Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Middle East Cinema

Noteworthy
Box of "Reel Bad Arabs"

Reel Bad Arabs: How Hollywood Vilifies a People

This documentary reveals the "persistent pattern of slanderous Arab stereotyping." Drawing from materials from the earliest silent movies to recent blockbusters, it shows images which show disturbing similarities to anti-Semitic and racist stereotypes and their "political resonance during key moments of conflict in U.S. history."

To check the availability of this film at Duke, click here.

To check the availability of the accompanying book at Duke, click here.

Finding Films

Duke's Lilly Library houses a substantial number of films on VHS cassettes, DVD, and other media from and about countries of the Middle East. The collection includes both feature and documentary films. Many of the works in this collection are in regional languages (Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Hebrew). An easy way to find films is through the Library's online catalog. Perform a 'Subject begins with...' search on 'feature films [country name]' or 'documentary films [country name]' to find most films from a particular country. Click on one of the following links:


Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Articles & Monographs on ME Film

Abdel-Malek, Kamal.
The rhetoric of violence : Arab-Jewish encounters in contemporary Palestinian literature and film.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock PJ7519.J4 A233 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Armbrust, Walter.
"New Cinema, Commercial Cinema, and the Modernist Tradition in Egypt." In:
Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics , No. 15, 1995, pp. 81-129
Article Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/521682 (Duke Only)
Armes, Roy.
Postcolonial images : studies in North African film / Roy Armes.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2005.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.A35 A76 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Beginnings in the 1960s -- The 1970s -- The 1980s -- The 1990s -- Into the present -- An indigenous film culture: El chergui (1975) -- History as myth: Chronicle of the years of embers (1975) -- A fragile masculinity: Omar Gatlato (1976) -- Memory is a woman’s voice: La nouba (1978) -- Imag(in)ing Europe: Miss Mona (1987) -- Defeat as destiny: Golden horseshoes (1989) -- Sexuality and gendered space: Halfaouine (1990) -- A timeless world: Looking for my wife’s husband (1993) -- A new future begins: Silences of the palace (1994) -- A new realism? Ali Zaoua (1999).
Armes, Roy.
Third World film making and the West.
Berkeley : University of California Press, c1987.
Perkins/Bostock Library PN1993.5.D44 A76 1987 Check availability @ Duke
Arslan, Savaş.
Cinema in Turkey : a new critical history.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 A77 2011 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction -- Pre-yeşilçam : cinema in Turkey until the late 1940s -- Early yeşilçam : the advent of yeşilçam in the 1950s -- High yeşilçam I : industry and dubbing -- High yeşilçam II : genres and films -- Late yeşilçam : melting in the 1980s -- Postmortem for yeşilçam : post-yeşilçam, or the new cinema of Turkey.
ابو شادي، علي. Abou Shadi, Aly.
اتجاهات السينما المصرية / Ittijāhāt al-sīnimā al-Miṣrīyah
القاهرة : دار الاحمدي للنشر، 1998. Edition: الطبعة 1.
al-Qāhirah : Dār al-Aḥmadī lil-Nashr, 1998
Perkins/Bostock PN1993.5.E3 A2219 1998 Check availability @ Duke
أبو شادي، علي. Abou Shadi, Aly.
السينما والسياسة / al-Sīnimā wa-al-siyāsah /
القاهرة : دار شرقيات للنشر والتوزيع، 1998.
al-Qāhirah : Dār Sharqīyat lil-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ, 1998
