Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Middle East & Islamic Studies Resources

Bibliographies & Historical Dictionaries

Bibliographies

Crosby, Everett Uberto.
Medieval warfare : a bibliographical guide.
New York, NY: Garland, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library U37 .C767 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Hamarneh, Sami Khalaf.
Bibliography on medicine and pharmacy in medieval Islam.
Stuttgart: Wissenschaftliche Verlagsgesellschaft, 1964.
Perkins/Bostock Library R128 .H36 1964 Check availability @ Duke

The volumes in the Historical Dictionary series presents a concise overview of a subject's history and development in form of an alphabetical list of keywords, names, movements, etc. with accompanying definitions. However, their main value resides in the bibliographies which follow the dictionary part. These capsule bibliographies on a variety of key periods and topics provide great starting points for further research.

Movements, Religions, Organizations, Events

Brice, William Charles (1981)
An historical atlas of Islam.
Leiden : Brill
Check availability @ Duke
Adamson, Hugh C.; Hainsworth, Philip (1998)
Historical dictionary of the Baha'a Faith.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Adamec, Ludwig W. (2001)
Historical dictionary of Islam.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Solomon, Norman (1998)
Historical dictionary of Judaism.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Fischel, Jack (1999)
Historical dictionary of the Holocaust.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Clements, Frank (2001)
Historical dictionary of Arab and Islamic organizations.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Mawsilili, Ahmad (1999)
Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Medoff, Rafael; Waxman, Chaim Isaac (2008)
Historical dictionary of Zionism.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS149 .M375 2008
Check availability @ Duke
Newell, Clayton R. (1998)
Historical dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke

Countries, Regions

Adamec, Ludwig W. (1997)
Historical dictionary of Afghanistan.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Naylor, Phillip Chiviges; Heggoy, Alf Andrew (1994)
Historical dictionary of Algeria.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Adalian, Rouben Paul (2002)
Historical dictionary of Armenia.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Rosser, John H. (2001)
Historical dictionary of Byzantium.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Panteli, Stavros (1994)
Historical dictionary of Cyprus.
Lanham, Md., ; London : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Aboubaker Alwan, Daoud; Mibrathu, Yohanis (2000)
Historical dictionary of Djibouti.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Goldschmidt, Arthur, 1938-
Historical dictionary of ancient Egypt.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Goldschmidt, Arthur (1994)
Historical dictionary of Egypt.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Peck, Malcolm C. (1997)
Historical dictionary of the Gulf Arab States.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Lorentz, John H. (1995)
Historical dictionary of Iran.
Lanham, MD. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Reich, Bernard (2008)
Historical dictionary of Israel.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS126.5 .R38 2008
Check availability @ Duke
Abu Khalil, Asad (1998)
Historical dictionary of Lebanon.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
St. John, Ronald Bruce (1998)
Historical dictionary of Libya.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Leick, Gwendolyn (2003)
Historical dictionary of Mesopotamia.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Buell, Paul D. (2003)
Historical dictionary of the Mongol world empire.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Park, Thomas Kerlin (1996)
Historical dictionary of Morocco.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Somel, Selçuk Ak sin (2003)
Historical dictionary of the Ottoman Empire.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Burki, Shahid Javed (1991)
Historical dictionary of Pakistan.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Nazzal, Nafez; Nazzal, Laila A. (1997)
Historical dictionary of Palestine.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Commins, David Dean (1996)
Historical dictionary of Syria.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Lobban, Richard; Kramer, Robert S.; Fluehr-Lobban, Carolyn (2002)
Historical dictionary of the Sudan.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Perkins, Kenneth J. (1997)
Historical dictionary of Tunisia.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Heper, Metin (2002)
Historical dictionary of Turkey.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Pazzanita, Anthony G.; Hodges, Tony (1994)
Historical dictionary of Western Sahara.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
Burrowes, Robert D. (1995)
Historical dictionary of Yemen.
Lanham, MD. : Scarecrow Press
Check availability @ Duke
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified March 14, 2012 11:31:58 AM EDT