Duke Libraries

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

General Guide to Films and Videos

South Asian Video and Film Collections in other University Libraries

Indian Cinema Database (U Pennsylvania)  Items in this audio-visual collection are available for borrowing to individuals or institutions within the United States (No charge for renting the item, but borrower must pay insurance and return postage).

SARAI: South Asian Film & Video Resources Links commercial and non-commercial vendors, in addition to university websites on South Asia film collections.

SASASAAS Films/Videos--South Asia (Appalachian State U)  Southern Atlantic States Association for Asian and African Studies Film and Video collection.  Also try searching WNCLN's Library catalog.

South Asia at Chicago Video Collection Contains a detailed description, downloadable as a PDF, of the University of Chicago's South Asian video collection.  The videos may be loaned by mail for free, but they do require a $100 deposit.

South and South East Asia and Oceana Studies (UC Berkeley) A good site for researching South Asian audio-visual material.  The center's collection is not available for borrowing by institutions or individuals outside the University of California system.

South and Southeast Asia Video Archive (U of Wisconsin)  A collection dedicated to acquiring films produced by Asians for Asians.  Items are available through the normal Interlibrary Loan procedures.

Center for South Asia Documentary Film Series (U Wisconsin-Madison)  The South Asia center at the University of Wisconsin has been a very prolific producer of South Asian documentaries in the United States.  Their films may be purchased in video and 16mm format.

University of Virginia South Asia Feature Films and Documentaries Collection (Clemons Library)  A collection of 2000 Indian feature films and television programs on NTSC VHS videocassettes.  The collection is available for Interlibrary Loan to other universities.

Other Video and Film Internet Resources for South Asia

Asian Film Connections  History and filmographies of cinema in China, India, Japan,Korea, and Taiwan from the Asia Pacific Media Center (APMC) at USC's Annenberg Center for Communication, in collaboration with the network for the promotion of Asian Cinema.

Asian Educational Media Service  Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of Illinois.  An annotated, searchable database of audio-visual media materials.

Films Division, Government of India  This database has got listings of all the films produced by the Government of India's film division.  Also includes hundreds of documentaries that can be viewed as streaming video, on a wide range of subjects.

Manas: India and its neighbors  Pages on Indian Culture, Diaspora, Landscapes, Religions, Social Life and History/Politics.  Written by Vinay Lal, UCLA Department of History.

National Film Archive of India, Government of India The National Film Archive is located in Pune.  "The mission of the National Film Archive of India is to safeguard the heritage of Indian Cinema for posterity and act as a centre for dissemination of a healthy film culture in the country. Promotion of film scholarship and research on various aspects of cinema also form part of its Charter. Familiarizing foreign audiences with Indian Cinema and to make it more visible across the globe is another declared objective of the Archive."

Swanet Movie Page  Films on South Asian women's issues, includes short descriptions of the subject matter and distributor, includes Related Links to other resources on South Asian film and video.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 30, 2008 6:36:40 PM EDT