Web Site Search

Ask us now

Researching North Carolina History

Resources Available at Duke University Libraries

Searching the CatalogFlag of North Carolina

The catalog provides bibliographic information on the majority of holdings in the Duke University Libraries.

  • Searching by Subject
    Materials in the catalog are organized using Library of Congress Subject headings.

    • With subject searching, a good place to begin is with variations on the heading that begins with North Carolina - History. For example: North Carolina - History - 1775-1865. (LC)

    • There are many subject categories that can be combined with North Carolina to provide more specific references. For example: North Carolina - Education. (LC) or North Carolina - Politics and Government. (LC)

    • See Perkins or Lilly Library Reference for the multi-volume Library of Congress Subject Headings for other possible subject headings.

    • There are certain holdings that are not represented completely in the catalog. They are: microforms, materials from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, federal documents, and the University Archives. If you  need assistance in identifying the libraries' holdings in these areas please ask a reference librarian.

Atlases, Maps, & Gazetteers

Bibliographies, Biographies, & Book Reviews

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Directories

Genealogy Resources & Primary Resources

Government Documents

Periodical/Newspaper Indexes & Databases

Statistics

Other Collections

Help

For assistance in finding additional resources, please consult a reference librarian at Perkins or Lilly libraries.