-December 1941 -- v. 4. Middle East, January 1940-December 1941 -- v. 6-10. Eastern affairs, July 1942-December 1945.
Preston, Paul and Michael Partridge.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part IV, From 1945 through 1950. Series B, Near and Middle East.
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, 1999-2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ632 .B772 1999 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Turkey, January 1946-December 1946 and Eastern affairs, January 1946-March 1946 -- v. 2. Eastern affairs, April 1946-December 1946 -- v. 3. Afghanistan, Persia and Turkey, Jan. 1947-Dec. 1947 -- v. 4. Eastern affairs, Jan. 1947-Dec. 1947 -- v. 5. Afghanistan, Persia and Turkey, Jan. 1948-Dec. 1948 -- v. 6. Arabia, Iraq, Palestine and Transjordan, Syria, The Lebanon and General, Jan. 1948-Dec. 1948 -- v. 7. Afghanistan, Iraq, Persia and Turkey, Jan. 1949-Dec. 1949 -- v. 8. Israel, Jordan and Arab Palestine, The Lebanon, General and Syria, Jan. 1949-Dec. 1949 -- v. 9. Afghanistan, Persia, Turkey and Iraq, Jan. 1950-Dec. 1950 -- v. 10. Israel, Syria, Arabia, The Middle East (General), Jordan and Arab Palestine and The Lebanon, Jan. 1950-Dec. 1950.

Compilations, Collections, Anthologies of Sources, etc.

Alexander, Yonah and Allan Nanes.
The United States and Iran : a documentary history.
Frederick, Md. : Aletheia Books, c1980.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 U56 1980 Check availability @ Duke
Barzilay-Yegar, Dvorah.
Archival sources for the history of the British mandate in Palestine, 1914-1948 : a database of documents in Israeli archives.
Jerusalem : The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library Electronic Media C276 Check availability @ Duke
Burdett, A.L.P.
OPEC : origins & strategy, 1947-1973.
[Slough] : Archive Editions, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library HD9560.5 .O643 2004
Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. 1947-1959, developments and events leading to the creation of OPEC in 1960 -- v. 2. 1960-1963 -- v. 3. 1963-1966 -- v. 4. 1967-1971 -- v. 5. 1971-1972 -- v. 6. 1972-1973.
Destani, Bejtullah D.
The Zionist movement and the foundation of Israel 1839-1972.
Farnham Common : Archive Editions, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS149 .Z677 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. 1839-1916 -- v. 2. 1917-1918 -- v. 3. 1919-1928 -- v. 4. 1928-1934 -- v. 5. 1935-1937 -- v. 6. 1937-1940 -- v. 7. 1941-1945 -- v. 8. 1945-1948 -- v. 10. 1948-1972.
Bibi, Mordekhai.
ha-Maḥteret ha-Tsiyonit-ḥalutsit be-ʻIraḳ : meḥḳar tiʻudi.
Yerushalayim : Mekhon Ben-Tsevi ; [Efʻal] : Yad Ṭabenḳin, 748 [1987 or 1988], c1988.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS150.L5 I722 1987 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: kerekh 1. 1941-1944 -- kerekh 2. 1944-1945. Notes: The underground pioneer Zionist movement in Iraq 1942-1945.
Hurewitz, J. C.
The Middle East and North Africa in world politics : a documentary record.
New Haven : Yale University Press, 1975.
Perkins/Bostock Library 956 H963DA Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. European expansion, 1535-1914.--v. 2. British-French supremacy, 1914-1945.
Kornbluh, Peter and Malcolm Byrne.
The Iran-Contra scandal : the declassified history.
New York : New Press : Distributed by W.W. Norton, 1993.
Perkins/Bostock Library E876 .I735 1993 Check availability @ Duke
System Number
Meho, Lokman I.
The Kurdish question in U.S. foreign policy : a documentary sourcebook.
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I57 K87 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Moore, John Norton (ed.)
The Arab-Israeli conflict.
Princeton, N. J. : Princeton University Press, 1974-c1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS119.7 .A6718 1975 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Readings.--v. 2. Readings.--v. 3. Documents.--v. 4. The difficult search for peace (1975-1988).
