Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Shakespeare Resources

Bibliographies

1. Electronic bibliography

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes more than 1.2 million journal articles, book chapters, monographs, and dissertations. Coverage: 1926 to date. Coverage back to 1921 is available through the print version of the MLA International Bibliography, stored in the Perkins Reference index area.

World Shakespeare Bibliography 
Provides over 60,500 annotated citations for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1962 and the present. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 118 languages and representing countries around the world. Covers 1977 to one year ago.

2. Printed bibliographies.

Bergeron, David Moore and Geraldo U. Sousa. Shakespeare: A Study and Research Guide. Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas, 1995. Perkins/Bostock PR2894 .B474 1995

Champion, L.S. The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies. 2nd ed. New York: G. K. Hall, 1993. Ref. PR2894 .C436 1993

McManaway, J.C. and Jeanne Roberts. A Selective Bibliography of Shakespeare: Editions, Textual Studies, Commentary. Charlottesville, VA: Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library [by] University Press of Virginia, 1975. Library Service Center 822.33 A.R.5 M167S

Sajdak, Bruce T. Shakespeare Index: An Annotated Bibliography of Critical Articles on the Plays, 1959-1983. Millwood, NY: Kraus International Publications, 1992. Lilly Ref. 822.33 A.R.5, S158, S527, 1992

Smith, G.R. A Classified Shakespeare Bibliography, 1936-1958. University Park, PA: Pennsylvania State University Press, 1963. Library Service Center 822.33 A.R.5 qS648C

Wells, Stanley. Shakespeare: A Bibliographical Guide. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1990. Ref. PR2894 .S535 1990; also in Lilly

Two annual Shakespeare bibliographies available in the Perkins stacks are:

Shakespeare Quarterly. 1950-2001   2001-   also in print  Perkins qS527
Each volume of this journal has an annual Shakespeare bibliography issue.

Shakespeare Survey. Perkins/Bostock PR2888 .C3
Each annual volume has an evaluative review of (1) Critical Studies, (2) Life, Times and Stage, (3) Textual Studies.

For a convenient sampling of the Shakespeare studies covered in the bibliographies, see:

Shakespearean Criticism. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1984- . Ref. PR2965 .S44
In addition to extensive excerpts of criticism , this ongoing work contains sections on date, text, sources, critical history, and additional bibliography for each of Shakespeare's works.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 5, 2007 8:57:25 PM EDT