Duke Libraries

Ask us now

North Carolina State Documents

North Carolina State Web Links


Pekins Library is a North Carolina State Documents Depository.

North Carolina State Web Links

[ Reference | Statistics | Jobs | Education | State Government | Localities | Durham Area Information]
[ Official North Carolina State Government Home Page ]


Reference and General Information

Ayudate
This bilingual site is sponsored by the NC Governor's Office for Latino/Hispanic Affairs, NC Cooperative Extension Service, and El Pueblo, Inc., with funds from USDA. It assists newcomers to North Carolina with education, housing, health care, driver's and emergency information, and links to various organizations. It is also the site for the NC AgrAbility program to aid farmers with disabilities.
County Profiles
Overviews of each North Carolina county, including some basic statistics, from the Department of Commerce.
FIND NC
Provides a way to search all North Carolina state government Web pages and NC GILS indexes. From the State Library of North Carolina.
Institute of Government
At the University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill.
North Carolina Community Newspapers
Links to North Carolina newspapers whose full text is available online.  Some may provide only recent issues or selected stories.
North Carolina eNCyclopedia
Almanac-type information (history, etc.) brought to you by the State Library
North Carolina Periodicals Index
Produced at East Carolina University, this index covers selective articles in North Carolina periodicals, most of which aren't indexed in standard reference books. More information about the index, including the titles covered, is available at the web site.
North Carolina State Government Capitol City Area Telephone Directory
Searchable by name, or use the alphabetical or departmental listings.  E-mail directory also linked.
State Library of North Carolina
Part of the Department of Cultural Resources.

Links to North Carolina information:

Cultural

Local Legacies
Members of Congress nominated local events representing traditional community life, to be included in the Library of Congress' American Folklife Center. Here is a list of North Carolina's local legacies, with links to their websites.
NC African American Culture Tour
A current awareness site for cultural events and exhibits, with resources for oral history and links to African American research tools. Sponsored by North Carolina Arts Council and St. Joseph's Historic Foundation Inc.

Statistics

[ General | Agriculture | Crime | Demographics | Economics/Employment | Elections | Health]

General Statistics

 
Department of Commerce
Links to economic, demographic, policy and research, labor and travel data.
LINC (Log Into North Carolina)
Ready-made tables or choose your own for historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030, covering the state, county, municipality, and local levels; subjects include census, law enforcement, environment, transportation, and others.
State Data Center
The North Carolina State Data Center is a consortium of state and local agencies that provides information and data about the State and its component geographic areas.
State Library of North Carolina
Links to both demographic and economic data on North Carolina.
Statistical Information and Directories for North Carolina State & Local Government
Extensive list of links to statistical information on NC, by subject. Compiled by Alex Hess of the Institute of Government at UNC.

Agricultural Statistics

Agricultural Statistics Service
Census of Agriculture; crops; livestock, poultry and dairy; county estimates of commodities; economic statistics like prices and farm labor; links to other reports and national data.

Crime Statistics

Crime Statistics from the State Bureau of Investigation
Includes the Crime in North Carolina reports beginning in 1995 and some other data back to 1993.

Demographic Data (Population, Race, Age, etc.)

Census Information
From the North Carolina State Data Center. Includes Census 2000 figures as they are released, block and voting district maps, helpful links.
NC Boomers at Mid-life
The North Carolina Division of Aging sponsored three regional forums on North Carolina's two million Baby Boomers at mid-life in May 1998. This site gathers links to reports, useful information for boomers, and other links about this generation and aging in general.
State Demographics
From a unit of the Office of State Budget and Management. By county and municipality.

Economics/Employment/Unemployment/Labor Statistics

Economic Profile of North Carolina
From the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond.
Civilian Labor Force Estimates
From the Employment Security Commission. Broken down various ways, with some data going back to 1990.
Occupational Employment and Wages in North Carolina
From the Employment Security Commission.  Data are available for 2001 to the present.

Election Results/Voter Information

North Carolina State Board of Elections
Links to results, voter registration, candidates in the current election; see "related links" for geographic representation and non-partisan voter information organizations.
Durham Herald-Sun Votebook
See also from these pages: Durham Media
North Carolina Redistricting
Includes data relating to voting districts and precincts.

Health

North Carolina Center for Health Statistics
Provides vital statistics (births, deaths, causes of death, infant mortality rates), cancer incidence. See Vital Facts for marriages, divorces, and even the most popular baby names.

Jobs

North Carolina State Government Job Vacancies
Collected from the Office of State Personnel.
Employment Security Commission
 

Education

Carolina Abecedarian Project
A scientific study of the potential benefits of early childhood education for poor children, sponsored by state and federal agencies, and carried out at the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Center at UNC-Chapel Hill.
Department of Public Instruction

North Carolina Community College System

University of North Carolina General Administration
Information on the entire University of North Carolina system (16 campuses).
 
 

North Carolina State Government

[ Official North Carolina State Government Home Page ]

Executive Branch

The following is an abbreviated list. For a more complete list of North Carolina state agencies, please see the agency listing on the official North Carolina State Government web site.

Legislative Branch (General Assembly)

House
Senate
North Carolina Redistricting
Data relating to voting districts and precincts.

Judicial Branch

Location guide to major North Carolina legal materials at Duke (statutory, regulatory, and case law).


North Carolina Localities

Major Cities and Counties:

The first link listed is the "official" government page if available. Counties are listed under their main cities.

Lists of city links:

NCINFO from the Institute of Government at the University of North Carolina
NC Neighbors lists local nonprofit organizations and events.
World Chambers Network Search the index for North Carolina Chambers of Commerce.

 
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified December 18, 2011 6:02:48 PM EST