سلسلة كتاب شرقيات للجميع ؛ 52 Silsilat Kitāb Sharqīyāt lil-jamīʻ ;; 52;
Perkins/Bostock Library PN1993.5.E3A235 1998 Check availability @ Duke
Boraie, Sherif, et al.
The golden years of Egyptian film : Cinema Cairo, 1936-1967.
Cairo ; New York : The American University in Cairo Press ; [Cairo] : Zeitouna, c2008.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.E3 G65 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Boudjedra, Rachid and Maya el Kaliouby.
"The Birth of Algerian Cinema: The Anti-Hero." In:
Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics , No. 15, 1995, pp. 260-266.
Article Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/521692 (Duke Only)
Bouzid, Nouri and and Shereen el Ezabi.
"New Realism in Arab Cinema: The Defeat-Conscious Cinema." In
Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics , No. 15, 1995, pp. 242-250
Article Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/521690 (Duke Only)
Carter, Sandra Gayle.
What Moroccan cinema? : a historical and critical study, 1956-2006.
Lanham: Lexington Books, 2009.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.M6 C37 2009 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction -- Laying the industry foundations, 1956-1970 -- Looking to define a Moroccan aesthetic, 1971-1985 -- New developments, new audiences, 1986-2006 -- Policies, recent developments, themes and conclusions.
Chaudhuri, Shohini
Contemporary world cinema : Europe, the Middle East, East Asia and South Asia
Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, 2005
Lilly Library PN1994 .C34348 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Cohen, Nir.
Soldiers, rebels, and drifters : gay representation in Israeli cinema.
Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 2012.
Lilly Library PN1995.9.H55 C63 2012 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction: Zionism, homosexuality, and film -- An imagined city for an imagined community: Tel Aviv and gay identity on the Israeli screen -- Melodrama, decadence, and death in Amos Guttman's cinema -- Gay men and the establishment in the films of Eytan Fox -- Real lives: new Israeli nonfiction gay cinema -- Recent developments and future directions: some concluding notes.
Dabashi, Hamid.
Dreams of a nation: on Palestinian cinema; preface by Edward Said.
London ; New York : Verso, 2006.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.P35 D74 2006
Perkins/Bostock PN1993.5.P35 D74 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: "For cultural purposes only" : curating a Palestinian film festival / Annemarie Jacir -- The weapon of culture : cinema in the Palestinian liberation struggle / Joseph Massad -- From reality to fiction : from poverty to expression / Michel Khleifi -- Towards liberation : Michel Khleifi's Ma'loul and Canticle / Bashir Abu-Manneh -- The cinema of displacment : gender, nation, and diaspora / Ella Shohat -- Palestinian exilic cinema and film letters / Hamid Naficy -- A letter from the rest of the world or "The Afghan Arabs" / Nizar Hassan -- The challenges of Palestinian filmmaking (1990-2003) / In praise of frivolity : on the cinema of Elia Suleiman / Hamid Dabashi.
Dönmez-Colin, Gönül.
Women, Islam and cinema.
London : Reaktion Books, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library PN1995.9.W6 D648 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Brief description -- Table of Contents -- Author Info
Downing, John. (ed.)
Film & politics in the Third World.
New York, NY : Praeger, c1987.
Lilly Library 791.4309172 F487, 1987 Check availability @ Duke
Ellinger, Ekkehard.
Turkish cinema 1970-2007 : a bibliography and analysis.
Frankfurt am M. ; New York: P. Lang, 2008.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 E43 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Gertz, Nurith.
