Web Site Search

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

Select Databases and Indexes

scripts

This is a select list of databases that are available to the Duke community. The databases that tend to have the best coverage of South Asia have been selected, with somewhat more emphasis on disciplines where courses with South Asia content are offered at Duke.  However, inclusion or exclusion in this brief list should be taken as a general indicator rather than a definitive statement of a database's coverage of South Asia, and all databases have their strengths and weaknesses.  Please consult Duke's main database page for additional databases.

Multidisciplinary & General     Anthropology and Sociology     Business     Dissertations/Theses     Economics     Film     History     Languages, Literature & Linguistics     Law    Music     News Sources     Political Science & International Affairs     Religious Studies

Multidisciplinary & General

Bibliography of Asian Studies  Bibliographical databases produced in Western countries tend to have a strong bias towards coverage of items published in the West.  Often this still entails having a significant amount of materials about South Asia, but one can still miss out on lot of of important research that way.  This database redresses that problem by covering an impressive number of journals published in Asia that are not covered by any other database.  However, users should take note that the database is often up to ten years out of date for a number of journals, so for the most recent articles on a given topic, other sources, such as the printed Guide to Indian Periodical Literature (located in Perkins reference with the print indexes) should be consulted as well.

Note:  The BAS was previously issued in print.  Perkins library has 1956-1991; latest year is in reference, earlier volumes are in the stacks.

Access UN  The Readex United Nations Index provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and some publications. Topics include peace and security, world hunger, human rights, economic development, the environment, atomic energy, and other issues addressed by the United Nations.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe Provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international news, business, and legal information sources. Academic Universe is particularly strong in legislative, government, company, financial and demographic information, market research, and industry reports. Academic Universe provides online access to continuously updated archives of state and federal statutes, regulations, and case law. It also covers reference directories, medical and health resources, biographical information, and polls and public opinion surveys. 

Anthropology & Sociology

Anthropology Plus  This database conveniently combines the two databases previously listed here, Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.  Indexes periodicals in biological, physical, cultural, and social anthropology. Includes articles from related fields, including archaeology, art history, economics, linguistics, religious studies, sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.

Sociological Abstracts  Indexes and abstracts more than 2,500 of the world's leading journals, books, and dissertations in the fields of sociology, social psychology, social welfare, planning and policy, and development.  Comprises two files: Sociological Abstracts and SOPODA (Social Planning, Policy & Development Abstracts).

Top of Page

Business

Business Dateline

Provides over 500,000 citations from more than 450 U.S. and Canadian sources on regional business activities and trends as well as major stories on local firms, their products and executives. Includes press releases and major newspapers. The strength of this database lies in its coverage of vital, yet hard-to-find local and regional publications. Useful for examining links and business activity connecting the United States and various Asian countries. Includes news about the electronics, retail, real estate, service, hospitality, transportation, banking, and many other industries is included. Statistical, management, and marketing information about companies is also covered.

Columbia International Affairs Online [CIAO]

CIAO offers full texts and/or abstracts for books, journals, conference proceedings, and research reports in the field of International Affairs. Subject coverage includes global politics, global religion, nationalism, terrorism, diplomacy, security,and political economy. Begins coverage in 1991, but dates vary depending on the publication.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports

Encompassing every region and nearly every country in the world, the Country Reports offer the latest economic, political, and market conditions. The database is updated bimonthly, and each country's business events, current political and economic developments, historical trade and economic data, and major industrial trends. Use the EIU Country Reports for worldwide political and economic information and international business and industry trends. The most recent reports are on the web; Print reports and profiles are on two hour reserve in the Fuqua library. Instructions on searching the EIU Country Reports. To use the EIU Country Reports: select Asia-Pacific under Country Reports, click on search, and once in the database, select country name (CN) as the search field.

Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)

A source of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics and research reports for over 200 countries. Provides market, demographic, and financial forecasts for hundreds of consumer and industrial products; supplies volume and market share data (since 1992) for 330 consumer products from 49 countries. Includes a directory of over 100,000 consumer brands and the 12,000 companies from around the world that own them. Includes a database of business information sources.

ISI Emerging Markets

Produced by Internet Securities, Inc., this database is a compilation of news gathered from organizations in the emerging markets of Latin America, Europe and Asia. The database includes local news, company and industry information, financial markets, data and macroeconomic analysis.

