Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

Data and Statistics

Duke University libraries subsribe to several statistical databases of interest to students and scholars of Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe.  The following is a select list of the most useful general sources.  For more information on specific topics, use the Data Services search engine on the Perkins library website using the subject terms found here.  You may also want to schedule an appointemnt with the Data Service Librarian; or the Public Services Librarian at the Forld Library, in the Fuqua School of Business.

Universal Database of Statistical Publications (1995-present)
This commerical database from East View Information Services, Inc. includes Russian and English language publications, reports, and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Allows searching within reports, tables and graphs, transliteration option, tables of contents in English, etc. Includes some backfiles to 1995.

ISI Emerging Markets
This commercial database from Internet Securities, Inc. provides company directory information, financial data, and news from the world's emerging markets, including the Baltic States, Bulgaria, Central Asia-Caucasus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, and Ukraine.  For each country, forecasts for GDP (gross domestic product), growth, and inflation are indicated as well as news from both English and non-English language sources, company and industry information, financial markets reports, macroeconomic statistics and analysis, and legal and current affairs.  Provides real-time Investext reports in PDF format (the two most recent reports per company, and the most recent industry report per emerging market country).

Kazakh Statistical Publications Database (1998-present)
This official government database covers both Kazakh- and Russian-language publications of the Agency on Statistics of the Republic of Kazakhstan, including analytical forecasts, current monthly statistics, and census data. It also includes electronic versions of all statistical compendiums and journals published by the Agency on Statistics of the Republic of Kazakhstan in 1998-2005. Monthly statistical bulletins appear in the form of output tables in HTML format, which can be downloaded into Word or Excel documents. Compendiums of statistics and statistical journals are available in printable PDF format. The language of the database is Russian.  Maximum number of users: 3 users. Password/login access required; contact the Perkins Reference Desk. Monthly download limit of 500 MB per password/login combination.

Wiiw Database On Foreign Direct Investment In Central, East, And Southeast Europe
This freely-accesible database provides a systematic overview of foreign direct investment (FDI) in the new EU member states, the Southeast European countries and the European members of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). It contains about 2500 time series on FDI flow and stock (both inward and outward), FDI by form, by economic activity and by investing country. In addition, it includes an analysis and forecast on the main FDI processes.

United Nations Common Database
This official UN database provides selected time series from specialized national data sources for all available countries and areas. Contains more than 8 million data elements in more than 300 statistical series. Among the main data sources are the UN Statistics Division's own database in merchandise trade, national accounts, demography and population, energy, status of women, and industrial commodities production; statistics from the Population Division; the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs; Project LINK; FAO; ILO; IMF; ITU; OECD; UNESCO; WHO; NIPO; World Bank and World Tourism Organization.

World Development Indicators Online (1960-2000)
This official World Bank database offers access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2000, where data are available. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Allows comparison between countries, and the option to export data as Excel or ASCII. 

Global Develpment Finance (1970-present)
Previously known as World Debt Tables before 1997, GDF Online provides current and historical debt and financial flow statistics for 138 countries.  The countries listed in GDF are classified by region and include, among others Europe & Central Asia.  Countries are also classified by income (low, middle) and indebtedness (severe, moderate, less indebted and heavily indebted poor countries). 

IPUMS-International (1960-2002)
This collaborative project attempts to "inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world."  Unlike most population data (especially census data), which has traditionally been available only in aggregated tabular form, IPUMS-International includes microdata, which means that it provides information about individual persons and households. This makes it possible for researchers to create tabulations tailored to their particular questions. The data series includes information on a broad range of population characteristics, including fertility, nuptiality, life-course transitions, migration, labor-force participation, occupational structure, education, ethnicity, and household composition. The current version of the database describes approximately 202 million persons in 26 countries and includes the most substantive variables from the censuses of Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, and Turkmenistan.

International Financial Stats (1948-present)
This official database of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) contains international statistics on all aspects of international domestic finance. Time series summarizing covering over 200 countries and areas, including Eastern Europe and Central Asia. The IFS database includes all the series appearing on the IFS country pages, exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, major Fund account series, and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. The Country, World, and Commodity Prices Tables, as presented in the monthly printed copy of IFS, are available as selection options. The Economic Concept View provides a cross-country view of the concepts in the IFS by individual or groups of countries. Files may be downloaded in Excel (.xls), HTML, and ASCII (csv and tab delimited) formats. Coverage includes time series from 1948-present in annual, quarterly, or monthly frequencies.

LexisNexis Statistical (1973-present)
This official database of the Congressional Information Service indexes statistics on population and demographics, business and financial activities, domestic and international trade, government programs, health, and politics.  It provides indexing and abstracts of statistical information published by the U.S. government (American Statistics Index, January 1973 to date), international intergovernmental organizations (Index to International Statistics, January 1983 to date), and some publications by private organizations and state government agencies (Statistical Reference Index, January 1980 to date).  Full text or links to the full text are available for some of the indexed sources. Duke does not subscribe to the "Power Tables" section of this database; the only information that is available here is what LexisNexis provides free -- use Search Abstract instead. A list of full-text sources in the database is available online. See staff in the Reference or Public Documents and Maps departments in Perkins Library for sources not available in full text.

Euromonitor GMID
This full-text commerical database is a source of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics and research reports for over 200 countries. Provides volume and value market size data for 330 consumer products across 49 countries.  Provides demographic, economic and background marketing statistics for 209 countries. Contains market forecasts for 330 consumer products as well as demographic breakdowns and economic forecasts to the year 2010. Includes a directory of over 100,000 consumer brands and the 12,000 companies from around the world that own them. Provides market profiles for over 156 consumer and industrial product sectors in the UK, USA, France, and Germany.  Includes a database of business information sources.

Europa World Yearbook Online
This commercial database by Europa Publications is the online version of Europa World.  This important reference work makes political and economic information available for over 250 countries.  Search options include: country statistics, comparative statistics, international organizations, government and politics, society and media, business and commerce.  It also features Europa World Plus, incorporating Europa's Regional Surveys of the World series; Politics and International Relations reference resource; Armed Conflict Database in association with The International Institute for Strategic Studies; and a main page that highlights recent elections and events.  This site includes a quick search function:  "Select a country" drop down menu produces a page with: brief history, area and population, finance, government & politics, country maps, flag, and statistics. 

Eurostat Statistics (1960-present)
Eurostat statistics is an extract of the European Union's New Cronos statistical database. It provides time series data on six different themes as well as detailed regional statistics on the European Union and candidate countries. Topics include: general statistics, economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, trade and services, transport, and regional statistics. Tables can be exported in "cs" format. In general, Microsoft Excel uses "," as a separator. Open the document in Excel by using the "Open" function in Excel rather than double-clicking the csv file.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified February 1, 2012 12:25:30 PM EST