Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

Encyclopedias

Duke University library has an extensive collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias, in both analog and digital format, many of which contain basic information of interest to students and scholars of Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe.  A selection of general encyclopedias in both English- and foreign-languages is available in Reference Stacks, call number AE, Perkins first floor; and the International Reading Room, Bostock second floor. The following list of general encyclopedias on Poland, Russia, and Ukraine is meant to be illustrative of the variety of encylopedias available at Duke and is by no means comprehensive. To locate subject-specific encyclopedias, use the Duke library catalog to conduct an advanced keyword search for "Encyclopedias + [your topic]" and specify the language of your choice (e.g. "encyclopedias and architecture" and russian); or use the subject heading for your topic and add "-- Encyclopedias" and a keyword search for the name of the country or language of choice (e.g. "Architecture -- Encyclopedias" and russian).  For additional tips on locating encyclopedias, check the Perkins library website; or ask for help at the Reference Desk, since many subject specific encyclopedias are kept in Reference.  

Polish

Wielka encyklopedia powszechna PWN. [Komitet redakcyjny: przewodniczący: Bogdan Suchodolski.  Warszawa, Państwowe Wydawn. Naukowe [1962]-

    Poland : an encyclopedic guide / [editors, Edyta Banaszkiewicz-Zygmunt, Krzysztof Olendzki].  Warsaw : Polish Scientific Publishers PWN, 2000.

   Wirtualna Polska : Encyklopedia Poland : PWN

Russian

    Bol'shaia sovetskaia ėntsiklopediia. Glav. redaktor A.M. Prokhorov.  Moskva, Sovetskaia ėntsiklopediia 1970-1981. 31 v.  

     Great Soviet encyclopedia. [A. M. Prokhorov, editor in chief].  New York, Macmillan [c1973-<c1983 >  v. <1-31 > : ill.  

    Entsiklopediia Kruglosvet  — Online, fulltext Russian encyclopedia.

        
Ukrainian

Encyclopedia of Ukraine. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1984-1993.

    Kubijovyc, Volodymyr. Ukraine: A Concise Encyclopedia. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1963-1971. 2 vols.


Specialized Encyclopedias

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union. A source of basic information about Russia and the other areas of the former Soviet Union. Divided into various subject areas. Some major subjects are history, language, literature and politics.

The Cold War encyclopedia. A good source for quick information on cold war events and dates. Also gives other sources for further research.

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe. Covers historical and social events in Eastern Europe. Part of the Garland reference library of social science series.

Historical dictionary of the Orthodox Church. Location: Divinity School Library | Reference  | 281.909 P964, H673, 1996

The Modern encyclopedia of religions in Russia and the Soviet Union, edited by Paul D. Steeves.  Gulf Breeze, Fla. : Academic International Press, 1988-

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Literature, edited by Harry B. Weber. Gulf Breeze, Fla. : Academic International Press, 1977- v. ; 24 cm.
An ongoing series. Currently at 10 volumes. Consists of articles on authors, literary movements, and cultural figures in Russian/Soviet literature.

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History, edited by Joseph L. Wieczynski. Gulf Breeze, Fla. : Academic International Press, 1976- . ; 25 cm.
A 56 volume set consisting of articles and translations from Russian-language reference works.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 25, 2007 2:48:12 PM EDT