Palestine statehood committee papers
Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1997.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microfilm M9761 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: "MSS group no. 690. Series I-IV and addition May, 1981." Correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, and clippings related to five committees active in the United States from 1939 to 1949: the American Friends of a Jewish Palestine, the Committee for an Army of Stateless and Palestinian Jews, the Emergency Committee to Save the Jewish People of Europe, the American League for a Free Palestine, and the Hebrew Committee of National Liberation. Guide filmed at the beginning of reel 1, compiled by Katherine Morton.
Tomeh, George J.
United Nations resolutions on Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict, 1947-1974.
Beirut : Institute for Palestine Studies, 1975.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ4997.5.P19 U558 1975 Check availability @ Duke

Personal Narratives, Papers, Autobiographies, Interviews, Diaries, Reports, etc.

Alam, Asadollah.
The Shah and I : the confidential diary of Iran's royal court, 1969-1977.
New York : St. Martin's Press, 1992.
Library Service Center DS316.9.A35 A3 1992 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Ben Gurion looks back in talks with Moshe Pearlman.
New York, Simon and Schuster [1965]
Perkins/Bostock Library 923.25694 B466 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Days of David Ben-Gurion, seen in photographs and with text from his speeches and writings.
New York, Grossman, 1967.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS125.3.B37 A5 1967 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Israel; a personal history.
New York, Funk & Wagnalls; distributed by T.Y. Crowell Co. [1971]
Divinity School Library DS126.5 .B44513 1971
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.5 .B44513 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Memoirs: David Ben-Gurion.
New York, World Pub. Co. [1970]
Perkins/Bostock Library 923.25694 B466AB Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Based on a series of interviews with Ben-Gurion during the filming of the Covenant Communications Corporation production Forty-two six.
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
My talks with Arab leaders.
New York, Third Press [1973, c1972]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126 .B3933 1973 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Rebirth and destiny of Israel.
New York, Philosophical Library [c1954]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.3 .B4 1954 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Translation of essays and addresses delivered or written from 1915 to 1952.
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Zikhronot me-et David Ben-Guryon.
Tel-Aviv: Am oved 1971-
Perkins/Bostock Library DS125.3.B37 A39 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Carter, Jimmy.
The hostages in Iran. [sound recording].
[New York] : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1979
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1979 Nov., no. 1 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: J. Carter. Boycott on Iranian oil imports.--J. Carter. We will not yield to terrorism.--A. Khomeini. The hostages can be exchanged for the Shah.--J. Carter. News conference of 11/28/79, on the crisis in Iran.
Carter, Jimmy.
In search of peace: The Egyptian-Israeli peace treaty signing ceremony. [sound cassette].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1979
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1979 Mar., no. 3 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: The remarks of President Carter, President Sadat, and Prime Minister Begin at the signing ceremony of the peace treaty between Israel and Egypt in Washington D.C., with CBS News Correspondents Neil Strawser, Reid Collins, and Bernard Kalb.
Carter, Jimmy.
Pres. Carter's news conference of September 18, 1980 [sound cassette].
[New York] : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1980.
Lilly Library | A-V Sound cassette | 760 1980, Sept., no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Side A. Pres. Carter's news conference of September 18, 1980--Side B. The hostage Iran set free / Richard Queen.
Carter, Jimmy.
The spirit of Camp David--a framework for peace in the Middle East. [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1978.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1978 Sept. no. 1 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: President Carter, President Sadat of Egypt and Israeli Prime Minister Begin jointly announce the "framework for peace" in the Middle East arrived at during the Camp David Summit.
Daugherty, William J.
In the shadow of the Ayatollah : a CIA hostage in Iran.
Annapolis, Md. : Naval Institute Press, c2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 D37 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Farah, Consort of Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
An enduring love : my life with the Shah.
New York, N.Y. : Miramax, c2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS316.F3613 A3 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Great Britain. Colonial Office.
Palestine, report on Palestine administration.
London : Published by H.M.S.O., 1922-23.