STAT-USA/Internet

A service run by the U.S. Department of Commerce that provides access to government-sponsored business, economic, and trade information databases. Some of the databases searchable through STAT-USA include:

  1. National Trade Data Bank 
    The National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) is the U.S. Government's most comprehensive source of international trade data and export promotion information. Types of information on the NTDB include: International Market Research, Export Opportunities; Indices of foreign and domestic companies; how-to market guides; Reports on demographic, political, and socio-economic conditions for hundreds of countries; and much more.
  2. Economic Bulletin Board
    The Economic Bulletin Board is a comprehensive source for government-sponsored economic releases and business leads. On the EBB, you get economic news and business leads minutes after they are released, as well as in-depth analyses of markets, products, and economic trends.
  3. Global Business Procurement Opportunities
    GLOBUS is an international procurement marketplace for U.S. businesses, providing billions of dollars in procurement opportunities from all over the world. Procurement solicitations range from small purchases to multi-million dollar contracts covering most sectors of the U.S. economy.
  4. Bureau of Economic Analysis Economic Information
    Access is provided to BEA's news releases shortly after their release, to Survey of Current Business issues and articles in Acrobat format, and to detailed data files from BEA's national, regional, and international economic accounts. Included are the national income and product accounts (including GDP), personal income for States and local areas, the U.S. balance of payments, and much more.

Thomson One

Comprehensive financial data on public US and international companies is available through this database. Thomson One includes business profiles, officer information, historical annual financials, earnings estimates, I/B/E/S data, and 15 minute delayed stock quotes. Use is restricted. Use this database for: competitive analysis, assess corporate finances, investment information.

Dissertations/Theses

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637.

Dissertations at Duke University Access to Duke University doctoral dissertations by Duke University users. View 24-page previews of Duke doctoral dissertations from 1996 forward, with a growing number available dating from 1995 and earlier.

Dissertations in Musicology International database for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Includes, and continues, the work of the discontinued Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.

Economics

EIU:  Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports  A full-text database that provides an overview of economic, political, market, investment, and trading conditions for more than 180 countries in all regions of the world.

Film

FIAF International Filmarchive Database Indexes over 300 popular and academic journals focusing on film (motion pictures), video and television.

Film Index International  Covers 90,000 entertainment films and over 35,000 individuals, as well as information about major U.S. and international industry awards.  For South Asia, only selected, well-known films and their producers are listed.

Top of Page

 shiva

History

Historical Abstracts Contains citations and abstracts from over 2,000 history journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes indexing of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.

Empire Online  Full-text primary sources relating to the British empire from the 15th to the 20th century.  It is to consist of five sections added over the course of a few years.  Currently available is the first section, Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969, and the second section, Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire.  Includes a few editorial essays that reference the primary material.  Each primary document has an index of topics and places mentioned.  Sections to be added in the future are as follows:  The Visible Empire (Winter 2004/5), Religion and Empire (Winter 2005/6), and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (Winter 2006/7).

Languages, Literature & Linguistics

MLA International Bibliography  Provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video.  A wide range of South Asia's languages (particularly, but not limited to, those with a literary heritage) are covered here.  

Law

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 450 legal periodicals published worldwide, including journals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports.  The number of legal periodicals of South Asian origin covered is quite limited, but includes important sources such as the Indian Journal of International Law and Journal of the Indian Law Institute.

Manupatra Provides full-text access to case decisions, statutes, bills, legislative history documents, government notifications, legal forms and other law documents from India starting from 1940.

Music

Dissertations in Musicology International database for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Includes, and continues, the work of the discontinued Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Immense index of international music literature, covering many of South Asia's genres.

News Sources

Ethnic Newswatch  Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.  A useful resource for diaspora studies as well as reactions to events in South Asia and elsewhere.

Global Newsbank  A collection of full-text news articles from more than 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, periodicals, and government documents.  Offers varying perspectives on international issues and events related to politics, economics, science, technology, culture, and business. Covers Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East.

LexisNexis Academic  Coverage of hundreds of news sources (fuller description of database under 'Multidisciplinary and General').

Political Science & International Affairs

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)  Offers full texts and/or abstracts of books, journals, conference proceedings, and research reports in the field of International Affairs. Subject coverage includes global issues, world politics and political science, religions, nationalism, terrorism, diplomacy, security, and the world economy.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)  Indexes international information on politics, public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.  Covers 1972 to present.

Religious Studies

ATLA Religion Database Provides over 1.2 million citations about all aspects of world religions. Also covers religious study, theology, and the religious aspects of anthropology, ethics, philosophy, psychology, history, sociology, and law.

Index Islamicus Indexes the literature of Islam and Middle Eastern studies. Covers all aspects of Muslim life, past and present, including Arabic studies, archaeology, architecture, arts, scholarship, economics, education, geography, history, law, libraries, sciences, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences, and theology. 

Top of Page