Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Military History Subject Guide

Encyclopedias

Air Warfare: An International Encyclopedia. Ed. by Walter J. Boyne.  2 v. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002.(Ref. UG628 .A73 2002 )

Brogan, Patrick.  World Conflicts.  Lanham, Md.:  Scarecrow Press, 1998. (Ref. D842 .B69 1998b )

The Complete Encyclopedia of Arms & Weapons. Ed. by Leonid Tarassuk and Claude Blair. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1982. (Ref. U815 .E5313 1982 )

Davis, Paul K.  Besieged: An Encyclopedia of Great Sieges from Ancient Times to the Present.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001.  (Ref. D25.5 .D32 2001 )

Diagram Group. Weapons, An International Encyclopedia from 5000 B.C. to 2000 A.D. New York: St. Martin's, 1990. (U800 .W39 1990 )

Dupuy, R. Ernest and Trevor N. Dupuy. The Harper Encyclopedia of Military History from 3500 B.C. to the Present. 4th ed. New York: HarperCollins, 1993. (Ref. D25 .D86 1993 )

The Encyclopedia of Handheld Weapons.  Ed. by James Marchington. London: Brassey's, 2002.  (Ref. U815 .E539 2002 )

Encyclopedia of War and Ethics. Ed. by Donald A. Wells. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1996. (Ref. B105.W3 E53 1996 )

Farwell, Byron.  The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Land Warfare: An Illustrated World View.  New York:  W.W. Norton, 2001. (Ref. D361 .F34 2001 )

Ground Warfare:  An International Encyclopedia.  Ed. by Stanley Sandler. 3 v.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002.  (Ref. D25.A2 S26 2002 )

Handbook of the Sociology of the Military.  Ed. by Giuseppe Caforio.  New York:  Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 2003.  (306.27 H236 2003)

Hastedt, Glenn P.  Espionage:  A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003.  (Ref. JF1525.I6 H36 2003 )

Hogg, Ian V. The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Vehicles. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1980. (q358.1809 H716 I29 1980)

International Military and Defense Encyclopedia. 6v. Washington: Brassey's (US), 1993. (Ref. U24 .I58 1993 )

Mauroni, Albert J.  Chemical and Biological Warfare: A Reference Handbook.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003.  (Ref. UG447.8 .M33 2003 )

Naval Warfare: An International Encyclopedia.  Ed. by Spencer C. Tucker.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002.  (Ref. V23 .N32 2002 )

The Oxford Companion to Military History.  Ed. by Richard Holmes. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.  (Ref.  D25.A2 O94 2001  Lilly Reference 355.00903 O98 2001)   also  avaiable online through Oxford Reference Online

Wragg, David W.  Jane's Air Forces of the World:  The History and Composition of the World's Air Forces.  London:  Collins, 2003.  (Ref. UG630 .W734 2003 )