Perkins Public Documents/Maps League of Nations VI.A-M Pal- Check availability @ Duke
Great Britain. Colonial Office.
Palestine royal commission report. Presented by the Secretary of State for the Colonies to Parliament by command of His Majesty, July, 1937.
London, H.M. Stationery Office, 1937.
Perkins Public Documents/Maps League of Nations VI.A-M Pal-1937 Check availability @ Duke
Series: Series of the League of Nations Publications. VI. A. Mandates 1937. VI. A. 5
Series: [Parliament. Papers by command] Cmd. 5479
Great Britain. Colonial Office.
Report by His Britannic Majesty's Government to the Council of the League of Nations on the administration of Palestine and Trans-Jordan for the year ...
London : Printed and published by H.M.S.O., 1924-1927
Perkins Public Documents/Maps League of Nations VI.A-M Pal Check availability @ Duke
Hadawi, Sami.
Village statistics, 1945: a classification of land and area ownership in Palestine. With explanatory notes by Sami Hadawi.
Beirut, Palestine Liberation Organization, Research Center, 1970.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reserve HB3659.P3 H25 1970 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Based on data originally collected by the Dept. of Land Settlement and the Dept. of Statistics, of the Government of Palestine, and published under title: Village statistics 1945. Cf. introd., p. 11-12.
Khomeini, Ruhollah.
Islam and revolution : writings and declarations of Imam Khomeini.
Berkeley, [Calif.] : Mizan Press, c1981.
Divinity School Library DS318 .K427 1981 Check availability @ Duke
Khomeini, Ruhollah.
Turmoil in Iran : Ayatollah Khomeini faces the nation.
[New York] : Encyclopedia Americans/CBS News Audio Resource Library c1979
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1979 Jan. no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: A. Khomeni, A. Ayatollah Khomeini faces the nation. B. Bell, J. et al. Turmoil in Iran. Randall, T. An outspoken actor on life and the arts.
Koob, Kathryn.
Guest of the revolution.
Nashville : T. Nelson Pub., c1982.
Library Service Center 955.054 K82, G936, 1982 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Laingen, L. Bruce.
Yellow ribbon : the secret journal of Bruce Laingen.
Washington : Brassey's (US), 1992.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 L35 1992 Check availability @ Duke
Subject: Personal narrative about the Iran Hostage Crisis, 1979-1981 by a former U.S. ambassador.
League of Arab States. Arab Information Center.
Israeli violations of human rights in occupied Palestine.
Washington, D. C. : Arab Information Center, 1977.
Perkins/Bostock Library Locked Stacks DS127.6.O3 I8 1977 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
A land of our own: an oral autobiography.
New York, Putnam, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.6.M42 A36 1973 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
The Mideast crisis [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1971.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1971 Jan. no. 3 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
My life.
New York : Putnam, 1975.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.6.M42 A37 1975 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
This is our strength; selected papers.
New York, Macmillan, 1962.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.6.M42 A5 1962 Check availability @ Duke
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
An address to my countrymen.
[S.l. : s.n.], 1983.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318 .M65 1983 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Includes English translation of the Iranian constitution: Qanun-i Asasi (1979).
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
Answer to history.
New York : Stein and Day, 1980.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318 .M58413 1980 Check availability @ Duke
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
Mission for my country.
New York, McGraw-Hill [1961, c1960]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318 .M6 1961 Check availability @ Duke
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
The Shah's story.
London : M. Joseph, 1980.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318.M6 M6 1980a Check availability @ Duke
Organization of Iranian Moslem Students.
The Rise : (English defense publication) : and leaflets in English.
[Wilmette, Ill.] : Organization of Iranian Moslem Students, 1979.
Library Service Center 955.053 R595, 1979 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Consists of reprints of all issues of The Rise : defense publication of the Organization of Iranian Moslem Students and reprints of the organization's English language leaflets.
Notes: "The 4th annual convention of the .. organization ..., held ... during April 18-21, 1979, unanimously decided to dissolve the organization."--Introd.
Rifa'i, Amal.
We just want to live here : a Palestinian teenager, an Israeli teenager : an unlikely friendship.
