Duke Libraries

Ask us now

North Carolina Community Newspapers

Web Resources

All of these newspapers have at least latest issue coverage, sometimes limited to stories of local interest.

Archival access varies greatly. Below are the dates of articles that are available online. Guidelines for access to back issues are included, but coverage may change without notice.

Many of these sites also serve as gateways to local community information, reference resources, and news from other sources.

For newspapers from colleges or universities within the states, see North Carolina college newspapers.


Newspapers are arranged alphabetically by originating city or county.

- A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - W - Y - Z -


- A -

Allegheny News, Sparta
1999-present

Andrews Journal
Latest Issue only

Anson County Express
2001-present

Anson Record
2003-present

Asheboro Courier-Tribune
2000-present

Asheville Citizen-Times
Latest year only

Asheville Mountain Xpress
Latest year only

- Back to top -

- B -

Black Mountain News
2002-present 

Bladen County Journal, Elizabethtown
2002-present 

Blowing Rock Blowing Rocket
November 18, 2004-present

Boone Mountain Times
January 2, 2003-present 

Boone Watauga Democrat
2000-present

Brunswick County Beacon, Shallotte
2004-present

Bryson City Smokey Mountain Times
2004-present

Burlington Times-News
Latest issue only

- Back to top -

- C -

Camp Lejeune Globe
2006-present

Carrboro Citizen
February 2007-present

Carolina Beach Island Gazette
2004-present

Carteret County News-Times
Latest issue only

Cary News
2005-present

Cashiers Crossroads Chronicle
2004-present

Chapel Hill News
May 2000-present

Charlotte Business Journal
1996-present

Charlotte Creative Loafing
2000-present

Charlotte La Noticia
Latest issue only

Charlotte Observer
1985-present

Charlotte Post
1999-present 

Chatham Journal, Pittsboro
Select archive from 1997-present

Chatham News (Chatham Record)
October 9, 2003-present

Clayton News-Star
Headline articles from 2002-present

Clemmons Courier
210 days- present

Cleveland Post
2007-present

Concord & Kannapolis Independent Tribune
Latest issue with one month archive

- Back to top -

- D -

Davie County Enterprise Record
210 days- present

Denton Orator
Latest issue only

Dunn Daily Record
December 1999-present

Durham Herald-Sun
Latest issue (backfile 1995-present free to subscribers)

Durham Independent
2000-present

- Back to top -

- E -

Eden Daily News
2000-present 

Elizabeth City Daily Advance
Latest issue with one month archive

Elizabethtown Bladen Journal
March 2002-present

Enterprise Mountaineer, Waynesville
2002-present

- Back to top -

- F -

Fayetteville Observer-Times
1988-present (free for subscribers)

Fayetteville Up & Coming Magazine
1999- present 

Forest City Digital Courier
2002-present 

Franklin Macon County News
September 2003-present 

Franklin Press
2004-present

Fuquay-Varina Independent
2005-present

- Back to top

- G -

Garner News
Free search of past 2 weeks, older archives require a fee

Gastonia Gaston Gazette
Last 4 years-present (free for subscribers)

Goldsboro News-Argus
2004-present

Greensboro Carolina Peacemaker
Latest issue and past few months

Greensboro News and Record
1990-present 

Greensboro Rhinoceros Times
2005-present 

Greenville Daily Record
2001-present 

- Back to top -

- H -

Havelock News
Latest issue only

Henderson Daily Dispatch
2002-present 

Hendersonville Times-News
  Latest issue and select articles from previous day 

Hickory Daily Record
2000-present 

High Point Enterprise
Selective coverage of latest issue and past 3 months, except weekends

Highlands Highlander
2004-present 

Holly Springs Sun
Small archive at the Fuquay-Varina Independent site.

