Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Newspaper Indexes

North American Collective Indexes

These sources index more than one newspaper in a single subject line.  National Newspaper Index is available in several formats: on microfilm it provides three years of coverage of the New York Times, the Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and the Wall Street Journal.  When retired from the active microfilm index, the information is transferred to a microfiche index, which is located in the Reference Department in Perkins Library.  The index started in 1979.  Online searching via DIALOG or BRS covers the complete file back to 1979 (L.A. and D.C. papers added in 1982).  By combining terms, which may also be limited by date, author, newspaper, etc., one might retrieve results more precisely or retrieve citations which were not located by simple subject access.

Canadian News Index
1980-1982, 1984-1992

A monthly index with annual cumulations.  Covers the Calgary Herald, Toronto Globe and Mail, Halifax Chronicle Herald, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star, Vancouver Sun, and the Winnipeg Free Press.  The subject index covers governmental and corporation names, while individuals appear in the personal  name section.  References are arranged chronologically.  Online searching for articles appearing since 1981 is available on DIALOG.

Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 016.0711  C313x

Index to Black Newspapers
1977-1986

Quarterly index compiled from the final editions of a varying set of Black newspapers.  The index covers local, regional, state, national and international news.  Includes subject and personal name index.  Newspapers indexed currently are:

Afro-American (National Edition)
American Muslim Journal (Chicago)
Amsterdam News (New York)
Call & Post (Cleveland)
Chicago Defender
Daily World (Atlanta)
Journal & Guide (Norfolk)
Michigan Chronicle (Detroit)
Sentinel (Los Angeles)

Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q071.3  I38x

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 29, 2007 7:51:35 PM EST