Palestinian cinema : landscape, trauma and memory.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2008.
Lilly Library | Stacks | PN1995.9.A68 G4713 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Gugler, Josef (ed.)
Film in the Middle East and North Africa : creative dissidence.
Austin : University of Texas Press, 2011.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.M53 F55 2011 Check availability @ Duke
Also available as eBook
Table of Contents: Bedwin hacker (Nadia El Fani): a hacker challenges Western domination of the global media / Josef Gugler -- From state production to cinéma d'auteur in Algeria / Roy Armes. Days of glory (Rachid Bouchareb): another vision of French history / Olivier Barlet -- Hamlet of women (Mohamed Chouikh): village chronicles from a time of terrorism / Denise Brahimi -- Morocco: a national cinema with large ambitions / Kevin Dwyer. Ali Zaoua, prince of the streets (Nabil Ayouch): the harsh life of street children and the poetics of childhood / Josef Gugler. Israeli cinema engaging the conflict / Nurith Gertz and Yael Munk. Kedma (Amos Gitai): the birth of two nations at war / Nurith Gertz, Gal Hermoni, and Yael Munk -- Avanti popolo (Rafi Bukaee): battle cry of the fallen / Judd Ne'eman and Yael Munk -- A chronicle of Palestinian cinema / Nurith Gertz and George Khleifi. Waiting (Rashid Masharawi): a scattered people waiting for a shared future / Nadia Yaqub -- Tale of the three jewels (Michel Khleifi): children living and dreaming amid violence in Gaza / Nurith Gertz and George Khleifi -- Paradise now (Hany Abu-Assad): narrating a failed politics / Nadia Yaqub -- Political film in Egypt / Walter Armbrust. Destiny (Youssef Chahine): liberal and fundamentalist Islam clash amid the splendor of twelfth-century Andalusia / Josef Gugler -- Closed doors (Atef Hetata): the attractions of fundamentalism / Josef Gugler and Kim Jensen -- Cinema and state in Tunisia / Florence Martin --^ Preface -- Creative responses to conflict / Josef Gugler -- Regime critics confront censorship in Iranian cinema / Eric Egan. The hidden half (Tahmineh Milani): love, idealism, and politics / Fakhreddin Azimi -- Marriage of the blessed (Mohsen Makhmalbaf): the wounds of war and the betrayal of the revolution / Eric Egan -- Under the skin of the city (Rakhshan Bani-Etemad): under the surface contrasts / Rini Cobbey -- Stray dogs (Marziyeh Meshkini): cruelty and humanity amid hardship in Afghanistan / Eric Egan -- Tolerated parodies of politics in Syrian cinema / Lisa Wedeen. The dupes (Tawfik Saleh): three generations uprooted from Palestine and betrayed / Nadia Yaqub -- The extras (Nabil Maleh): lovers suffer the twin repressions of patriarchal culture and a police state / Josef Gugler -- Lebanese cinema and the representation of war / Lina Khatib. In the shadows of the city (Jean Khalil Chamoun): reconciling the diverse legacies of a collective memory / Edward Gibeau !
Hillauer, Rebecca.
Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers.
Cairo: American University in Cairo Press, 2005.
Ḥusayn, Yusrī.
‫ حسين، يسري. ‬
Sīnimā al-ḥubb wa-al-ghaḍab : aflām al-tammarud wa-al-thawrah wa-qiṣaṣ al-ḥubb wa-al-rūmānsīyah.
‫ سينما الحب والغضب : افلام التمرد والثورة وقصص الحب والرومانسية / يسري حسين.
al-Qāhirah : Markaz al-Ḥaḍārah al-ʻArabīyah, 2005.
‫ القاهرة : مركز الحضارة العربية، 2005. ‬
Perkins/Bostock Library PN1993.5.E3 H87 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Ibrāhīm, Bashshār.
‫ ابراهيم، بشار. ‬
Thalāth ʻalāmāt fī al-sīnimā al-Filasṭīnīyah al-jadīdah : Mīshīl Khalīfī, Rashīd Mashharāwī, Īliyā Sulaymān.
‫ ثلاث علامات في السينما الفلسطينية الجديدة : ميشيل خليفي، رشيد مشهراوي، ايليا سليمان. ‬