New York : St. Martin's Griffin, c2003.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS119.7 .R497 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Riverbend.
Baghdad burning : girl blog from Iraq.
New York : Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS79.76 .R587 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: August through December 2003 -- January through March 2004 -- April through September 2004.
Riverbend.
Baghdad burning II : more girl blog from Iraq.
New York : Feminist Press, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS79.76 R587 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Rosen, Barbara.
The destined hour : the hostage crisis and one family's ordeal.
Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1982.
Library Service Center E183.8.I55 R66 1982 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Sadat, Anwar.
Addressing the American Congress [sound recording].
[S.l.] : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library ; New York : Grolier Educational Corp. [distributor], 1975.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1975 Nov. no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: In an address to the U.S. Congress, Egyptian President Anwar Sadat comments on tensions in the Middle East and on American-Egyptian relations. He urges support for the Palestinians and restraint in shipping arms to the Middle East.
Sadat, Anwar.
Egyptian Pres. Sadat & Israeli Prime Min. Begin : an invitation to peace (with Walter Cronkite) [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1977
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1977 Nov. no. 1 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Side A. Egyptian Pres. Sadat & Israeli Prime Min. Begin : an invitation to peace. A joint news conference in Jerusalem, pt. 1.--Side B.A joint news conference in Jerusalem, pt. 2.
Sadat, Anwar.
Egyptian Pres. Sadat & Israeli Prime Min. Begin : side by side in Jerusalem (with Walter Cronkite) [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1977
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1977 Nov. no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Side A. Egyptian Pres. Sadat and Israeli Prime Min. Begin : side by side in Jerusalem. Morris, D. Manwatching, pt. 1.--Side B. Manwatching, pt. 2. Kozinski, J.A conversation with Jerzy Kozinski.
Sadat, Anwar.
In search of identity : an autobiography.
New York : Harper & Row, c1978.
Perkins/Bostock Library DT107.828.S23 A33 1978 Check availability @ Duke
Sadat, Anwar.
The Mideast crisis [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1971.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1971 Jan. no. 3 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: In an interview with CBS News, President Sadat of Egypt outlines Egypt's conditions for continuance of the cease fire and eventual peace negotiations. Recorded Jan. 6, 1971 in Cairo.
Sadat, Anwar.
The public diary of President Sadat.
Leiden : Brill, 1978.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS41 .S635 v.25 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: pt. 1. The road to war (Oct. 1970-Oct. 1973)--pt. 2. The road of diplomacy (Nov. 1973-May 1975)--pt. 3. The road of pragmatism (June 1975-Oct. 1976)
Sadat, Anwar.
Revolt on the Nile. With a foreword by President Nasser.
London, A. Wingate, 1957.
Perkins/Bostock Library DT107.82 .S3 1957a Check availability @ Duke
Sadat, Anwar.
Those I have known. Foreword by Jimmy Carter.
New York : Continuum, 1984.
Perkins/Bostock Library 962.054092 S124, T523, 1984 Check availability @ Duke
سادات، أنور.. Sadat, Anwar, 1918-
وصيتي /
Waṣiyyatī.

القاهرة ؛ الاسكندرية : المكتب المصري الحديث، 1982.
Cairo ; Alexandria : al-Maktab al-Miṣrī al-Ḥadīth, 1982
Library Service Center 962.054092 S124, W319, 1982 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Sickmann, Rocky.
Iranian hostage : a personal diary of 444 days in captivity.
Topeka, Kan. : Crawford Press, 1982.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 S54 1982 Check availability @ Duke
Storrs, Ronald, Sir, 1881-1955.
Middle East politics and diplomacy, 1904-1950 : the papers of Sir Ronald Storrs (1881-1956) from Pembroke College, Cambridge.
Marlborough, Wiltshire [England] : Adam Matthew Publications, 1999.
Online guide
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M9512 Check availability @ Duke
Wells, Tim.
444 days : the hostages remember.
San Diego : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1985.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I7 W45 1985 Check availability @ Duke

Last modified October 22, 2009 12:31:23 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870