Print and Online Resources
To search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes.

Periodical Indexes
- Guide to Indian Periodical Literature (Gurgaon; vol. 1, Mar. 1964- )
- Indexes approximately 500 English language social sciences and humanities journals published in India (a list of journals indexed appears at the beginning of each volume). Issued quarterly. Entries are arranged by author and subject heading. Covers 1955-1956 and 1963-present.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
AI3 .G853 |
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
|
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
Z3203 .G85 1964-1984 only |
|
Publication Directories
- Directory of Periodicals Published in India. (New Delhi, c1988-)
- The most recent (2000) edition provides approximately 12,000 titles, with the largest number in English followed by Hindi, Bengali, Tamil, etc. Entries include material such as contact information, first year of publication, sources that index and abstract the journals' contents, etc.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
PN5377.P4 Z9925 |
|
Bibliographies -- South Asia
- Accessions List: South Asia. v. 1 (1981)- New Delhi.
- A monthly record of all publications acquired from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, by the Library of Congress field offices in South Asia and distributed among the libraries participating in the South Asia cooperative acquisition program (formerly called "PL-480"). It consolidates the following publications previously issued individually: Accessions List: India, Accessions List: Pakistan, Accessions List: Bangladesh, Accessions List: Nepal, Accessions List: Sri Lanka. The coverage includes selected current publications (monographs, serials, audio/video) on a variety of subjects in all the modern Indian languages and English published since 1961. Entries are arranged by author in romanized form with complete bibliographical information and brief annotations, where necessary, about the subject matter of the book. Each volume includes a consolidated index. An annual cumulated author, title and subject index is also issued separately. Because of its comprehensive coverage and punctuality, the Accessions list: South Asia serves as de facto National Bibliography for all the countries of South Asia through 1996. It ceased publication in that year and was followed by the South Asian bibliographer, listed immediately below.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3185 .L52a |
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
LC1.30/10-4 In Federal Documents. For holdings, ask at Davis reference desk. |
|
| NCSU |
US-DOCS |
LC1.30/10-3 |
|
- The South Asian Bibliographer: A List of Current Publications Compiled by the Library of Congress Office (New Delhi, 1998-).
- Bimonthly. Records publications acquired from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibetan titles issued in India, China, and elsewhere. Due to limitations of space, not as complete as the Accessions List. Like its predecessor, this publication too has ceased to be issued (2002) and there are no immediate plans for a replacement.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3185 .L52a |
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
BL2244 .H3 P55 2003 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Reference |
BL2244 .H3 p55 2003 |
|
- Patterson, Maureen L.P.
- South Asian Civilizations: A Bibliographic Synthesis (Chicago, 1981).
A most comprehensive listing, consisting of over 20,000 entries. Based on collections at the University of Chicago. Entries are listed by subject. Includes author and subject indexes.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS339 .P388 1981
|
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
Z3185 .P37 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Reference |
Z3185 .P37 1990 |
|
Top of Page
Bibliographies -- Bhutan
- Dogra, Ramesh C., comp.
- Bhutan (Oxford, 1990).
Contains 403 annotations on works dealing with Bhutan. Includes general index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3210.5 .D647 1990 |
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
Z3210.5 .D64 1990 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Reference |
DS491.4 .D64 1990 |
|
Bibliographies -- India
- Barrier, N. Gerald.
- India and America: American Publishing on India, 1930-1985 (New Delhi, 1986).
Opens with extended article on history of American relations with/studies of India, from the nineteenth century through 1985. Divided up by subject heading, under such topics as general and introductory works, descriptions and travel accounts, language and linguistics, literature, religion and philosophy, history, etc. Each section opens with a descriptive paragraph summarizing the section's contents. Includes author index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
Z3201 .B377 1986 |
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z3201 .B37 1986 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
Z3201 .B37 1986 |
|
- Derbyshire, Ian D., comp.
