Duke Libraries

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

History

stupaTo search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes.

Afghanistan

Adamec, Ludwig W.
Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan  (Lanham, Md, 2003)
Electronic access:  http://www.netlibrary.com/. In addition to the main body of the dictionary, includes a chronology, introductory material, and an extensive bibliography.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS356 .A27 2003   
             UNC  Davis Reference  DS356 .A27 1997  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  DS356 .A27 1997  

Bangladesh

Baxter, Craig and Syedur Rahman.
Historical Dictionary of Bangladesh (Lanham, MD, 2003)
In addition to the main body of the dictionary, includes a chronology, introductory material, and an extensive bibliography.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS394.5 .B39 2003   
             UNC  Davis Reference  DS394.5 .B39 2003  

India

Bhattacharya, Sachchidananda.
Dictionary of Indian History (Calcutta, 1967)
Dictionary comprising 2785 entries, concerning persons, places, institutions, literary and historical works, covering ancient, medieval, and modern periods of Indian history. Includes chronology of important dates, both for India and the world at large, and appendix with list of abbreviations.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS433 .B48 1967b  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  DS433 .B48 1967b  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Reference  DS433 .B48  
 
Case, Margaret H.
South Asian History, 1750-1950: A Guide to Periodicals, Dissertations and Newspapers (Princeton, 1968)
Includes author and subject indexes.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  Z3185 .C3 1968   
             UNC  Davis Reference  Z3185 .C3  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  Z3185 .C3  
 
Chekki, Danesh A., ed.
The Social System and Culture of Modern India (New York, 1975)
Contains 5487 entries, dealing with the years 1947 to 1975. No index.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  Z309.154 C515S LSC   
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z7165.I6 C5  
 
Khan, Shafa’at Ahmad, Sir.
Sources for the History of British India in the Seventeenth Century. (London, 1975)
An annotated guide to documents at various locations in the UK, with extracts and synopses of noteworthy material.  Includes index.  Although this work would be of primary significance to those doing research in the UK, a number of these materials may be held on microform by American libraries - the WorldCat database may be consulted in this regard.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  DS436 .A453, v. 4  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  CD1042.A2 K47 1975  
 
Mansingh, Surjit.
Historical Dictionary of India (Lanham, Md., 2006)
Electronic access:  http://www.netlibrary.com In addition to the main body of the dictionary, includes a chronology, introductory material, and an extensive bibliography.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS405 .M27 2006   
             UNC  Davis Stacks  DS405 .M27 1996  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  DS405 .M27 1996  
 
Riddick, John F.
Glimpses of India: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Personal Writings by Englishmen, 1583-1947 (New York, 1989).
             Duke  Perkins Reference  Z3206 .R533 1989  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z3206 .R5 1989  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  DS461 .R53 1989  
 
Sabharwal, Gopa.
The Indian Millennium, AD 1000-2000  (New Delhi & New York, c2000) 
A chronology, with subject index.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS452 .S22 2000  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  DS452 .S22 2000  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  DS452 .S22 2000  

Nepal

Shrestha, Nanda R. and Keshvan Bhattarai.  Historical Dictionary of Nepal (Lanham, MD, 2003)

             Duke  Perkins Reference   DS494.5 .S58 2003
 
             UNC  Davis Reference   DS494.5 .S58 2003  

Pakistan

Burki, Shahid Javed.
Historical Dictionary of Pakistan (Lanham, Md, 2006)
Electronic access  http://www.netlibrary.com/ 
In addition to the main body of the dictionary, includes a chronology, introductory material, and an extensive bibliography.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS382 .B87 2006   
             UNC  Davis Reference  DS382 .B87 1999  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Reference  DS382 .B87 1999  

Sri Lanka

Samarasinghe, S. W. R. de A.  Historical Dictionary of Sri Lanka (Lanham, Md, 1998)

             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS489.5 .S33 1998   
             UNC  Davis Stacks  DS489.5 .S33 1998  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  DS489.5 .S33 1997

Last modified May 29, 2009 5:14:38 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870