Dimashq : Dār al-Madá, 2005.
‫ دمشق : دار المدى، 2005. ‬
Lilly Library PN1993.5.P34 I37 2005 Check availability @ Duke
English Title: Three symbols of new Palestinian cinema: Michel Khleifi, Rashīd Mashharāwi, Elia Suleiman.
Khatib, Lina H. (ed.)
Filming the modern Middle East : politics in the cinemas of Hollywood and the Arab world.
London ; New York; New York: I.B. Tauris; Distributed in the United States by Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.A65 K38 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Kirel, Serpil.
Yesilçam öykü sinemasi.
Istanbul : Babil Yayinlari, 2005.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T84 K57 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Kronish, Amy
Conflict & peace : recent Israeli and Palestinian film.
Charlotte, NC : Mint Museum of Art, 1996.
Lilly Library Pamphlet Collection 4519 Check availability @ Duke
Kronish, Amy.
Israeli film : a reference guide.
Westport, CT : Praeger, 2003.
Lilly Library 791.4309569 K93, I85, 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Kurdī, Jamāl. ‫ كردي، جمال .
‬ Bānūrāmā al-sīnimā al-Miṣrīyah : bi-ruʾyah ʻaṣrīyah. ‫ بانوراما السينما المصرية : برؤية عصرية . ‬
Miṣr al-Qadīmah : Dār al-Ibdāʻ lil-Ṣiḥāfah wa-al-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ, 2005
‫ مصر القديمة : دار الابداع للصحافة والنشر والتوزيع، 2005 ‬
Lilly Library PN1993.5.E3 K87 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Leaman, Oliver
Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001
Lilly Library Reference 791.4375 C737, 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Loshitzky, Yosefa.
Identity politics on the Israeli screen.
Austin : University of Texas Press, 2001.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.I86 L37 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Martin, Florence.
Screens and veils [electronic resource] : Maghrebi women's cinema.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2011.
eBook (Duke Only)
Table of Contents: Overture: Maghrebi women's transvergent cinema -- Transnational feminist storytellers: Shahrazad, Assia, and Farida. Assia Djebar's transvergent Nuba: the Nuba of the women of Mount Chenoua (Algeria, 1978) -- Farida Benlyazid's initiation narrative: A door to the sky (Morocco, 1988) -- Transvergent screens. Yamina Bachir-Chouikh's transvergent echoes: Rachida (Algeria, 2002) -- Raja Amari's screen of the haptic: Red satin (Tunisia, 2002) -- Nadia El Fani's multiple screens: Bedwin hacker (Tunisia, 2002) -- From Dunyazad to transvergent audiences. Yasmine Kassari's "burning" screens: The sleeping child (Morocco, 2004) -- Selma Baccar's transvergent spectatorship: Flower of oblivion (Tunisia, 2006) -- Coda.
Naficy, Hamid.
An accented cinema : exilic and diasporic filmmaking.
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2001.
Lilly Library 791.4309172 N146, A169, 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Nouri, Shakir and Nicholas Hopkins.
"Social Criticism in Iraqi Cinema." In:
Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics , No. 15, 1995, pp. 202-207.
Article Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/521686 (Duke Only)
Özgüç, Agâh.
Türk film yönetmenleri sözlüğü.
Taksim, İstanbul : Agora, 2003.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 O267 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Özgüç, Agâh.
Türk sinemasinda cinselligin tarihi.
Beyoglu, Istanbul : Parantez, 2000.
Library Service Center PN1993.5.T8 O3 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Özgüç, Agâh.
Türlerle Türk sinemasi : dönemler, modalar, tiplemeler.
Istanbul : Dünya Kitaplari, 2005.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 Ö94 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Özön, Nijat.
Türk sinemasi tarihi : Dünden bugüne, 1896-1960.
Istanbul : Antalya Kültür Sanat Vakfi Kultur Yayinidir, 2003.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 O35 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Qāsim, Maḥmūd.
‫قاسم، محمود. ‬
Mawsū’at al-aflām al-riwā’īyah fī Miṣr wa-al-‘ālam al-‘Arabī, 1927-2006.
‫ موسوعة الأفلام الروائية في مصر والعالم العربي، 1927-2006. ‬

