The following indexes are arranged alphabetically by country, then by title.
Australia
Australian Public Affairs Information Sources (APAIS)
Canberra: National Library of Australia, 1945-present.
Coverage: Scholarly periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities published in Australian journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, and some overseas publications.
Arrangement: By subject.
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1945-to date of this index and the following newspapers:The Age (Melbourne): 1854-1912
1962-to dateAustralian Financial Review (Sydney): 1951-to date
Austria
See Germany.
Bulgaria
Letopis Na Periodichnii Pechat
Sofia: Bulgarski bibliografski institute, 1952-1971. Monthly.
Coverage: Journals and newspapers.
Arrangement: By subject and author.
Location: LSC
Call Number: z059.9181 L649P
Holdings: v. 2 (1953)-v. 20 (1971)
Canada
Canadian Newspaper Index
Toronto: Micromedia, 1977-1979. Continued by Canadian News Index. Toronto: Micromedia, 1980-1992.
Coverage: Seven major Canadian newspapers
Arrangement: By subject and personal name
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1977-to date of this index and the following newspapers:The Globe and Mail (Toronto): 1844-to date (microfilm: S118
The Montreal Gazette: 1785-1877
1949-to date (microfilm: S144)
The Vancouver Sun: 1981-to date (microfilm: S179a)
The Winnipeg Free Press: 1874-1944
1962-to date (microfilm: S185)
Denmark
Avis Kronik Index
Copenhagen: E. Munksgaard, 1940-1978.
Coverage: Approximately 30 Danish newspapers
Arrangement: By subject
Call Number: z078.9 A958
Holdings: v. 25 (1964)-v. 39 (1978)
Dansk Artikelindeks
Copenhagen: E. Munksgaard, 1979-1992
Coverage: 18 Danish newspapers and approximately 800 periodicals.
Arrangement: By subject and author
Call Number: 011.34 D191 A791x
Holdings: 1979-1985
France
Le Monde. Index Analytique.
Paris: Le Monde, 1944-1968, 1981-present.
Coverage: Le Monde
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1944-1949
1951
1965-1968
1988-to date as well as the newspaper:Le Monde: 1945-to date
BIPA: A Database of Current Affairs in France
1981-May 1988
Coverage: Twelve major French newspapers and approximately 35 journals.
Arrangement: 1) an index to the French Press
2) a bibliography of official publications
3) an index to official and other political statements
4) an index to, and full text of, presidential and governmental communiques
5) a chronological listing of important events in France
Location: Perkins Reference Department
Call Number: q016.944 B616 S485
Holdings: Library has the entire index and the following newspapers:Le Monde: 1945-to date
L'Humanite: 1904-to date (microfilm: S132)
Le Temps. Tables du Journal
Paris: CNRS, 1966-?
Coverage: Le Temps
Arrangement: By subject, within broad geographical sections
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1861-1900 and the following newspaper:Le Temps: 1861-1900
Germany
Monatliches Verzeichnis von Aufsatzen aus deutschen Zeitungen
Osnabruck: F. Deitrich, 1908-1944. (Beilage, or supplement to Bibliographie der Deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur).
Coverage: German and Austrian newspapers
Arrangement: By subject and author
Call Number: 053 B582
Holdings: Bd. 1 (1908)-Bd. 31 (1944)
Zeitungs Index
Munich: K.G. Saur, 1976-to date
Coverage: German-language newspapers
Arrangement: By subject
Location: L2 Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks
Call Number: AI9 .Z44
Holdings: 1976-1991, 1993-1994, 1999, 2003 of the index and the following newspapers:Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung: 1953-to date (microfilm: S117)
Neues Deutschland: 1946-1950
Die Welt: 1973-to date (microfilm: S183)
Die Zeit: 1946-to date (microfilm: S191, S191A)
Great Britain
British Humanities Index
Coverage: Observer, The Times, The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph -- selectively.
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1962-present
Glasgow Herald. Index.
Glasgow: G. Outram, 1915, 1928-1937, 1942-1947, 1949-1963.
Coverage: The Glasgow Herald
Arrangement: By subject.
Call Number: 079.41 G548I
Pall Mall Gazette. Index...
London
Coverage: The Pall Mall Gazette
Arrangement: By subject
Call Number: f072 P164G
Holdings: the following newspapers:Pall Mall Gazette: incomplete holdings for 1865-1888 on microfilm and 1884-1893 in bound volumes (1890 is incomplete).
The Times Index, 1785-1790
6 volumes
Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper, 1790-1905
The Times (London)
The Times Index
London
Coverage: The Times and various Times supplements
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1906-to date and the following newspapers:The Sunday Times: 1880-to date (microfilm: S169)
The Times: 1785-to date (microfilm: S172)
The Times Educational Supplement: 1910-to date (microfilm: S95)
The Times Higher Educational Supplement: 1971-to date (microfilm: S96)
The Times Literary Supplement: 1902-to date (microfilm: S97)
India
Guide to Indian Periodical Literature
Gurgaon: Prabhu Book Service, 1963-to date
Coverage: The Times of India and five other newspapers, as well as 400 humanities/social science periodicals.
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: Perkins Library has the following newspapers:The Times of India: 1964-to date (microfilm: S173)
Hindustan Times: 1963-to date (microfilm S126)
Indian Press Index
Delhi: Delhi Library Association, 1968-1986
Coverage: Approximately 26 English-language newspapers published in India. (Arrives about 4 years late)
Arrangement: By subject and author
Call Number: 079.54 I39P
Holdings: Perkins Library has the following newspapers:The Hindu: 1986-to date
Hindustan Times: 1963-to date (microfilm: S126)
The Statesman: 1963-to date
The Times of India: 1964-to date (microfilm: S173)
The Times of India Index, 1973-1979
Call Number: 079.54792 T583
Netherlands
Nijhoff's Index op de Nederlandse Periodieken van Algemenen Inhound
'sGravenhage: Nijhoff, 1909-1970
Coverage: Periodicals and a few newspapers
Arrangement: By subject and author
Location: LSC
Call Number: 053.93 N691
Holdings: v. 1 (Sept. 1909)-v. 60 (Dec. 1970)
Pakistan
Dawn Index
Karachi: Documentation and Information Bureau, 1965-1966
Coverage: Dawn
Arrangement: By subject
Call Number: 079.5491 qD271
Holdings: Perkins Library has the following newspapers:Dawn: 1951-to present
Spain
Indice del Ano
El Pais. 1987-1996
Coverage: Indexes El Pais (Madrid).
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Holdings: 1984
1987
1989-to date
Sweden
Svenska Tidningsartiklar
Lund: Bibliotekstjarst, 1953-to date
Coverage: Several Swedish newspapers
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Bound Periodicals -- Perkins Level D
Call Number: S968T
Holdings: v. 2 (1954)-to date
Note: Comes about two years late
USSR
Index to Pravda
Columbus, Ohio: American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies, 1975-1977
Coverage: Pravda
Call Number: 077 P918ZI
Letopis Gazetnykh Statei
Moscow: Komitet po Fechati Soveti Ministrov, 1959-1965, 1966 (nos. 1-4, 6-12), 1967-1986, 1987 (nos. 1-10, 34)-to date
Coverage: Soviet newspapers
Arrangement: By subject
Call Number: 077 L649
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.