Duke University library subscribes to many of the leading newspapers from Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia. In an effort to keep up with the most current developments in this ever-changing region of the world, and in response to patrons' changing use-habits, the library generally provides access to currently-received newspapers in digital format. A small number of specially-requested, currently-received analog newspapers is shelved by country and title in the Current Periodicals & Newspapers section on the first floor of Bostock Library.
Some titles, including backfiles of most historical newspapers from the region, are only available in microform at either at Duke or UNC-Chapel Hill. In addition, Duke University Libraries Special Collections holds one of the most extensive collections of American foreign-language historical newspapers in the country and many of the titles in this collection reflect the experience of ex-patriate and emigre communities from Russia and Eastern Europe.
Duke also maintains microfilm subscriptions for selected newspaper titles, which are retained in paper form (in most cases) until the film is received. Those titles which are not replaced by microfilm are kept for one year in the holding shelves in the sub-basement of Perkins Library. Microfilm is located in the microforms storage area (Bostock first floor or locked stacks) by call number. For information on where to find microfilms, consult the microform locations chart on the library website. Most indexes are located on the first floor of Bostock Library. Consult staff for specific location. Also refer to the printed guide, "Some Indexes to Non-U.S. Newspapers." For additional information on how to find newspapers, consult the subject guide on the Reference section of the Duke library website.
Duke students and affiliates have exclusive rights to access the following full-text databases of currently-received Russian newspapers, some of which are also available in English. In addition, English-language databases like Lexis/Nexis Academic provide access to some Russian, East European, and Eurasian newspapers and news-agencies. For a full list of titles and sources, consult their website. To find additional links to online full-text, English-language newspaper articles, including from such important sources as the Historical New York Times (1851-three years ago) and the Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985), consult the Duke University Library's subject guide to Online Newspaper Resources, which is maintained by the Library's Reference Department.
Database of Central Russian Newspapers (1995-present)
A full-text database of over 40 newspapers from Russia, including all the major newspapers from Moscow and St. Petersburg, some regional newspapers, and nearly all English-language publications. (Visual material like photos, graphs, and drawings are not included.) Accessible in English or Russian. Russian requires Cyrillic screen fonts for searching, and a Cyrillic keyboard is recommended. There is a transliteration option for searching. For a user's guide to this important database consult the website of East View Information Services.
Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (2001-present)
A full-text database that presents a selection in English of Russian-language press materials from all over the former Soviet Union. Since the translations are intended for use in teaching and research, they are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors. They are therefore a great primary source for researchers without a command of the Russian language.
Global Newsbank (1996-present)
A collection of full-text news articles from more than 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, periodicals, and government documents. Offers varying perspectives on international issues and events related to politics, economics, science, technology, culture, and business. Covers Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, among other regions of the world.
The following Russian newspapers are available in hard copy, as well digital and microform versions. Note that the back-files of most newspapers exist primarily in microform.
* Argumenty i fakty (Moscow) -- shelf and online
* Ekonomika i zhizn' (Moscow) -- microform S287 (1980-) and online
* Literaturnaia Rossiia (Moscow) -- shelf and online
* Pravada (Moscow) -- shelf; microform S157 (1917; 1921-); and online
* St. Petersburg Times (St. Petersburg) -- shelf and online
* Torgovaia gazeta (Moscow) -- shelf and online
Duke does not duplicate Russian newspapers currently received by UNC-Chapel Hill. If you are interested in backfiles on microfilm of one of these titles and are unable to travel to Chapel Hill, a loan may be arranged. Please consult Document Delivery Services for assistance.
* Izvestiia -- microfilm Serial 1-374
* Kommersant Daily -- microfilm Serial 1-1484
* Kommersant Vlast' -- microfilm Serial 1-1160
* Komsomol'skaia Pravda -- microfilm Serial 1-1253
* Krasnaia Zvezda -- microfilm Serial 1-24
* Kultura -- paper & microfilm
* Kuranty -- paper only
* MK Moskovskii Komsomolets -- microfilm Serial 1-1476
* Megapolis Express -- paper only
* Moskovskaia Pravda -- microfilm Serial 1-1483
* Nezavisimaia Gazeta -- microfilm Serial 1-1407
* Novaia Gazeta Ponedel'nik -- microfilm Serial 1-1481
* Novye Izvestiia -- microfilm Serial 1-1478
* Obshchaia Gazeta -- microfilm Serial 1-1477
* Peterburgskii Chas Pik -- paper only
* Rossiiskaia Gazeta -- microfilm Serial 1-1486
* Russkii Vestnik -- paper only
* Sankt-Peterburgskie Vedmosti -- microfilm Serial 1-1480
* Segodnia (Moscow) -- microfilm Serial 1-1417
* Shchit i Mech -- paper only
* Sovetskaia Rossiia -- microfilm Serial 1-1482
* Svobodnoe Slovo -- paper only
* Trud -- microfilm Serial 1-94
* Vek -- paper only
* Zavtra (Moscow: 1993) -- microfilm Serial 1-1419
* Zhizn' (Sankt-Peterburg) -- paper only
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.