Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Newspaper Indexes

Selected Foreign News Digests

The digests below are listed alphabetically by title.

Selected News Digests

Asian Recorder
New Delhi: Recorder Press, 1955-

Coverage: Synopses of major news events in  Asia
Arrangement: Alphabetically by country and subject
Call Number: 960.05  A832  (Latest in Reference)
Note: Runs about two years late

Canadian News Facts: the Indexed Digest of Canadian Current Events
Toronto: Marpep, 1967-

Coverage: Canada
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 909.82  qC212

Current Digest of the Soviet Press
Washington: Joint Committee on Slavic Studies, 1949-to date

Coverage: Full or partial translations of articles taken from Soviet newspapers and periodicals.  Through 1973, each issue included a complete weekly index to Pravda and Izvestiia.
Location: Bound Periodicals, Perkins Level B
Call Number: C976S

Newspapers:

Ekonomichkia Gazeta: 1980-to date
Izvestiia: 1917-to date
Komsomolskaia Pravda: 1928-1955
                                                    1962-to date
Pravda: 1917
                  1921-to date
Trud: 1921-1952
              1962-to date

Note: Current Digest of the Soviet Press is indexed by PAIS Bulletin as well as by Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Quarterly Index, 1949-1975 (Newspaper Index Area, Bostock 1) and CDSP Index, 1975-to date (Newspaper Index Area, Bostock 1).

Facts on File: World News Digest with Index
New York, 1940-

Coverage: News events around the world
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 909.82  F142A

Foreign Broadcast Information Daily Report Series (FBIS)

Coverage: Sections for most areas of the world, except the United Kingdom, the United States and Canada.  Daily Reports are published five times a week and arrive in the Documents Department about a week to ten days after publication.  Back-files are kept on microfiche, also in the Documents Department.  FBIS is the most current news digest in the Library.
Arrangement: By country and then by subject
Location: Public Documents Department, Bostock 3

Keesing's Contemporary Archives
London, 1931-

Coverage: News events around the world, but from a British viewpoint.
Arrangement: By subject
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 909.82  K26

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 29, 2007 7:40:10 PM EST