Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Researching North Carolina History

Other Collections

North Carolina Office of Archives & History
A service of the NC Department of Cultural Resources, the NC Office of Archives & History's mission is "to collect,  preserve, and utilize the state's historic resources so that present and future residents may better understand their history."  The North Carolina State Archives is part of the Office of Archives and History.  The primary functions of this branch include collecting, preserving, and providing materials relating to North Carolina to the public.  According to the State Archives website, "materials in the State Archives constitute by far the most valuable assembly of manuscript records and North Caroliniana in existence."

School of Government
The School of Government at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's mission is "to improve the lives of North Carolinians through engaged scholarship that helps public officials understand and improve state and local government."

The North Carolina Collection, Durham County Library
The Durham County Library’s NCC houses Durham-related materials as well as resources about North Carolina as a whole. 

The North Carolina Collection, UNC-Chapel Hill
"The North Carolina Collection preserves an incomparable assemblage of literary, visual, and artifactual materials illustrating four centuries of the colony and state of North Carolina." Housed in the Louis Round Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, "today more than 120,000 books and 78,000 pamphlets form the core of the North Carolina Collection, but these formats are supplemented by newspapers, journals, maps, broadsides, photographs, audiovisuals, microforms, and other materials."

The State Library
"The library acquires materials that support the work of North Carolina government agencies and provides access to information resources that are vital to economic development and public decision-making. An extensive and up-to-date reference collection supplies universal coverage and is designed to meet general and specialized information needs.  Electronic access to thousands of databases is available through NCLIVE, in-house CD-ROMs, commercial online products and the Internet.  As the official depository for state government publications and as a partial depository for federal documents, the library is an excellent source for information disseminated by government agencies."

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified October 4, 2007 11:04:33 AM EDT