Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Middle East Language Dictionaries

Bi-lingual Arabic Dictionaries for English

A Subject begins with... search in the Library's online catalog using the search term 'Arabic language dictionaries' will provide many more works than are listed here.

Clark, Michael, et al.
Oxford-Duden pictorial English dictionary with English-Arabic index.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2003.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .O88 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Doniach, N.S.
The Concise Oxford English-Arabic dictionary of current usage.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1982.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .C6621 1982 Check availability @ Duke
Doniach, N. S.
The Oxford English-Arabic dictionary of current usage.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1972.
Law Library Annex Reference | PJ6640 .O93 1972
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .O93 1972 Check availability @ Duke
Elias, Elias Antoon.
Elias' modern dictionary, English-Arabic.
Cairo : Elias' Modern Pub. House, 1981.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .E6 1982 Check availability @ Duke
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .E59 1981 Check availability @ Duke
Hassanein, Ahmed Taher, et al.
The Concise Arabic-English lexicon of verbs in context.
Cairo : The American University in Cairo Press, c1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library PJ6640 .C6 1991 Check availability @ Duke
Lane, Edward William.
An Arabic-English lexicon.
Beirut, Librairie du Liban, 1968.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6640 .L3 1968 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: pt. 1. - th.--pt. 2. j - kh.--pt. 3. d - z.--pt. 4. s - s.--pt. 5. d - .--pt. 6. gh - f.--pt. 7. q - m.--pt. 8. n - y, and suppl. to pts. 7 and 8.
Quitregard, David.
Arabic key words : the basic 2,000-word vocabulary arranged by frequency in a hundred units : with comprehensive English and transliterated Arabic indexes.
Cambridge : Oleander, c1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library PJ6640 .Q587 1994 Check availability @ Duke
Steingass, Francis Joseph.
English-Arabic dictionary : for the use of both travellers and students.
New Delhi : Cosmo Publications, 1978.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .S7 1978 Check availability @ Duke
Wehr, Hans.
A dictionary of modern written Arabic : (Arabic-English).
Ithaca, N.Y. : Spoken Language Services, c1994.
Lilly Reference PJ6640 .W43 1994
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6640 .W43 1994
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6640 .W43 1994 Check availability @ Duke
Divinity School Reference PJ6640 .W43 1971 Check availability @ Duke

Bi-lingual Arabic Dictionaries for Western European Languages (Except English)

A Subject begins with... search in the Library's online catalog using the search term 'Arabic language dictionaries' will provide many more works than are listed here.

Barthélemy, Adrien.
Dictionnaire arabe-français. Dialectes de Syrie: Alep, Damas, Liban, Jérusalem.
Paris, Librairie orientaliste Paul Geuthner, 1935-54.
Divinity School Reference Quarto PJ6645 .B37 1935 Check availability @ Duke
Belot, Jean Baptiste.
Dictionnaire Français arabe.
Beyrouth : Impr. Catholique : Distributeur exclusif Librairie Orientale, 1952, 1963 impr.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6645.F6 B394 1952 Check availability @ Duke
Biberstein-Kazimirski, Albert de.
Qamus al-lughatayn al-Arabiyah wa-al-Faransawiyah = Dictionnaire arabe-français, contenant toutes les racines de la langue arabe, leurs dérivés, tant dans l'idiome vulgaire que dans l'idiome lit[t]éral, ainsi que les dialectes d'Alger et de Maroc = قاموس اللغتين العربية والفرانساوية .
Beyrouth : Librairie du Liban, [1970?]
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6645.F6 B5 1970 Check availability @ Duke
Corriente, Federico.
Diccionario español-árabe.
Madrid : Instituto Hispano-Arabe de Cultura, 1970, c1971.
Perkins/Bostock Library PJ6645.S6 C6 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Cortés, Julio.
Diccionario de árabe culto moderno : árabe-español.
Madrid : Gredos, 1996.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PJ6645.S6 C65 1996 Check availability @ Duke
Dozy, Reinhart Pieter Anne.
Supplément aux dictionnaires arabes.
Beyrouth : Librairie du Liban, c1991.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6645.F6 D6 1991 Check availability @ Duke

Divinity School Library Quarto PJ6645 .D77s 1927 Check availability @ Duke
Schregle, Götz.
Deutsch-arabisches Wörterbuch.
Beirut : Librairie du Liban, 1977.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6645.G5 S3 1977 Check availability @ Duke

Bi-lingual Hebrew Dictionaries

A Subject begins with... search in the Library's online catalog using the search term 'Hebrew language dictionaries' will provide many more works than are listed here.

Alcalay, Reuben.
The complete English-Hebrew dictionary.
Brooklyn, N.Y. : Chemed Books ; Tel-Aviv : Yedioth Ahronoth ; Miskal Pub. & Dist., 2000.
Lilly Reference PJ4833 .A42 2000
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ4833 .A42 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Doniach, N. S. et al.
The Oxford English-Hebrew dictionary.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1998, c1996.
Divinity School Library Reference PJ4833 .O9 1998 Check availability @ Duke
Israeli, Eta.
Sleng ve-od : milon ha-sleng ha-Yisraeli : Ivrit-Anglit.
Tel Aviv : I. Yisreeli, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library PJ4833 .I87 2005 Check availability @ Duke

Bi-lingual Persian Dictionaries

A Subject begins with... search in the Library's online catalog using the search term 'Persian language dictionaries' will provide many more works than are listed here.

