Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Useful Databases

Encyclopedia of Islam

The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online represents a major resource in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, with the online version bringing remote access to over 13,000 articles. The online edition includes access to all the material found in the the English print edition - the main volumes as well as the supplementary material and indexes of subjects and proper names. New data will be added to the online edition as it becomes available in the print edition.

Index Islamicus

Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, mainly in European languages. With its regional coverage encompassing the Middle East, Africa, and Asia as well as Muslim minorities throughout the world, it indexes over 2,000 journals as well as conference proceedings, monographs, readers, and book reviews. Subject coverage is not limited to religion, but also includes the social sciences, arts, and natural and applied sciences. Materials are indexed to the article or chapter level. Records can be saved or emailed in a tagged format. 

Index to Jewish Periodicals

Index to Jewish Periodicals covers Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

Multidata Online

 MultiDataOnline provides full text from and bibliographic citations to selected newspapers and periodicals from the Arab world in Arabic, English, and French. MultiDataOnline consists of five databases: 1."General News" provides full text and covers 52 dailies and weeklies since 1994; 2. "Specialized Periodicals" provides bibliographic citations from more than 225 specialized Arabic periodicals since 1920; 3. "Reviews" provides full text book reviews from more than 250 newspapers and magazines in the Arab world from 1998; 4. "Theses" provides a subject index to theses submitted to 21 Lebanese institutions of higher learning; and, 5. "Index Arabicus" documents the contents of 42 Arabic periodicals published between 1870 and 1969. The database has both Arabic and English interfaces.

Please note: These databases are for the use of Duke faculty, students, and staff only. If you are attempting to use these resources from off-Campus, you will need to install the VPN client.     > More...

Encyclopedias provide excellent starting points for further research. Individual articles and chapters outline topics in a concise way and often include bibliographies of works for further study.


Works in Western European Languages

Çiçek, Kemal.
The great Ottoman-Turkish civilisation.
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .G74 2000 4 vols.
Clements, William M.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of world folklore and folklife.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference GR35 .G75 2006
See vol. 1 for Middle east
Check availability @ Duke
Gilquin, Michel, éd.
Atlas des minorités musulmanes en Asie méridionale et orientale.
Paris : CNRS, c2010.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS339.3.M87 A85 2010
Güzel, Hasan Celâl, et al.
The Turks
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS26 .T874 2002 6 vols. Check availability @ Duke
İnalcık, Halil.
Ottoman civilization.
Ankara : Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Culture, 2003-2004.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O886 2003 2 vols.
Joseph, Suad
Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures.
Leiden ; Boston, Mass. : Brill, 2003-
Perkins/Bostock Reference HQ1170 .E53 2003
Check availability @ Duke
Knappert, Jan
The encyclopedia of Middle Eastern mythology and religion
Shaftesbury, Dorset ; Rockport, Mass., Element, 1993
Divinity School Reference 291.13 K67, E56, 1993
Check availability @ Duke
Mattar, Philip
Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa
Detroit, Mich., Macmillan Reference USA, 2004
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS43 .E53 2004
Check availability @ Duke
Mostyn, Trevor; Hourani, Albert Habib
The Cambridge encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa
Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York, Cambridge University Press, 1988
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS44 .C37 1988
Check availability @ Duke
Nanji, Azim.
The Penguin dictionary of Islam.
London ; New York : Penguin, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Reference BP40 .N35 2008
Check availability @ Duke
Nettl, Bruno; Stone, Ruth M.; Porter, James; Rice, Timothy
The Garland encyclopedia of world music
New York, Garland Pub., 1998
Music Reference ML100 .G16 1997
v. 6. The Middle East / Virginia Danielson, Scott Marcus, and Dwight Reynolds, editors
Check availability @ Duke
Neusner, Jacob
The Encyclopaedia of Judaism.
Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2005
Divinity School Reference BM50 .E634 2005
Check availability @ Duke
Sela, Avraham
The Continuum political encyclopedia of the Middle East
New York, Continuum, 2002
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS62.8 .P64 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Skolnik, Fred (ed.)
Encyclopaedia Judaica.
Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA/Keter Pub. House, 2007.
Divinity School Library Reference DS102.8 .E496 2007 Check availability @ Duke
Smith, Dan.
The state of the middle east : an atlas of conflict and resolution.
Berkeley : University of California Press, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Reference G2205 .S653 2006
Check availability @ Duke

