Duke Libraries

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

Art and Archaeology

Print Resources

vaseTo search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes. For more information on art and many additional listings, please consult UNC's Guide to Indian and Southeast Asian Art.
Archaeological Survey of India Photographs in the India Office Collections in the British Library [microform] (Haslemere, 1993)
             UNC  Davis Library Microfiche
 5-255

 The Art of India [microform]: Paintings and Drawings in the Victoria and Albert Museum (Haslemere, 1992)
             UNC  Art Library Reserve
 5-254
Chakrabarti, Dilip K.
The Oxford Companion to Indian Archaeology The Archaeological Foundations of Ancient India, Stone Age to AD 13th Century (New York, 2006)
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS418 .C488 2006
             UNC  Davis  DS418 .C488 2006
             NC State
 D.H. Hill Library
 DS418 .C488 2006
Chandra, Jagdish, compiler.
Bibliography of Indian Art, History & Archaeology, 3 vols? (Delhi, 1978)
The first volume contains entries on Indian architecture, sculpture, painting, and handicraft, as well as the influence of Indian art on the surrounding regions of South, Central, and Southeast Asia. The library does not own the remaining volumes.
             Duke  Library Service Center
 016.954 J21, B582, 1978
             UNC  Art Stacks  Z3206 .J33
Hingorani, R.P.
Painting in South Asia: A Bibliography (Delhi, 1976), xxxi, 253 p.
Covers books and periodical articles in South Asia. Excludes works on twentieth century painting, manuscripts, and unpublished theses. Only some articles in languages other than Hindi and English included. Contains indexes to authors, subjects, manuscripts, dated paintings, calligraphists, illustrations, painters, patrons, sites, and collections (private and public).
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  ND1000 .H564 1976 

Raven, Ellen M. and Helga I. Lasschuit.
ABIA South and Southeast Asian Art and Archeology Index  (Leiden, 2002)
Also accessible online. Indexes nearly 400 journals (a list of which are included in the work).  Bibliographical citations are followed by abstracts and lists of keywords, and are arranged by country and then subject category.  Includes detailed subject, author, and geographical indexes to the entries.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  LC Processing
             UNC  Art Stacks  N7260 .A25

Online Resources

American Institute of Indian Studies - Center for Art and Archeology An archive of over 125,000 images.

Ancient Indus Valley Civilization  Includes several annotated slide shows and many resources on the Indus Valley Civilization (in present day Pakistan and Northwest India), one of the world's oldest urban civilizations. 

ARTstor Provides access to a large collection of images covering art, architecture, and archaeology for many time periods and cultures.

Asian Art  Includes associations, exhibitions, articles, and galleries.  Article topics range from shamanic masks to ricksha art.

Afghanistan Cultural Heritage - Sloane Art Library - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Includes links to museums, links to other sites, and bibliographies.

See also Digital Archives.

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art  Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma). Works range from approximately 2500 B.C.E. to the present, and documentation includes contemporary religious activities in various parts of Asia.  Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, Islamic, and other works.

India: Art A general guide from ancient cultures to modern art.

Norton Simon Museum Highlights of the South Asian Collection

Pakistan: Art A general guide from ancient cultures to modern art.

Tasveer Ghar Tasveer Ghar is a trans-national virtual “home” for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.


Last modified May 29, 2009 4:31:08 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870