- India , revised ed. (Oxford, 1995)
Contains 1039 titles dealing with India. Includes author, title, and subject indexes.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3206 .D473 1995 |
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
DS407 .D463 1995 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS407 .I443 1995 |
|
- The Indian National Bibliography. (Calcutta, National Library.; vol.1, Jan/Mar 1958-)
- Lists current publications in 14 Indian languages and English received by the National Library of India under the Delivery of Books and Newspapers Act of 1954. Entries are arranged by author in classified order of the Dewey Classification, regardless of the language. Bibliographical information is romanized with diacritical marks. Excludes the following category of material from the coverage: musical scores, maps, serials (except the first issue), text books, ephemera such as trade catalogs, telephone directories, financial reports of companies, political party pamphlets, etc. Includes an index. Earlier volumes also included government publications but were later dropped. Periodicity irregular. Time lag in publication varies from two to ten years. Coverage is sketchy. For better coverage of current Indian publications see: Accessions List: South Asia.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3201.A2 I5 |
|
| UNC |
Davis |
Z3201.A2 I5 |
|
- Kalia, D.R., ed.
- Eminent Indians: A Bibliography of Biographies (New Delhi, 1977)
Divided into two sections. First section contains biographies and autobiographies arranged in alphabetical order of the names of the biographical subjects. Second section cites collective biographies, organized alphabetically by author. Includes general index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
Z3206 .K355 1976 |
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
Z3201.A1 K34 |
|
- Kochukoshy, K.K., ed. and compiler.
- A Bibliography of Indian Bibliographies, 1961-1980 (Calcutta, 1985)
Contains 655 entries arranged according to broad subject headings derived from Dewey Decimal classification. Author and title in each entry are transliterated into Roman script, based on the transliteration table used in the compilation of the Indian National Bibliography. Each entry serially numbered and contains a language symbol indicating the language of the book. Some entries carry brief annotations. Includes author-title and subject indexes.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
Z3201.A1 K634 1985 |
|
- Sengupta, Benoyendra.
- Indian Reference and Information Sources: An Annotated Bibliography of Select Reference and Representative Books and Periodicals on Different Aspects of Indian Life and Culture (Calcutta, 1981)
Contains over 2250 entries. Includes subject index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
016.954 S476, I39, 1981 |
|
- Scholberg, Henry.
- The District Gazetteers of British India: A Bibliography (Tumba, Switzerland, 1970)
Includes an extensive list of district and state gazetteers, with a place name index and author index, preceded by introductory and historical material on the gazetteers projects. Contains a useful definition of district and state gazetteers for the purposes of the work, namely " a comprehensive description of a district or state of British India, published privately, in series, or under the auspices of a government body, and including historical, archaeological, political, economic, sociological, commercial, and statistical data."
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
Z3201 .S36 1970
|
|
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
DS405 .S365 1970 |
|
Top of Page
Bibliographies -- Maldive Islands
- Reynolds, C.H.B., comp.
- Maldives (Oxford, 1993).
Contains 320 annotations on works dealing with the Maldive Islands. Includes general index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS486.5.M3 .R49 1993 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z3499.49 .R49 1993 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
Z3499.49 .R49 1993 |
Bibliographies -- Nepal
- Nepalese National Bibliography (Kathmandu, 1985)
- Contains books published in the various languages of Nepal. Includes author, title, and subject indexes. Published annually, but library owns only the 1982 volume, published in 1985. For better coverage of more recent publications see: Accessions List: South Asia.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
Z3210 .N473
|
- Whelpton, John, comp.
- Nepal (Oxford, 1990)
Contains 917 entries on works dealing with Nepal. Includes general index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3210 .W445 1990 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z3210 .W45 1990 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS493.4 .W45 1990 |
Bibliographies -- Pakistan
- Taylor, David, comp.
- Pakistan (Oxford, 1990)
Contains 797 entries dealing with Pakistan. Includes author, title, and subject indexes. See also Accessions List: South Asia.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3196 .T395 1990 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
DS376.9 .T38 1996 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS376.9 .T39 1990 |
Bibliographies -- Sri Lanka
- Goonetileke, H.A.I.
- A Bibliography of Ceylon: A Systematic Guide to the Literature on the Land, People, History and Culture Published in Western Languages from the Sixteenth Century to the Present Day, 5 vols. (Zug, Switzerland, 1970-1983).
Annotated guide to the literature on Sri Lanka published in sixteen Western languages from the sixteenth century up to 1983. Includes monographs, journal articles, pamphlets, government publications, institutional and societal publications, etc. Omits manuscripts, unpublished documents, newspaper articles, book reviews, and individual maps, photographs, prints, and drawings. Volumes 2, 4, and 5 include indexes to authors, corporate bodies, pseudonyms, initials, and anonymous works. After Volume 3, becomes A Bibliography of Ceylon (Sri Lanka).
