Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Military History Subject Guide

Dictionaries

Google-  Most  terms, abbreviations and acronyms can be identified in Google-  beware of the authority of sources.

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary. Detroit: Gale Research, 1984- . (Ref. Desk P365 .A282 --Latest in Perkins Reference-  also in Lilly Reference)

Carman, W. Y. A Dictionary of Military Uniform. New York: Scribner, 1977. (Ref.  UC480 .C27 1977b )

 Cutler, Deborah W.,  Dictionary of Naval Abbreviations. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press, 2005. (V23 .C86 2005 )

Dictionary of Military Terms. Comp. by Richard Bowyer. London : Peter Collin,  2002. (Ref. U24 .B699 2002 )

DOD Dictionary of Military Terms.

The Hutchinson Dictionary of Ancient & Medieval Warfare. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998. (Ref. D25.A2 H88 1998 )

Jane's Defence Glossary. [". . . over 20,000 defence-related acronyms and abbreviations."]

Jane's Dictionary of Military Terms. Comp. by P. H. C. Hayward. London: Macdonald & Jane's, 1975.  (Library Service Center 355.03 H427J)

Jane's Dictionary of Naval Terms. Comp. by Joseph Palmer. London: Macdonald and Jane's, 1975.        (Ref. 359.03 J33)

Kayyali, Maher S. [I‘dad Mahir al-Kayyali].  Modern Military Dictionary: English-Arabic, Arabic-English  [Qamus al-‘askari al-Hadith : ‘Arabi-Injilizi, Injilizi-‘Arabi ]. New York : Hippocrene Books, 1991.  (Ref. U25 .K39 1991 )

Noel, John Vavasour. Naval Terms Dictionary. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press, 1988. (Ref.   V23 .N6 1988 )

Quick, John. Dictionary of Weapons and Military Terms. N.Y.: McGraw-Hill, 1973. (Ref.  355.03 qQ6D)

Scott, B. K. C. Dictionary of Military Abbreviations: British-Empire-Commonwealth. Hastings, East Sussex: Tamarisk Books, 1982. (355. 00148 S425 D554 1982)

U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff. Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms (Incorporating the NATO and IADB Dictionaries). Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1986. (DOCS  D5.12:1/986). See also the Joint Chiefs' A Dictionary of United States Military Terms, 1966 ( Library Service Center 355.03 U58P)

Additional dictionaries of terms, abbreviations, etc. (e.g., the Vocabulary of German Military Terms and Abbreviations [355.03 G786VA]) can be identified in the bibliographies and guides to the literature and in the catalog, using subject headings such as:

Military art and science--Abbreviations
Military art and science--Dictionaries
Battles and Wars

 (See also Resources by Country and Resources for Selected 20th Century Conflicts )

Eggenberger, David. An Encyclopedia  of Battles. N.Y.: Dover, 1985. (Ref. 904.7  E29D)

Harbottle, Thomas B. Dictionary of Battles. Rev. and updated by George Bruce. N.Y.: Stein and Day, 1971.  (904.7 H255 D554 1981; also Lilly Ref.)

Kohn, George S. Dictionary of Wars. New York: Facts on File, 1999. (Ref. D25.A2 K63 1999  also in Lilly Ref. 355.009 K79.D554.1999)

Laffin, John. Brassey's Battles: 3,500 Years of Conflict, Campaigns and Wars from A-Z. London: Brassey's, 1986. (Ref. D25.A2 L23 1986 )

Luttwak, Edward and Stuart Koehl. A Dictionary of Modern War. N.Y.: HarperCollins, 1991. (LSC  355.003 L974 D554 1991)

Newell, Clayton R. Historical Dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998. (Ref. DS79.72 .N48 1998 Also in Lilly Ref. 956.7044203 N544 H673 1998)

Roth, Mitchel P. Historical Dictionary of War Journalism. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. (Ref. PN4784.W37 R68 1997 )

Calvert, Michael with Peter Young. A Dictionary of Battles: 1715-1815. New York: Mayflower Books, 1979. ( 904.7 C167 D554 1979)
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified August 2, 2007 2:27:26 PM EDT