Web Site Search

Ask us now

Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

Maps and Atlases

The following selective list aims to provide a sense of the richness of the map collection at Duke University, which contains atlases, maps, gazeteers (geographical indexes or dictionaries), geographic information systems (GIS) and other computer mapping resources. This list is meant to be informative, not comprehensive.  To find additional maps and atlases of interest to students of Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies, conduct an "Advanced Search" in the Duke library catalog and limit your results to "Content: Maps."  You can also search the catalog for the following subject categories: [Country] -- Atlases or [Country] -- Maps.   Scholars who are currently on campus can also consult the analog card catalog in Duke's Map Collection under the appropriate country or region.  For more information on locating maps and GIS, check out the library website or consult Duke's Maps Librarian.

Russia and Eurasia

Brawer, Moshe. Atlas of Russia and the Independent Republics. New York :Simon & Schuster, c1994.

Gilbert, Martin. The Routledge Atlas of Russian History. 3rd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002.

Bregel, Yuri. An historical atlas of Central Asia. Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2003.

Imena gorodov: vchera i segodnia: 1917-1992: toponimicheskii slovar'.  Provides old and new names for Imperial Russian/Soviet/Russian cities through 1992.

Chew, Allen F.  An atlas of Russian history: eleven centuries of changing borders, by Allen F. Chew.  New Haven, Yale University Press, 1970.

Central Eurasian Interactive Atlas (University of Washington): Provides access to geographic data on population and labor, social services, business, industry and agriculture, investments, transportation and communication, trade, finances and prices for the Russian Federation and other countries of Central Eurasia.

Russia and the Former Soviet Republics: Historical Maps (The University of Texas at Austin): The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection site archives multiple editions of maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, as well as other works in public domain. These older editions are of interest to researchers, and are not available anywhere else online. Since this is a non-commercial site and since their maps are non-copyrighted, users may download the maps and use them as the basis for revised maps.


Poland, Ukraine, and Eastern Europe

Pogonowski, Iwo. Poland, a Historical Atlas / by Iwo Cyprian Pogonowski. [New York, N.Y. : Hippocrene Books, c1987]

Magocsi, Paul Robert. Historical Atlas of Central Europe. Rev. and expanded ed. Seattle : University of Washington Press, 2002.

Hupchick, Dennis P. The Palgrave concise historical atlas of Eastern Europe.  New York : Palgrave, 2001.

Magocsi, Paul R. and Geoffrey J. Matthews. Ukraine: A Historical Atlas. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1987.

Adams, Arthur E. An atlas of Russian and East European history [by] Arthur E. Adams, Ian M. Matley and William O. McCagg.  London, Heinemann, 1967.  

Gazeteers

Gazeteers, that is, geographical indexes or dictionaries, can be located via the Duke University Library catalog.  A useful digital version for easy reference on current international places and geographical features is:

GEOnet Name Server
A comprehensive worldwide gazetteer based on the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) database. The level of detail varies, but entries usually contain features found on 1:250,000 to 1:1 million scale maps. It includes both populated places and other cultural and natural geographic features. It does not include geographic names in the United States.