Works in Arabic & Persian

Abdulhai, Sayyid, b. 1869.
‏عبدالحي، سي.
al-Ilam bi-man fi tarikh al-Hind min al-alam al-musamma bi-Nuzhat al-khawatir wa-bahjat al-masami wa-al-nawazir.
‏الإعلام بمن في تاريخ الهند من الأعلام المسمى بنزهة الخواطر وبهجة المسامع والنواظر /‏ ‏لعبد الحي بن فخر الدين الحسيني
Bayrut : Dar Ibn Hazm, 1999.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS434 .A23 1999 Check availability @ Duke
خوند، مسعود.
Khawand, Masʻūd.
الموسوعة التاريخية الجغرافية : القارات، المناطق، الدول، البلدان، المدن، معالم، وثائق، موضوعات، زعماء /
al-Mawsūʻah al-tārīkhīyah al-jughrāfīyah : al-qārrāt, al-manāṭiq, al-duwal, al-buldān, al-mudun, maʻālim, wathāʼiq, mawḍūʻāt, zuʻamāʼ.

جونيه : دار رواد النهضة للطباعة والنشر والتوزيع،  2003  -1994] Jūniyah : Dār Rūwād al-Nahḍah lil-Ṭibāʻah wa-al-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ, 1994-2003
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room G63 .K43 1994
Check availability @ Duke
Contents: الجزء 1. أبخازيا - آسوج -- الجزء 2. آسيا - ألبانيا -- الجزء 3. ألمانيا - أوروبا -- الجزء 4. معالم - وثائق - موضوعات - زعماء -- الجزء 6. بولندا - تشيكيا -- الجزء 7. تشيلي، جنوب افريقيا -- الجزء 8. جورجيا - زائير -- الجزء 9. زامبيا -- الجزء 10. سورية -- الجزء 11. سورينام -- العالم -- 12. العالم الاسلامي- العربية السعودية -- الجزء 13. عمان- فرنسا -- 14. فلسطين - قبرص -- 15. القرن الافريقي - لاوس -- 16. لبنان -- 17. لبنان -- 18. لوكسمبورغ - مصر.
al-juzʼ 1. Abkhāzyā-Āsūj -- al-juzʼ 3. Almāniyā-Ūrūbbā -- al-juzʼ 4. Ūrūghwāy-Bābwā -- al-juzʼ 5. Bārāghwāy-al-Būsnah -- al-juzʼ 6. Būlandā-Tshīkyā -- al-juzʼ 7. Tshīlī-Janūb Afrīqiyā -- al-juzʼ 9. Zāmbiyā-Sūrīyah -- al-juzʼ 10. al-Sūrīyah -- al-juzʼ 11. Sūrīnām-al-ʻālam -- al-juzʼ 12. al-ʻĀlam al-Islāmīyah-al-ʻArabīyah al-Saʻūdīyah -- al-juzʼ 13. ʻUmān-Faransā -- al-juzʼ 14. Filasṭīn-Qubrus -- al-juzʼ 15. al-Qarn al-Ifrīqī-Lawus -- al-juzʼ 16, [part 1]. Lubnān al-muʻāṣir, mashhad tārīkhī wa-siyāsī ʻām -- al-juzʼ 17, part 2. Lubnān al-muʻāṣir, mashhad tārīkhī wa-siyāsī ʻām -- al-juzʼ 18. Lūksimbūrgh-Miṣr -- al-juzʼ 19. Miṣr-Nībāl.
Kurayyim, Sāmiḥ. / كريم، سامح.
Mawsūʻat aʻlām al-mujaddidīn fī al-Islām / موسوعة أعلام المجددين في الإسلام
al-Qāhirah : Maktabat al-Dār al-ʻArabīyah lil-Kitāb, 2010.
Divinity School Library BP70 .K863 2010 3 vols. Check availability @ Duke
Maqhafi, Ibrahim Ahmad.
المقحفي ، ابراهيم.
Mawsuat al-alqab al-Yamaniyah.
موسوعة الألقاب اليمنية
Bayrut : al-Muassasah al-Jamiiyah lil-Dirasat wa-al-Nashr wa-al-Tawzi, 2010.
بيروت : المؤسسة الجامعية للدراسات والنشر و التوزيع، 2010.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS247.Y46 M38 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: [1] Alif-Ha -- [2] Kha-Sin -- [3] Shin-Za -- [4] Ayn-Ghayn -- [5] Fa-Lam -- [6] Mim -- [7] Nun-Ya.
Yūsuf, Muḥammad Khayr Ramaḍān.
‫ يوسف ، محمد خير رمضان.
‬ Tatimmat al-Aʻlām lil-Ziriklī : wafayāt 1397-1415 H/1977-1995 M.
‫ تتمة الأعلام للزركلي ؛ وفيات ١٣٩٧-١٤١٥ه⁻/١٩٧٧-١٩٩٥م / محمد خير رمضان يوسف

