Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

Dictionaries

Duke University library has an extensive collection of dictionaries, in both analog and digital formats, for students and scholars of Slavic, Eurasian, and East European languages and literatures.  The following select list of general Russian, Polish, and Ukrainian dictionaries is meant to be illustrative, not comprehensive.  To find dictionaries in other Slavic languages, search the Duke library catalog for the following subject headings: [Country name] language – Dictionaries – English or English Language – Dictionaries – [Country name] language (e.g. "Ukrainian Language – Dictionaries – English" or "Polish Language – Dictionaries – Russian").  To locate dictionaries on a specific specialized topic, conduct an advanced keyword search for "dictionaries" + [your topic] and specify the language of your choice (e.g. "dictionaries and architecture" and russian); or use the subject heading for your topic and add -- dictionaries--[Country name] language (e.g. "Architecture -- Dictionaries -- Russian language").  For additional tips on locating dictionaries, check the library website; or ask at Reference.    

 Russian

    Dal', Vladimir Ivanovich, 1801-1872.   Tolkovyĭ slovar' zhivogo velikorusskogo iazyka. "Nabrano i napechatano so vtorogo isdaniia 1880-1882 gg." [6. izd.]. Moskva, Gos izd-vo inostrannykh i natsional'nykh slovareĭ, 1955.  Also available in a free on-line version.

    The Oxford Russian Dictionary / Russian-English, edited by Marcus Wheeler and Boris Unbegaun ; English-Russian, edited by Paul Falla ; revised and updated by Della Thompson. 3rd ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. xvi, 1340 p.

    Ozhegov, S. I. (Sergei Ivanovich), 1900-1964. Tolkovyi slovar' russkogo iazyka : 72,500 slov i 7,500 frazeologicheskikh vyrazhenii / S.I. Ozhegov i N.Iu. Shvedova.  3. izd., stereotipnoe.  Moskva: Az, 1995.

    Slovar' sovremennogo russkogo literaturnogo iazyka / glavnyi redaktor vtorogo izdaniia K.S. Gorbachevich. Izd. 2-e, pererab. i dop. Moskva : "Russkii iazyk", 1991- v. ; 25 cm.
   

Polish

    Slownik wspólczesnego jezyka polskiego / [redaktor naukowy Boguslaw Dunaj ; zespól autorski Boguslaw Dunaj ... et al.]. Warszawa : Wilga, 1996. xlv, 1393 p.

     Oxford-PWN Polish-English dictionary / redaktor naczelna = chief editor, Jadwiga Linde-Usiekniewicz. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2002.


Ukrainian

    Bilodid, I.K. Slovnyk ukrainskoi movy. Kyiv: Naukova dumka, 1970-1980. 11 vols.

    Popov, IE.F. and M.I. Balla. Comprehensive Ukrainian-English Dictionary: Over 150,000 Words and Expressions. Kyiv: Chumatskyi shliakh, 2001.

Online Dictionaries

The quality of online dictionaries varies widely from language to language and website to website.  Online dictionaries can be convenient, but they are no substitute for print dictionaries as of yet.  To find a print dictionary in the Slavic language of your choice, conduct a subject search in the Duke library catalog for the language of your choice, as described at the top of this page.

Your Dictionary
This site has links to hundreds of foreign language resources including dictionaries. The site was launched by Bucknell University in 1995 and has become a standard source for locating dictionaries on the internet.
A quick search of any term is available from the home page. For those seeking more information it is possible to get a list of all the languages for which there are sources available from this site.

Languages on the Web
This non-profit website by Crystal Jones and Robert Behar Casiraghi is a very useful source for a wide range of sources on the languages of the world. It is searchable by country.

Multitran
An online Russian/English-English/Russian dictionary that can recognize most latinized/transliterated Russian words. Most useful for translators and non-Russian specialists.


Specialized dictionaries

The American heritage dictionary of Indo-European roots / revised and edited by Calvert Watkins. 2nd ed. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2000.

Dictionary of the Russian Revolution / George Jackson, editor-in-chief ; Robert Devlin, assistant editor.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1989.

A dictionary of Slavic word families. Compiled and edited by Louis Jay Herman.  New York, Columbia University Press, 1975.

An Ethnohistorical dictionary of the Russian and Soviet empires / edited by James S. Olson ; Lee Brigance Pappas and Nicholas C.J. Pappas, associate editors.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.

Polnyĭ pravoslavnyĭ bogoslovskīĭ entsiklopedicheskīĭ slovar'.  London, Variorum Reprints, 1971. 2 v.

Russko-angliĭskiĭ frazeologicheskiĭ slovar'. / S.I. Lubenskaia. Moskva : "IAzyki russkoĭ kul'tury", 1997.

Vocabulary of Soviet society and culture: a selected guide to Russian words, idioms, and expressions of the post-Stalin era, 1953-1991 / Irina H. Corten.  Durham : Duke University Press, 1992.

Sokr.ru
An online dictionary of Russian/Soviet acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations, etc. Often includes a history of a particular term: what came before it and what supplanted it.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified January 15, 2012 5:02:56 PM EST