Cairo : al-Hayʼah al-Miṣrīyah al-ʻĀmmah lil-Kitāb, 2006- ‫ [Cairo] : الهيئة المصرية العامة للكتاب، 2006- ‬
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PN1993.5.E3 Q35 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Salṭī, Rashā.
Insights into Syrian cinema : essays and conversations with contemporary filmmakers.
New York: ArteEast : AIC Film Editions/Rattapallax Press, 2006.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.S9 .I5 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Semmerling, Tim Jon.
"Evil" Arabs in American popular film : orientalist fear.
Austin : University of Texas Press, 2006.
Lilly Library PN1995.9.A68 S46 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: The exorcist : assault on American confidence (1973) -- Rollover : assault on the American economy (1981) -- Black Sunday: the loss of frontier heroism (1976) -- Three kings : assault on victory culture (1999) -- Rules of engagement : attack from the multicultural front (2000) -- CNN's America remembers : the "real" attack (2002) -- The South Park lesson and orientalist fear.
Shafik, Viola
Arab cinema : history and cultural identity
Cairo, Egypt : American University in Cairo Press, 1998
Lilly Library 791.4309174 S525, A658, 1998 Check availability @ Duke
Shafik, Viola.
Popular Egyptian cinema : gender, class, and nation.
Cairo, Egypt ; New York: The American University in Cairo Press, 2007.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.E3 S424 2007 Check availability @ Duke
Shaheen, Jack G.
Reel bad Arabs : how Hollywood vilifies a people.
New York : Olive Branch Press, 2001.
Lilly Library 791.43 S525, R327, 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Shohat, Ella.
Israeli cinema : East/West and the politics of representation.
Austin : University of Texas Press, 1989.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.I86 S56 1989 Check availability @ Duke
Suner, Asuman.
New Turkish cinema : belonging, identity and memory.
London ; New York; New York: I.B. Tauris; Distributed in the USA by Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 S86 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Tapper, Richard (ed.)
The new Iranian cinema : politics, representation and identity.
London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2002.
Lilly Library 791.430955 N532, 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Includes filmography: p. 262-269.
Talmon, Miri and Yaron Peleg.
Israeli cinema : identities in motion.
Austin: University of Texas Press, 2011.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.I86 I87 2011 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Borders in Motion: The Evolution of the Portrayal of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict in Contemporary Israeli Cinema / Yael Ben-Zvi-Morad -- Smashing Up the Face of History: Trauma and Subversion in Kedma and Atash / Nurith Gertz and Gal Hermoni -- New Cinematic Discourses. Discursive Identities in the (R)evolution of the New Israeli Queer Cinema / Gilad Padva -- Kibbutz Films in Transition: From Morality to Ethics / Eldad Kedem -- The End of a World, the Beginning of a New World: The New Discourse of Authenticity and New Versions of Collective Memory in Israeli Cinema / Miri Talmon. Holocaust and Trauma. The Holocaust in Israeli Cinema as a Conflict between Survival and Morality / Ilan Avisar -- Near and Far: The Representation of Holocaust Survivors in Israeli Feature Films, 1945-2010 / Liat Steir-Livny -- Homonational Desires: Masculinity and Sexuality in the Cinema of Eytan Fox / Raz Yosef -- Jewish Orthodoxy Revisited. Negotiating Judaism in Contemporary Israeli Cinema: The Spiritual Style of My Father, My Lord / Dan Chyutin -- Seeking the Local, Engaging the Global: Women and Religious Oppression in a Minor Film / Nava Dushi -- Beaufort and My Father, My Lord: Traces of the Binding Myth and the Mother's Voice / Anat Zanger -- Filming the Palestinian Other. The Foreigner Within and the Question of Identity in Fictitious Marriage and Streets of Yesterday -- / sandra meiri -- a rave against the occupation?: speaking for the self and excluding the other in contemporary israeli political cinema / Dorit Naaman --^ Introduction -- The nation imagined on film. Filming the homeland: cinema in Eretz Israel and