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS489 .G666 1970 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z3211 .G65 |
- Rupesinghe, Kumar and Berth Verstappen, eds.
- Ethnic Conflict and Human Rights in Sri Lanka: An Annotated Bibliography (London, 1989).
Records literature concerning escalating phase of internal conflict in Sri Lanka, with emphasis on 1983-1988 period, with over 2300 entries.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3211.A1 R874 1989
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z3211 .S26 1987 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS489 .S26 1987 |
- Samaraweera, Vijaya, comp.
- Sri Lanka (Oxford, 1987).
Contains 631 entries on works dealing with Sri Lanka. Includes general index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3211 .S263 1987
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z3211 .S26 1987 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS489 .S26 1987 |
- Silva, Daya de and Chandra R. de Silva.
- Sri Lanka since Independence: A Reference Guide to the Literature (New Delhi, 1992)
Organized as guide for social science researchers studying post-1948 Sri Lanka. Divided topically into sections on reference works, general studies, demography, society, women, religion, ethnicity and language, politics, and economics. Bibliography confined to works in Western languages only. Includes also English translations of Sinhala language government publications. Contains list of periodicals consulted and author/editor index. See also Accessions List: South Asia.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
Z3211 .D475 1992 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
Z7165.S77 D4 |
Top of Page
Encyclopedias and Subject Dictionaries -- South Asia
- Low, D.A., et. al.
- Government Archives in South Asia (Cambridge, 1969).
Guide to national and state archives of Ceylon (Sri Lanka), India, and Pakistan (including East Pakistan, now Bangladesh). Lists arranged by alphabetical order of country with sub-entries also in alphabetical order -- except occasionally for convenience under the National Archives of India. Does not include district records, High Court records, or private archival collections. No index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
z954 L912G |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
CD2081 .L6 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
CD2081 .L6 |
- Schollberg, Henry (ed.).
- The Biographical Dictionary of Greater India (Delhi, 1986)
Comprises over 150 entries, followed by a brief 'suggested further reading' section. 'Greater India' is taken to also include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Includes entries on non-natives who had an important role in South Asian history. Entries are topically organized. Includes index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
DS434 .B56 1998 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS434 .B56 1998 |
|
Encyclopedias and Subject Dictionaries -- Afghanistan
- Hanifi, M. Jamil (Mohammed Jamil).
- Historical and Cultural Dictionary of Afghanistan (Metuchen, N.J., 1976)
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
DS351 .H36 1976 |
|
Afghanistan Overview (University of California-Berkeley)
Afghanistan and the U.S. (internet resources) (University of California-Berkeley)
Encyclopedias and Subject Dictionaries -- India
- Chopra, P.N., gen. ed.
- Encyclopaedia of India, 32 vols. (New Delhi, 1992)
Divided under geographical headings covering all the states and union territories. Each volume deals with all aspects of life and conditions, physical, historical, economic, social and cultural, places of interest, etc. of area. Each volume contains own index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS405 .E53 1992
|
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
DS405 .E53 1992 |
|
- Data India (New Delhi; Vol. 1., No. 1, Jan. 1974-)
- Monthly digest of national and state events, compiled from various Indian newspapers and broken down by topic. Provides an annual cumulative index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
DS401 .D28 |
|
- Hoiberg, Dale and Indu Ramchandari (eds.)
