Web Site Search

Ask us now
William Gedney Photographs and Writings: India, 1969-1971 and 1979-1980
statue

Copyright, Citation, and Reproduction Information

The materials included in the William Gedney Photographs and Writings web site are provided by the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library for the purposes of research, teaching, private study, or general interest. For these purposes the images and transcribed texts may be viewed and printed. (more . . .)

 

South Asian Studies

Digital Archives

Images

Digital South Asia Library - Images This is a gateway for six separate collections at the University of Chicago which archive over a hundred thousand images.

Duke University Libraries - Digital Collections An archive of William Gedney's 1164 images of India taken in 1969-1971 and 1979-1980.

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art  Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma). Works range from approximately 2500 B.C.E. to the present, and documentation includes contemporary religious activities in various parts of Asia...  Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, Islamic, and other works.

Images of Asia Featuring old images of India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the Ancient Indus Civilization.

Luke Powell Photographs of Afghanistan 

Royal Geographical Society - Picture Library 

Tasveer Ghar Tasveer Ghar is a trans-national virtual “home” for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.