Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Finding Background Information

New & Noteworthy
Arab Human Development Report 2005 cover

Arab Human Development Report 2005

An instrument for measuring human progress and triggering action for change promoting regional partnerships for influencing change, and addressing region-specific human development approaches to human rights, poverty, education, economic reform, HIV/AIDS, and globalization.

The Great Divide: How Westerners and Muslims View Each Other


The survey by the Pew Global Attitudes Project was conducted in 13 countries, including the United States, from March 31-May 14, 2006. It includes special oversamples of Muslim minorities living in Great Britain, France, Germany and Spain. In many ways, the views of Europe's Muslims represent a middle ground between the way Western publics and Muslims in the Middle East and Asia view each other.

Muslims in Europe: Economic Worries Top Concerns About Religious and Cultural Identity

The survey by the Pew Global Attitudes Project was conducted in 13 countries, including the United States, from March 31-May 14, 2006.1 It includes special oversamples of Muslim minorities living in Great Britain, France, Germany, and Spain.

American University (Washington, DC). Foreign Area Studies.
Area Handbook Series/Country Studies.
Perkins Docs. US Docs. Check avialbility @ Duke
This series, published under the auspices of the U.S. Government, includes area handbooks for all Middle Eastern countries.
Fenton, Thomas P, and Mary J. Heffron (ed.).
Middle East: A Directory of Resources..
Maryknoll, NY: Orbis Books, 1988.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks Z3014.P64 M533 1988
Covers the Middle East and North Africa as a region, as well as the individual countries. Cites organizations, periodicals, books, articles and pamphlets, and audiovisual materials. Entries contain extensive annotations and lists of information sources.
Grimwood-Jones, Diana (ed.).
Middle East and Islam: A Bibliographical Introduction..
Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation Co., 1979.
[Library Service Center 016.915603 M627, 1979
Supplement: Perkins/Bostock Z3013 .M48 1986 Suppl.]
Political Handbook of the World.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1975- .
[Perkins/Bostock Ref JF37 .P6 (latest)]
Arranged alphabetically by country (including the Middle East), provides brief description of the government and politics, heads of state, political parties, legislature, cabinet, news media, etc. Appendices include chronologies of major international events and conferences. Geographic/organization name and personal name indexes.
Schulz, Ann.
International and Regional Politics in the Middle East and North Africa: A Guide to Information Sources
. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1978.
[Perkins/Bostock 327.56 S448I]
Bibliographical essays under the headings: Regional issues, The foreign policies of Middle Eastern states, External powers in the Middle East, The Arab-Israeli conflict, and Petroleum, followed by two chapters on reference materials (bibliographies and indexes, biographical indexes, chronologies, yearbooks, and atlases). Author, title, and subject indexes.
Simon, Reeva S.
The Modern Middle East: A Guide to Research Tools in the Social Sciences
. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1978.
Library Service Center 016.956 S596, M689, 1978
Based on materials in Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish, and the Western languages in the collections of the Columbia University Libraries and the New York Public Library.
Weekes, Richard V. (ed.).
Muslim Peoples: A World Ethnographic Survey. 2nd ed.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
Perkins/Bostock 305.6971 M987, 1984
A survey of about 200 ethnic groups throughout the world which have been identified as wholly or partly Muslim. Includes bibliographic references.
Europa World Yearbook
The Middle East and North Africa.
London: Europa Publications, 1964/65-to date.
Perkins/Bostock DS49 .M5 (latest; previous year in IAS Reading Room)
General Survey: authoritative essays on issues of contemporary interest. Part II. Regional Organizations: comprehensive information on the United Nations and the other major organizations active in the region. Part III. Country Surveys: in an alphabetical order discussing: Geography, History, Economy, Statistical Survey, Directory (the constitution, government, legislature, political organizations, diplomatic representation, judicial system, religion, press, publishers, radio and TV, finance, trade and industry, transport, tourism, atomic energy, defence, education).
Reich, Bernard (ed).
Political Leaders of the Contemporary Middle East and North Africa: A Biographical Dictionary.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS61.5 .P65 1990
Profiles 70 men and women who have had a significant impact on the political development of the region since World War II. Each entry (7 to 10 pages in length) is signed and concludes with a list of additional sources. A chronology of the region up to 1989, a bibliography of general sources and a detailed index are included.
Shimoni, Yaacov.
The Biographical Dictionary of the Middle East.
New York: Facts On File, 1991.
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS62.4 .B56 1991
Provides 500 sketches of 500 persons who have played a role in the present and recent past of the Middle East.
Who's Who in the Arab World.
Beirut: Publitec. 1965/1966- .
Perkins/Bostock Reference D198.3 .W5 (latest)
Frost & Sullivan.
The Political Risk Yearbook. Middle East and North Africa.
New York: Frost & Sullivan, 1987-.
Ford Library Reference HF 1410 .P752 (latest)
Developed for students, faculty, and researchers, this annual publication provides probability forecasts on political and economic matters in addition to political, economic, and social data. Each country report contains: an executive summary; update data, map and list of territorial and maritime disputes; fact sheet; background review; information on politically important individuals and organizations, the regime's stability, level of turmoil, international investment restrictions, trade restrictions, economic policies; and a five-year political and economic forecast projecting three possible scenarios.
Rudkin, Anthony, and Irene Butcher.
A Book World Directory of the Arab Countries, Turkey and Iran.
London: Mansell ; Detroit: Gale, 1981.
Perkins/Bostock 338.47 R916, B724, 1981
In six sections: Libraries, Booksellers, Publishers, Institutional Publishers, Newspapers, Periodicals. Entries for libraries mainly confined to those with more than 10,000 volumes. Appendices include libraries classified by subject area and a list of library associations.
The Shiloah Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies.
Middle East Contemporary Survey.
Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1978- .
Perkins/Bostock Stacks DS62.8 .M53
Each annual volume (starting with no. 1/1976-77) study developments relating to internal and external issues, both regionally and internationally followed by "a country-by-country" survey of each of the Middle East entities excluding the three North African states of Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified April 6, 2009 10:36:43 AM EDT