Web Site Search

Ask us now

Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

Dissertations

The best way to find dissertations at Duke University is to consult the following databases, which can be accessed from Duke’s online catalog.  Please check with the Librarian for Slavic and East European Studies if you are unable to find the item that you need.

Dissertation Abstracts                                                                                                                                          Covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861.  Covers most U.S. institutions, and some from Canada and other countries.  Contains the contents of Comprehensive Dissertation Index, Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A,B,C), Masters Abstracts International, and American Doctoral Dissertations. Abstracts are provided for doctoral dissertations since 1980, and for masters’ theses since 1988. Abstracts for dissertations from 1938 to 1980 are available in the print version of Dissertation Abstracts, available in the Perkins Reference index area.

Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries Catalog)
Thousands of dissertation titles recently received or recently circulated by CRL, a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. Members of the Duke community may borrow items from CRL through Interlibrary Loan and have full access to CRL's Digital Collections.

Dissertations in Musicology                                                                                                                            International database for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Includes, and continues, the work of the discontinued Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.

Current research at Duke                                                                                                                             Provides full-text access to Duke University dissertations and theses by Duke University users. View 24-page previews of Duke dissertations and theses from 1996 forward; and download the full text of Duke dissertations and theses published from 1996 forward.  Note that only dissertations from Duke are free. Access to Dissertations from other institutions will be available at a charge. Not all dissertations are available. For Perkins users, many dissertations can be requested, for free, through the library's InterLibrary Loan office.  The following list of recent Duke dissertations is intended to give a sense of the kind of work being carried out on Russian, Eurasian, and East European Studies.  It is meant to be illustrative, not comprehensive.

Arora, Mandakini (1995) Boundaries, transgressions, limits: Peasant women and gender roles in Tver' province, 1861-1914. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9533027).

Delegard, Kirsten Marie (1999) Women patriots: Female activism and the politics of American anti-radicalism, 1919-1935. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9958756).

Fergison, Drue Alexandra (1995) "Les Noces": A microhistory of the Paris 1923 production. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9620830).

Krob, Adam Nelson (1997) Hegel's community: Synthesizing the romantic and the liberal. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9818517).

Malesky, Edmund James (2004) At provincial gates: The impact of locally  concentrated foreign direct investment on provincial autonomy and economic reform. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 3155835).

Miller, Gwenn A. (2004) She was handsome but tattooed: Communities of empire in early Russian Alaska, 1784-1820. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 3182025).

Neuhauser, Kimberly Cox (1994) Consumer credit in the Soviet Union: Formal and informal. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9517984).

Schlosberg, Laura Elyse (2000) Converging realms, exclusive consumption: The salons of the nineteenth-century Russian nobility. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 3003948).

Suhomlinova, Olga O. (1996) Organizational transformation in the post-Soviet economy: The case of the Russian construction industry, 1985-1993. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9704736).

Timofeyev, Oleg Vitalyevich (1999) The golden age of the Russian guitar: Repertoire, performance practice, and social function of the Russian seven-string guitar music, 1800-1850. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 9928880).

Turner, Frederick Carleton (1988) The genesis of the Soviet "deep operation": The Stalin-era doctrine for large-scale offensive maneuver warfare. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. (Publication No. AAT 8820100).

Williams, Troy Brant (2000) Language in culture: An examination of the conceptualization of health in Russian language and culture. Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University. ProQuest Digital Dissertations database.
(Publication No. AAT 3003959).