Palmer, Edward Henry.
English-Persian and Persian-English concise dictionary : together with a simplified grammar of the Persian language.
New Delhi : Asian Educational Services, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PK6379 .P356 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Turner, Colin.
A thematic dictionary of modern Persian.
Richmond : Curzon, 1996.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PK6379 .T876 1996 Check availability @ Duke
Aryanpur Kashani, Abbas.
Farhang-i nuvin-i payvastah-i Farsi-Ingilisi va Ingilisi-Farsi.
Lexington, KY, USA : Mazdâ Publishers, 1986.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PK6379 .A694 1986
Perkins/Bostock Reference PK6379 .A694 1986 Check availability @ Duke
Steingass, Francis Joseph.
A comprehensive Persian-English dictionary, including the Arabic words and phrases to be met with in Persian literature, being Johnson and Richardson's Persian, Arabic, and English dictionary revised, enlarged, and entirely reconstructed by F. Steingass.
London, K. Paul, Trench, Trubner & co., ltd. [1957]
Perkins/Bostock Reference PK6379 .S7 1930 Check availability @ Duke

Bi-lingual Turkish Dictionaries

A Subject begins with... search in the Library's online catalog using the search term 'Turkish language dictionaries' will provide many more works than are listed here.

Bayram, Ali, et al.
English-Turkish/Turkish-English large portable dictionary = Ingilizce-türkçe/Türkçe-Ingilizce büyük el sözlügü.
Chicago, IL: Milet, 2006.
Lilly PL191 .E545 2006
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PL191 .E545 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Farqini, Zana.
Büyük Türkçe Kürtçe sözlük = Ferhenga mezin Tirki Kurdi.
Istanbul: Enstituya Kurdi, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library PL193.K87 F37 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Hony, H. C.
The Oxford Turkish-English dictionary.
Oxford [Oxfordshire] : Clarendon Press, 1984.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PL137 .A4 1984 Check availability @ Duke
Iz, Fahir.
The Oxford English-Turkish dictionary.
Oxford [Eng.] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1978.
Perkins/Bostock Library PL191 .I93 1978 Check availability @ Duke
Redhouse, J. W.
Ingilizce-Türkçe Redhouse sözlügü = Redhouse English-Turkish dictionary.
Istanbul : Redhouse Yayinevi, c1974.
Perkins/Bostock Reference PL191 .I49 1974 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Two dictionaries lie behind the present work. One is A lexicon, English and Turkish, by J. W. Redhouse, first published in 1861. The second is the revised Redhouse dictionary, English-Turkish, first published in 1950.
Redhouse, James W.
Redhouse yeni Türkçe-Ingilizce sözlük. New Redhouse Turkish-English dictionary.
Istanbul, Redhouse Yayinevi, 1968 Perkins/Bostock Library PL191 .R55 1968 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: "A new dictionary based largely on the Turkish-English lexicon prepared by Sir James Redhouse and published in 1890."
Vate Çalisma Grubu.
Türkçe-Kirmancca (Zazaca) sözlük, Kirmancca (Zazaca)-Türkçe sözlük = Ferhengê Tirki-Kirmancki (Zazaki), Ferhengê Kirmancki(Zazaki)-Tirki.
Beyoglu, Istanbul : Avesta, c2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library PL193.K8 T87 2001 Check availability @ Duke

Single-language Dictionaries

Abd al-Baqi, Muhammad Fuad.
عبد الباقي، محمد فؤاد
al-Mujam al-mufahras li-alfaz al-Quran al-karim = المعجم المفهرس لالفاظ القرآن الكريم
Cairo: Dar al-Hadith, 1988.
Divinity School Library Reference Quarto 297.12203 A135, M953, 1988
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room BP133 .A18 1987 Check availability @ Duke
Dihkhuda, Ali Akbar.
Lughatnamah.
Tihran : Chapkhanah-i Mussasah-i Intisharat va Chap-i Danishgah, 1337- [1958-].
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room AE36 .D4 1958 Check availability @ Duke
Even-Shoshan, Avraham.
ha-Milon he-hadash : otsar shalem shel ha-lashon ha-Ivrit ha-sifrutit, ha-madait veha-meduberet, nivim va-amarot Ivriyim va-Aramiyim, munahim benleumiyim.
Israel: ha-Milon he-hadash, c2000.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ4830 .E93 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: kerekh 1. A[lef]-h[eh] -- kerekh 2. V[av]-l[amed] -- kerekh 3. M[em]-s[amekh] -- kerekh 4. [Ayin]-r[esh] -- kerekh 5. Sh[in]-t[av] u-musafim.
Ghiyas al-Din Muhammad ibn Jalal al-Din ibn Sharaf al-Din Rampuri.
Ghiyas al-lughat.
Tehran: Amir Kabir, vabastah bin Sazman-i Tablighat-i Islami, 1363 [1984]
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PK6375 .G45 1984 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Includes the Persian language dictionary, Charagh-i hidayat by Siraj al-Din Khan ibn Husam al-Din al-Gavaliyari Akbarabadi.
Ibn Manzur, Muhammad ibn Mukarram.
ابن منظور، محمد بن مكرم.
Lisan al-Arab. = لسان العرب
Bayrut : Dar Sadir, [1955-1956], 1996 printing
بيروت : دار الصادر، ١٣٧٤-١٣٧٦ [١٩٥٥-١٩٥٦]
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6620 .I15 1955 Check availability @ Duke
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified September 12, 2007 8:43:10 AM EDT