‬ Bayrūt : Dār Ibn Ḥazm, 1998.
‫ بيروت : دار ابن حزم، 1998.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS37.2 .Z57 1979 Suppl.
Check availability @ Duke
Sayyid, Fuad al-
سيد، فؤاد صالح
Mu'jam al-awakhir fi ta'rikh al-Arab wa-al-Muslimin
معجم الأواخر في تاريخ العرب والمسلمين

Bayrut, Dar al-Manihil
بيروت : دار المناهل، 2001
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS62 .S291 2001
Check availability @ Duke
Dihkhudā, ʻAlī Akbar, 1879-1955.
دهخدا، على اكبر‏ ‏
Lughatʹnāmah.
لغت‌نامه

Tihrān : Chāpkhānah-ʾi Muʾssasah-ʾi Intishārāt va Chāp-i Dānishgāh, 1337- [1958?-]
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room AE36 .D4 1958
Check availability @ Duke
Ibn Manẓūr, Muḥammad ibn Mukarram, 1232-1311 or 12.
ابن منظور، محمد بن مكرم.
Lisān al-ʻArab.
لسان العرب

Bayrūt : Dār Ṣādir, [1955-1956], 1996 printing
بيروت : دار الصادر، ١٣٧٤-١٣٧٦ ١٩٥٥-١٩٥٦
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PJ6620 .I15 1955
Check availability @ Duke
Abū al-Faraj al-Iṣbahānī, 897 or 8-967.
أبو الفرج الإصبهاني. إبياري، إبراهيم.
Kitāb al-Aghānī.
كتاب الاغانى

Bayrūt : Dār al-Thaqāfah, 1990.
Perkins/Bostock PJ7631 .A216 1990
Check availability @ Duke
Zirikli, Khayr al-Din.
al-Alam : qamus tarajim li-ashhar al-rijal wa-al-nisa min al-Arab wa-al-mustaribin wa-al-mustashriqin.
Bayrut, Lubnan : Dar al-Ilm lil-Malayin, 1997.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DS37.5.A2 Z57 1997 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. Abiri-Ighnatiyus -- v. 2. Iftikhar-Dunaynir -- v. 3. al-Dahhan-Abd al-Salam -- v. 4. Abd al-Salam-Ali -- v. 5. Ali-Muhammad -- v. 6. Muhammad-Muhammad -- v. 7. Muhammad-Nafi -- v. 8. Nafi-Yuhannis.

Turkish

Çakıroğlu, Ekrem.
Yaşamları ve yapıtlarıyla Osmanlılar ansiklopedisi.
İstanbul : YKY, 1999.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR438 .Y37 1999
Check availability @ Duke
Eren, Güler.
Osmanlı.
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye Yayınları, 1999.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O813 1999
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: History of the Ottoman Empire.
Contents: Vol. 1-2. Siyaset -- v. 3. İktisat -- v. 4-5. Toplum -- v. 6. Teşkilat -- v. 7. Düşünce -- v. 8. Bilim -- v. 9-11. Kültür ve sanat -- v. 12. Hanedan.
Halman, Talât Sait.
Türk edebiyati tarihi.
Ankara: TC Kültür ve Turizm Bakanligi Yayinlari, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room PL205 .T8753 2006
Check availability @ Duke
İletişim Yayınları
Cumhuriyet dönemi Türkiye ansiklopedisi.
Cağaloğlu, İstanbul : İletişim Yayınları, 1983
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR590 .C78 1985
Check availability @ Duke
Işik, Ihsan, 1952-
Encyclopedia of Turkish authors : people of literature, culture and science.
Ankara : Elvan yaynlar, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room PL213 .I855 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: v. 1. A-E - v. 2. E-O - v. 3. O-Z.
Tercüman Gazetecilik.
İstanbul kültür ve sanat ansiklopedisi.
İstanbul : Tercüman Gazetecilik, 1982-1985.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR719 .I788 1982
Check availability @ Duke
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü.
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm ansiklopedisi
Üsküdar, İstanbul : Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü, 1988-
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room BP40 .T857 198
Check availability @ Duke
Türkiye Ekonomik ve Toplumsal Tarih Vakfı.
İstanbul ansiklopedisi : dünden bugüne.
İstanbul : Kültür Bakanlığı : Tarih Vakfı, 1993-1995.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room AE75 .I883 1993
Check availability @ Duke
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified September 19, 2012 2:14:16 PM EDT