Current North American Newspaper Indexes
Indexes are arranged alphabetically by state, then by title.
California
Los Angeles Times Index
1972-Monthly index with quarterly and annual cumulations. Includes subject and personal name index. Included in the National Newspaper Index (1982-) on microfilm and online.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q071 N558 L879x
District of Columbia
Washington Post Index
1972-Monthly index with annual cumulations. Includes subject and personal name index. Included in the National Newspaper Index (1982-) on microfilm and online. Full text (April 1983-) available on Vu/Text and on DIALOG.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q017 O32 W319x
Georgia
The Atlanta Constitution: A Georgia Index
1971-Annual. Indexes news relating to Georgia and, to a lesser extent, the southeastern region of the U.S.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 071.58231 A881 J86x
Illinois
Chicago Tribune Index
1972-Monthly index with quarterly and annual cumulations. Includes subject and personal name index. Full text searching (1985-) is available on Vu/Text.
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Call Number: R071 C532
Louisiana
New Orleans Times Picayune Index
1987-Monthly index with quarterly and annual cumulations. Includes subject and personal name index.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q071 N558 N532x
Massachusetts
Christian Science Monitor, Index
1945-Monthly index with annual and triennial cumulations. Includes subject and personal name index. Included in the National Newspaper Index (1979-) on microfilm and online.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q071.446 C555C
New York
New York Times Index
1851-A subject index which gives reference to date, page and column with many cross references to names and other topics.. Brief synopses of articles answer some questions without reference to the paper itself. Included in the National Newspaper Index on microfilm and online, using an entirely different indexing system.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q071.747 N567IWall Street Journal Index
1955-Monthly index with annual cumulations. Includes separate corporate and general news indexes. Articles can be located by corporate name or by general subject. An additional section indexes Barron's, also published by Dow Jones. The WSJ is included in the National Newspaper Index (1982-) on microfilm and online; DowJones/News Retrieval allows full text searching online.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 071.47 W187I
North Carolina
Charlotte Observer Index
1980-Covers the news about the Carolinas, especially Charlotte, NC. Personal names and subjects combined in one alphabetically index. Full text searching is available on Vu/Text, beginning with July 1985.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: q071.5676 C479 014xDurham Morning Herald. Index
1980-An index to Duke, Durham and the Research Triangle Area by topic or personal name. Some references to the Durham Sun are included.
Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Call Number: A121 .D85 (1930-1969)
PN4899 .D87 D874 1985 (1970-May 1981)
A121 .D874 (June 1981-Feb. 1990)News and Observer (Raleigh, NC), Index
1967-Location: Newspaper Index Area - Bostock 1
Call Number: 071.56551 N558x
Holdings: 1967-1973 -- Printed Index
1974, 1977-1981, 1988 -- Microfiche in folder next to print index.
Virginia
USA Today
1986-Monthly, with quarterly and annual cumulations. Indexed by subject and personal name.
Location: Perkins Reference
Call Number: 017.55 B433 H859x
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.