- Students' Britannica India, 7 vols. (New Delhi , 2000)
The first five volumes follow standard A-Z encyclopedia format - entries are typically quite short, but fairly numerous. The articles do not include 'see also' references, but volume 5 includes a subject index with hierarchical entries that can be used in this manner. Volume 6 is a collection of select essays under the headings "Art, Culture, and Sports", "People and Society", "Biodiversity, Science, and Technology" and "Economy, Governance and Politics". Volume 7 - obviously aimed at young readers in India itself - is a guide to careers and includes features such as directories of degree programs at Indian universities. None of the volumes includes bibliographical citations.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS405 .S78 2000
|
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS405 .S77 2000 |
|
- Index India: A Quarterly Documentation List of Selected Articles, Editorials, Notes and Letters, etc. from Periodicals and Newspapers Published in English Languages all over the World (Jaipur; Vol. 1., No. 1, Jan./Mar. 1967- )
- Quarterly index of articles, editorials, etc. on India. Publishes cumulative subject and author index annually in separate volume.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
q915.4 I38x |
|
- India 2001: Reference Encyclopedia (New Delhi, 1995-)
- Two volume encyclopedia, includes much of the types of material that one would traditionally find in an almanac. Divided into twenty-six sections, covering such areas as history, geography, state profiles, international relations, religion, philosophy, science, art, education, etc. Does not provide an index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS423 .I6 1995 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
DS423 .I635 1995 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS405 .I62 1995 |
- India, a Reference Annual (New Delhi, 1953-)
- Yearbook of general information relating to various aspects of India. Contains entries on industry, agriculture, energy, environment, education, population, etc. Includes general index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS405 .I64 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
DS405 .I64 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS405 .I64 |
India Who's Who (New Delhi, 1969- ) Traveling serial, most recent volume available in Reference.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
CT1506 .I53 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
CT1506 .I53 |
Annotated Bibliography of Indian Medicine (Groningen University)
Top of Page
Biographical Indexes
- Baillie, Laureen.
- Indian Biographical Index: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka = Indischer biographischer Index : Indien, Pakistan, Bangladesch, Sri Lanka (Munchen, 2001), 4 vols.
Serves as an index to the microfiche set Indian Biographical Archive, as well as to the original sources from which the microfiche set draws its material, namely 184 reference works published between 1815 and 1995 (a list of these appears at the beginning of the index). The index includes 152,000 persons.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
CT1499 .I54 2001 |
- Manzoor Alam, Mohd, editor-in-chief.
- 100 Great Muslim Leaders of the 20th Century (New Delhi: Institute of Objective Studies, 2005
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
DS432.M84 A13 2005 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
DS432.M84 A13 2005 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
DS432 .M84 A13 2005 |
Atlases and Maps
- Breton, Roland J. L.
- Atlas of the Languages and Ethnic Communities of South Asia (Walnut Creek, CA: 1997).
Maps and statistical data illustrate the distribution of different languages and ethnic groups in South Asia. Includes language index, subject and author index, and bibliography.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
PK1541 .A1 1997 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
PK1541 .A1 1997 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
PK1541 .A1 1997 |
- Map Profile 2001, India: States and Union Territories.
- (Delhi: Controller of Pulbications, Civil Lines, 2005).
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
G2281.F7 M2 2005 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
G2281.F7 M2 2005 |
- Schmidt, Karl J.
- An Atlas and Survey of South Asian History (Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c1995), xv, 168 p.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
G2261.S1 S3 1995 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
G2261.S1 S3 1995 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
G2261.S1 S3 1995 |
Schwartzberg, Joseph E. et. al. (ed.) A Historical Atlas of South Asia (New York, 1992) and online through Digital South Asia Library
| Duke |
Perkins Reference Atlases |
G2261.S1 H5 1992 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference Atlases |
G2261.S1 H5 1992 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Reference - Geography |
G2261 .S1 H5 1992 |
Statistics
- Bose, Ashish.
- India's Billion Plus People: 2001 Census Highlights, Methodology, and Media Coverage (Delhi, 2001)
A handbook for users of data from the 2001 Indian census. Parts of the book include demographic profiles of the different states, discussions of census methodology, and excerpts of articles from the print media regarding the 2001 census.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
HB3639 .B673 2001
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
HB3639 .B673 2001 |
- Guide to Official Statistics. (New Delhi, 1999)
- Issued by the Central Statistics Organisation of the Government of India. Provides explanations of different types of statistics collected by various government agencies, with lists and descriptions of publications. Include publications index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
HC435.2 .G853 1999
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Reference |
HC435.2 .G85 1999 |
- Pakistan: An Official Handbook on Statistics. (Islamabad, 2000)
- Presents and describes data collected and processed by the Pakistan's Federal Bureau of Statistics. Provides some appendices such as a directory of Pakistan representative abroad and a directory of regional and field offices of the Federal Bureau of Statistics. No index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
HA4590.5.A1 P35 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
HA1730.5 .S7 |
Pakistan Statistical Yearbook (Karachi, 1952- )
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
HA1730.5 .P33 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
HA1730.5 .P55 |
| NCSU |
Satellite Shelving Facility |
HA1713 .A732 |
- Statistical Abstract, India (Delhi, 1949-1962, 1968- )
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
HA1713 .A732 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
HA1713 .A732 |
| NCSU |
Satellite Shelving Facility |
HA1713 .A732 |
- Statistical Pocket Book of the Democratic Republic of Sri Lanka (Colombo, 1972- ) Earlier title: Statistical Pocket Book of Ceylon (1968-1971.)