Hillsborough News of Orange County
July 2003-present 

Huntersville Herald
2003-present 

- Back to top -

- I -

Independent
2000-present

- Back to top -

- J -

Jacksonville Daily News
Select articles from June 2001-present

Jamestown News
April 11, 2003-present

Jefferson Post
Latest issue with one month archive

- Back to top -

- K -

Kenly News
February 2007-present

Kernersville News
Top stories from latest issue only

Kinston Free Press
April 18, 2002-present

Knightdale Eastern Wake News
Latest issue with select articles from September 2006-present

- Back to top -

- L -

Lake Gaston Gazette
Top stories from latest issue only (subscribers get full e-edition) 

Lake Norman Times
April 19, 2006-present

Laurinburg Exchange
Latest issue with one month archive

Lenoir News-Topic
2001-present

Lexington Dispatch
1997-present

Lincolnton Lincoln News-Times
10/2001-present

Lumberton Robesonian
Latest issue only.  Archives require a fee.

- Back to top -

- M -

McDowell News
Latest issue with one month archive

Mebane Enterprise
2007-present

Mitchell News-Journal
December 31, 2003-present

Monroe Enquirer-Journal
2002-present

Mooresville Tribune
Latest issue with three month archive

Morganton News Herald
Latest issue with one month archive

Mount Olive Tribune
October 1999-present

Murphy Cherokee Scout
May 2007-present

- Back to top -

- N -

Nags Head Outer Banks Sentinel
May 20, 2000-present

New Bern Sun Journal
2002-present

Newton Observer News Enterprise
Latest issue only

North Wilkesboro Record
November 1999-present

- Back to top -

- O -

Oakridge Northwest Observer
Latest issue only

- Back to top -

- P -

Pamilco News
December 2002 (and growing)-present

Pittsboro Chatham Journal
Selected archive from 12/1997-present

Princeton News Leader
Latest issue and one month archive

- Back to top -

- Q -

Que Pasa
Latest issue about NC Hispanic Community news

- Back to top -

- R -

Raeford News-Journal
Top stories from latest issue only

Reidsville Review
Select stories from September 2007-present

Raleigh News and Observer
July 1990-present

Roanoke-Chowan News Herald
July 2003-present

Richmond County Daily Journal
January 2003-present

Robbinsville Graham Star
Top stories from the latest issue only

Roanoke Rapids Daily Herald
Latest two issues only

Rocky Mount Telegram
Latest issue plus select archive from 2001

Roxboro Courier-Times
Top stories from May 2007-present

- Back to top -

- S -

Salisbury Post
November 1998-present

Sanford Herald
Select articles from March 26, 2006-present

Shelby Star
August 2002-present

Shelby Shopper/Cleveland Observer
Top stories from the latest month only

South Hill Enterprise
Select articles from July 2003-present

Smithfield Herald
Select articles from latest month only

Southport State Port Pilot
Latest issue only

Southern Pines Pilot
June 199-present

Spruce Pine Mitchell News-Journal
December 31, 2003-present

Sparta Alleghany News
1999-present

Swansboro Tideland News
Select articles from latest issue only

Statesville Record & Landmark
Latest issue with select articles from past two months

Sylvia Herald
September 30, 1999-present

- Back to top -

- T -

Tarboro Daily Southerner
Latest issue with select articles from 2001

Taylorsville Times
Latest issue only

Thomasville Times
Latest issue with archive from last 210 days

Topsail Voice
Top stories from latest issue only

Triangle Business Journal
1996-present

Tryon Daily Bulletin
Latest issue only

- Back to top -

- W -

Wadesboro Express
December 2001-present

Warrenton Warren Road
July 2003-present

Wake Weekly
January 2002-present

Washington Daily News
January 2003-present

Wayne-Wilson News Leader
Latest issue and one month archive

Waynesville Mountaineer
2004-present

Waynesville Smoky Mountain News
Latest issue only

Wendell Eastern Wake News
Latest issue with select articles from September 2006-present

Whiteville News Reporter
April 2004-present

Wilmington Journal
Latest issue with three month archive

Wilmington Star-News
Latest issue only with yesterday's most read articles

Winston-Salem Chronicle
Latest issue only

Winston-Salem Journal
Latest issue with previous day's issue.

Wrightsville Beach Lumina
November 21, 2006-present

- Back to top -

- Y -

Yancyville Caswell Messenger
Latest issue only

- Back to top -

- Z -

Zebulon Eastern Wake News
Latest issue with select articles from September 2006-present

- Back to top


Table of Contents

  • North Carolina Community Newspapers on the Web

Contact Subject Librarian


Last modified October 25, 2007 11:50:18 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870