The following selecton of bibliographies and periodical indexes is intended to demonstrate the variety of research tools available in both analog and digital formats to students and scholars of Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe at Duke University Libraries. To locate additional bibliographic resources, conduct a subject search in the Duke library catalog for "[Topic] -- Bibliography" or "[Country] -- Bibliography"; search in the citation and full-text databases listed under "Journal Articles" or "Book Reviews" in this subject guide; or consult with the Librarian of Slavic and East European Studies.
Selected Bibliographies
Jones, David Lewis. Books in English on the Soviet Union, 1917-73: a bibliography (New York. London: Garland, 1975) [Series: Garland Reference Library of Social Science, vol 3. Includes index.]
Pitman, Lesley. Russia/USSR, 2nd. ed., (London: Clio, 1994) [Series: World Bibliographical Series, vol. 6. Includes index.]
Schaffner, Bradley L. Bibliography of the Soviet Union, its predecessors and successors (Metuchen, N.J., London: Scarecrow Press, 1995) [Series: Scarecrow Area Bibliographies, no. 5. Includes index.]
A Scholar's Guide to Humanities and Social Sciences in the Soviet Successor States: The Academies of Sciences of Russia, Armenia, Azerbaidzhan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Tadzhikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan, Institute of Scientific Information in the Social Sciences (INION), Russian Academy of Sciences, Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies, Woodrow Wilson International Centre for Scholars (Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 1993) [2nd edition. Previous edition 1985]
Slavic Studies: a guide to bibliographies, encylopedias and handbooks, compiled and edited by Murlin Croucher (Wilmington: Scholarly Resources, 1993)
Soviet Studies guide, ed. by Tania Konn (London: Bowker-Saur,1992) [Series: Area Studies Guides. Includes index.]
Terry, Garth M. East European Languages and Literatures: A subject and name index guide to Articles in English-Language Journals, Festschriften, Conference Proceedings and collected Papers. [5 volumes. Volume 1 covers 1900-1977 (Oxford. Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1978); volume 2 covers 1978-1981 (Nottingham: Astra Press, 1982); Volume 3 covers 1982-1984 (Nottingham: Astra Press, 1985); volume 4 covers 1985-87 (Nottingham: Astra Press, 1988); Volume 5 covers 1988-1990 (Nottingham: Astra Press, 1991).]
Mezhov, Vladimir Izmailovich. Russkaia istoricheskaia bibliografiia: ukazatel' knig i statei po russkoi i vseobshchei istorii i vspomogatel'nym naukam za 1800-1854 vkl. (St. Peterburg, 1892).
Sokurova, M.V. Obshchie bibliografii russkikh knig grazhdanskoi pechati 1708-1955: annotirovannyi ukazatel' , 2nd edn.(Leningrad, 1956)
Sopikov, Vasily Stepanovich. Opyt rossiiskoi bibliografii, redaktsiia...dopol'neniia i ukazatel' V. N. Rogozhina (St Peterburg, 1904) [6 parts.]
Svodnyi katalog russkoi knigi grazhdanskoi pechati XVIII veka, 1725 -1800, compiled by I. P. Kondakov and others (Moskva: Gosudarstvennaia Biblioteka SSR im. V. I. Lenina, 1962-1975) [Volumes 1-5]
Svodnyi katalog knig na inostrannykh iazykakh, izdannykh v Rossii v XVIII veke. 1701-1800, ed. V. A. Filov and others (Leningrad: Nauka, 1984-6) [A catalogue of books in foreign languages published in Russia in the Eighteenth Century. 3 volumes.]
Selected Periodical Indexes
Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei (Moskva : Izd-vo Vsesoiuznoĭ knizhnoĭ palaty, 1926-present): This important index of Soviet-era periodicals covers more than 1,700 journals, series, and continuing publications of academies, universities, and research institutes in the fields of humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences, as well as the popular periodical literature. Duke University Library holds 1927-1932 on microfiche; and 1959-2006 in hard copy. A searchable digital version for the years 1956 to 1972, from Khrushchev's "Thaw" through the first half of the so-called Brezhnev "Period of Stagnation," is available from the Indiana University Digital Library Program.
Half a Century of Soviet Serials 1917-1968. A Bibliography and Union List of Serials Published in the USSR. Compiled by Rudolf Smits, Reference Department, Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1968. Volume 1: A-N (page-turner; searchable pdf); Volume 2: O-Z (page-turner; searchable pdf). This bibliographic union list of Soviet-era serials provides locations of U.S. and Canadian libraries that hold issues of the serial titles included. Even today it remains an important tool for locating holdings, since the Library of Congress does not yet provide all serial holdings in its online catalog and many American research libraries have not fully converted their older foreign language holdings into online records. According to its preface, this bibliography details "all known serial publications [except newspapers] appearing in the Soviet Union . . . since 1917, in all except oriental languages, such as Armenian, Georgian, Kirghiz, etc." Many titles published in the various former republics are included, but a serial must have a Russian title page and some text in Russian for it to qualify for inclusion.
Historical Periodicals Directory, eds. Eric H. Boehm, Barbara H. Pope and Marie S. Ensign. Vol. 3: Europe; East and South East; USSR (Santa Barbara, Oxford: ABC-Clio, 1984) [Series: Clio Periodicals Directories. Includes index]
Bibliografiia periodicheskikh izdanii Rossii 1901-1916, pod obshcheii red. V. M. Barashenkova, O. D. Golubevoi, N. Ia. Morachevskogo (Leningrad, 1958-1961) [4 Volumes. A bibliography of Russian periodicals, 1901-1916. The material is listed alphabetically in the first 3 volumes - volume 4 contains indexes and a guide to historical periodicals.]
Lisovsky, Nikolai Mikhailovich. Russkaia periodicheskaia pechat' 1703-1900 gg. Bibliografiia i graficheskiia tablitsy. (Materialy dlia istorii russkoi zhurnalistiki). (Petrograd, 1915 [rept. Leipzig : Zentralantiquariat der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik, 1965]. [A bibliography of the Russian periodical press, 1703-1900]
Masanov, Iurii Ivanovich. Ukazateli soderzhaniia russkikh zhurnalov i prodolzhaiushchikhsia izdanii 1735-1970 gg. (Moskva: Kniga, 1975)
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.