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
HA1697 .A2
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
HA1697 .A23 |
- Statistical Yearbook of Bangladesh (Dhaka, 1975- )
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
HA1730.8 .A25 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
HA4590.6 .A26 |
- Statistical Yearbook of Nepal (Kathmandu, 1987- )
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
HA4570.9 .A28 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
HA4570.9 .A28 |
Top of Page
Other Links
Access Asia The National Bureau of Asian Research's Asia Research Organization Search Engine (AROSE) lets you search over 300 institutes worldwide that conduct policy-relevant research on Asia.
AsianNet: The No. 1 Information Provider of Asia. Provides information organized by subject on China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Asia, Africa, America, Australia / NZ, Europe. Well organized and easy to use. Geared towards business and business products.
Asia Source News items and links to Arts, Culture, Business, Economics, Policy, Government, Society, and History of Asian countries.
CONSALD: Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation.
Digital South Asia Library DSAL is a project-in-progress of the Center for Research Libraries. Participants include leading US and foreign universities, institutions and associations. Includes online dictionaries, books and journals, maps, statistics, images, and other useful material.
Food and Culture in South Asia (SOAS, University of London)
International Institute for Asian Studies Leiden, Netherlands This is a comprehensive site. Includes a Gateway to Asian Studies where you can search for associations and institutes by country.
Library of Congress Country Studies Online versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Countries are arranged in alphabetical order. The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official United States Government position, policy, or decision.
Library of Congress Asian Reading Room In 1938 the Library of Congress inaugurated the Indic Project. Field offices were established in the 1960s in New Delhi, Karachi and Jakarta. The collection has grown to more than 216,000 volumes in the languages of Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the Philippines, Tibet, Vietnam and the Pacific Islands.
Library of Congress South Asia Serials Search this database by title, publisher, city, LCCN, LOC Record Number, subscribing library or keyword.
National Library, India
SAMAJ: South Asia Multidisciplinary Academic Journal. Free access online journal. "SAMAJ is the first academic on-line journal devoted to social sciences studies on South Asia. It publishes only research-based articles written by professional academics as well as doctoral students. Its scope is multidisciplinary, covering studies in history, geography, anthropology, sociology, political science and economy."
SARAI: South Asia Resource Access on the Internet. The site is maintained by the University of Columbia and deals with various aspects of South Asian Studies. It includes sections on libraries and reference tools, e-journals, e-news and e-books, a directory of South Asia scholars, South Asian resources listed by country, a list of organizations and links to their homepages and special events. The site includes a link to job listings, a list of resources by topics, and a list of new and interesting links that have not yet been annotated or integrated into the appropriate pages of the site.
South Asia Resources Database Search for South Asian materials available in Australian libraries (over 120,000 records listing resources).
South Asia Network South Asian search engine, search by subject or country.
South Asian Popular Culture E-Journal for Duke users only.
SWANET: South Asian Women's Network. A forum for South Asian women's issues.
Tasveer Ghar Tasveer Ghar is a trans-national virtual “home” for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.
Teaching South Asia: An Internet Journal of Pedagogy Electronic journal, published annually. Articles on course and curriculum development relating to South Asia.
The World Factbook "The Hoover Commission's Clark Committee, set up in 1954 to study the structure and administration of the CIA, reported to Congress in 1955 that: "The National Intelligence Survey is an invaluable publication which provides the essential elements of basic intelligence on all areas of the world. . . . There will always be a continuing requirement for keeping the Survey up-to-date." The Factbook was created as an annual summary and update to the encyclopedic NIS studies. The first classified Factbook was published in August 1962, and the first unclassified version was published in June 1971. The NIS program was terminated in 1973 except for the Factbook, map, and gazetteer components. The 1975 Factbook was the first to be made available to the public with sales through the US Government Printing Office (GPO). The 1996 edition was printed by GPO and 1997 edition was reprinted by GPO. The year 2000 marks the 53rd anniversary of the establishment of the Central Intelligence Agency and the 57th year of continuous basic intelligence support to the US Government by The World Factbook and its two predecessor programs." CIA.
Top of Page