Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page
Recent Arrivals
Click here to search in the
catalog for these books in the New & Noteworthy Collection.

Reading for Fun

New & Noteworthy

The New & Noteworthy Collection, located on the first floor of Perkins Library near the Perk at the von der Heyden Pavilion, is a browseable selection of new books published in all subjects, including fiction, poetry, and non-fiction titles. They are the library staff's picks of the most popular, significant and controversial titles recently published: bestsellers, foreign language titles, award-winners, and significant scholarly works.

The collection is not intended to duplicate a public library collection, but instead represents the breadth of a research library's collections, and provides readers an easy way to browse titles of interest as they arrive. More detailed collection guidelines are below.

Books will typically be shelved in the New & Noteworthy area for one year or less, when they will be sent to their regular locations in the stacks. They can be checked out for four weeks, and no renewals are allowed, in order to make them available to as many readers as possible. Oversized New & Noteworthy volumes are shelved at the end of the call number range, closest to the Perkins lobby entrance.

Duke Authors Display

The Duke Authors shelves provide a showcase for recently published scholarship by Duke faculty members. The Duke Authors section, denoted by blue spine labels, is shelved in the New & Noteworthy area on the shelves closest to the Perkins Library lobby and the circulation desk. Faculty are encouraged to notify library staff when their books are published--we'll make sure they are displayed with the other recent publications by Duke authors. Duke Authors titles are typically housed on the display shelves for one-two years (the online catalog location will read "Perkins/Bostock Library: Duke Authors Display"); they'll then be moved to their regular call number locations in the stacks.

Suggestions and Comments

Readers with suggestions for New & Noteworthy purchases, and faculty with new publications they'd like displayed, are encouraged to make their requests through their respective library liaisons, through the main library web page (http://library.duke.edu/ - see Request Forms A-Z, Suggest a Purchase) or to contact Sara Seten Berghausen in the Perkins Reference Department, sara@duke.edu or 660-5881.

Browsing New & Noteworthy Online

From library.duke.edu, click "Catalog Home" to get the main catalog search screen.  Choose the "Duke Libraries" tab at the top, and then choose "New & Noteworthy" from the list of Specific Formats and Collections.  This search includes both the Perkins New & Noteworthy and the Lilly Current Literature Collections.

Perkins New & Noteworthy
Collection Guidelines

The New & Noteworthy Collection at Perkins Library is a browseable selection of new books published in all subjects, including fiction, poetry, and non-fiction titles. They are the library staff's picks of the most popular, significant and controversial titles recently published. Titles are typically shelved in the New & Noteworthy Collection for one year or less; they're then transferred to their regular locations in the stacks.

The Collection contains a selection of titles in the following categories:

  • Titles prominently reviewed in major publications, such as the New York Times Book Review, the Times Literary Supplement, the New York Review of Books, Washington Post Book World, and the Village Voice
  • Major award-winners
  • Recent scholarly works with general appeal across the disciplines
  • Works of interest less likely to be found in the local public library or bookstores, including titles in foreign languages, small press publications, and books published outside the U.S.
  • Works with some connection to Duke, North Carolina, or academia
  • Selected bestsellers
  • Books relevant to current events

New & Noteworthy books can be checked out for four weeks--sorry, no renewals. Holds on titles can be placed using the "Request" function in the online catalog.  Please send any questions or suggestions for books to include in the New & Noteworthy Collection to Sara Seten Berghausen, Perkins Reference Department, sara@duke.edu.