Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Researching North Carolina History

Bibliographies, Biographies, & Book Reviews

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are a good place to begin the identification of resources for research topics.  The following is a selection of bibliographies covering North Carolina history:

To search for additional bibliographies, you can search by subject heading in the catalog.  In subject searching, look for the sub-heading bibliography.  For example, North Carolina – History – Bibliography.  

Biographies

The following is a selected list of biographical resources that may be useful for North Carolina historical research:

  • Powell, William.  Dictionary of North Carolina Biography.  Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1979-1996. 
    Perkins Reference CT252 .D5 1979.  Also held by Lilly, Law, Medical Center & Special Collections.

In the catalog, biographical sources can also be identified either through individual or family names or by using the subdivision biography with an appropriate subject heading. For example, you can use Women – North Carolina -- Biography. In keyword searching, use the term biography in your search statement.

For additional resources, see the Biographical Resources reference page.

Book Reviews

  • The North Carolina Historical Review [serial]. Raleigh: North Carolina Historical Commission, 1924-
    Perkins Periodicals  N873R
    The North Carolina Historical Review covers North Carolina and southern history from the colonial period to the present. Each issue also features numerous reviews of recent books about state, regional, and national history. The NCHR is published quarterly.  It is possible to view the table of contents and book reviews for archived issues of the North Carolina Historical Review. 

Help

For assistance in finding additional resources, please consult a reference librarian at Perkins or Lilly libraries.