Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Newspaper Indexes

North American Newspapers Online

National Newspaper Index, with the update Newsearch, is available via several database vendors such as DIALOG and BRS.  Coverage begins with 1979 indexing.  Whereas the microfilm version is limited to access by one subject term, online searching allows retrieval sets obtained with multiple parameters.  Newspapers covered are the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and since 1982, the Washington Post and the Los Angeles Times.  The companion Newsearch is updated daily and covers only the current month.

Vu/Text is a database vendor which provides access to the full text of over 25 daily U.S. newspapers, including the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, the Boston Globe, the Detroit Free Press, and the Philadelphia Inquirer.  Searching with a combination of words (which may be limited to specific sections, such as sports or the business news) allows one to identify small articles about regional companies or personal names found in the society column.  This service includes many newspapers not available at Duke.  New papers are being added each year.  Vu/Text also carries full texts of news services, such as the Associated Press, and public relations releases on the PR Newswire and Mediawire.  Foreign newspapers (Financial Times, Asahi News Service, TASS, the Guardian, BBC) are available through the World Reporter system.

Ask at the Reference Desk for a complete and current list of newspapers and wire services (AP, UPI) which can be searched online.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 29, 2007 7:59:42 PM EST