the Zionist movement, 1917-1939 / Ariel L. Feldestein -- Helmar Lerski in Israel / Jan-Christopher Horak -- Ecce Homo: The Transfiguration of Israeli Manhood in Israeli Films / Yaron Peleg -- War and Its Aftermath. From Hill to Hill: A Brief History of the Representation of War in Israeli Cinema / Uri S. Cohen -- From Hero to Victim: The Changing Image of the Soldier on the Israeli Screen / Eran Kaplan -- The Lady and the Death Mask / Judd Neeman -- Coping with the Legacy of Death: The War Widow in Israeli Films / Yael Zerubavel -- The Privatization of War Memory in Recent Israeli Cinema / Yael Munk -- An Ethno-Cultural Kaleidoscope. Disjointed Narratives in Contemporary Israeli Films / Nitzan Ben Shaul -- Trajectories of Mizrahi Cinema / Yaron Shemer -- Immigrant Cinema: Russian Israelis on Screens and behind the Cameras / Olga Gershenson --^
Tazi, Mohamed Abderrahman.
Beyond Casablanca : M.A. Tazi and the adventure of Moroccan cinema.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2004.
Lilly Library PN1998.3.T397 A3 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Tuhāmī, Fuʾād. ‫ تهامي، فؤاد. ‬
al-Ḥarb wa-al-salām fī al-sīnimā al-tasjīlīyah al-Miṣrīyah.
‫ الحرب والسلام في السينما التسجيلية المصرية / فؤاد التهامي. ‬
Alexandria, Egypt : Maktabat al-Iskandarīyah, Markaz al-Funūn, c2003.
‫ [Alexandria، Egypt] : مكتبة الإسكندرية، مركز الفنون، c2003. ‬
Perkins/Bostock Library PN1993.5.E3 T84 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Wingfield, Marvin.
Palestine in Film: A Guide and an Annotated Filmography
http://www.adc.org/fileadmin/ADC/Pdfs/Palestine_in_Film.pdf
This guide and filmography provides a brief outline of Palestinian film production and distribution and points readers towards the films themselves, towards commentary on the films, towards film institutions, and towards other sources of information. The films listed here were made by Palestinians, or are about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, or about matters related to Palestine. Some are well-known films; others are largely unknown. This introductory guide is by no means complete, but can be a gateway into the world of Palestinian film -- a starting point for casual viewers, serious students, educators, academics, filmmakers, and advocates for a just peace.
Yosef, Raz.
Beyond flesh : queer masculinities and nationalism in Israeli cinema.
New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, 2004.
Lilly Library 791.43653 Y65, B573, 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Zuhur, Sherifa (ed.)
Images of enchantment : visual and performing arts of the Middle East.
Cairo, Egypt : American University in Cairo Press, c1998.
Lilly Library 700.956 I31, 1998 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Introduction / Sherifa Zuhur -- Changing images and shifting identities : female performers in Egypt / Karin van Nieuwkerk -- Women’s performance in ritual context : wedding among the Rashayda of Sudan / William Young -- Folk music and dance in the Arabian Gulf and Saudi Arabia / Kay Hardy Campbell -- A procession through time: the Zaffat al-ʻarusa in three views -- Asmahan : Arab musical performance and musicianship under the myth / Sherifa Zuhur -- Performance, political identity, and memory : Umm Kulthum and Gamal 'Abd al-Nasir / Virginia Danielson -- Western classical music in Umm Kulthum’s country / Selim Sednaoui -- The music of Arab Americans : aesthetics and performance in a new land / Anne Rasmussen -- Beyond the performance / Simon Shaheen -- Gender and politics in contemporary art : Arab women empower the image / Salwa M. Nashashibi -- The artist’s voice / Chaibia Talal -- Imagery and invention : Sudanese at home and in the world conversations with Mohamed Omer Bushara and Musa Khalifa / Sondra Hale -- Image and experience : why cinema? / Farida Ben Lyazid -- Victims or actors? centering women in Egyptian commercial film / Sherifa Zuhur -- Iranian cinema under the Islamic Republic / Hamid Naficy -- Reverse imagery : Middle Eastern themes in Hollywood / Rebecca Stone -- Farida Fahmy and the dancer's image in Egyptian film / Marjorie Franken -- Terrorism and Kabab : a Capraesque view of modern Egypt / Walter Armbrust.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified May 22, 2012 8:20:54 AM EDT