Print Resources
To search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes.
- Aggarwal, Naringar K., comp.
- A Bibliography of Studies on Hindi Language and Linguistics, revised ed. (Gurgaon, 1985)
Contains 2926 entries. Includes author index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
PK1931 .A643 1985
|
|
- Datta, Amaresh, chief ed.
- Encyclopaedia of Indian Literature, 5 vols. (New Delhi, 1987-1992)
Covers practically all important aspects of Indian literature. No index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
PK2902 .E53 1987
|
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
PK2902 .E53 1987 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
PK2902 .E53 198 |
- Garg, Ganga Ram.
- International Encyclopaedia of Indian Literature, (Delhi, 1987- ), 8 vols. in continuing series.
Majority of entries are for individual persons (original authors and scholars of literature) as well as texts. v.1 Sanskrit -- v. 2 Tamil -- v. 3 Assamese -- v. 4 Kannada -- v. 5 Telugu -- v. 6 Malayalam -- v. 7-8 Urdu -- v.9 Oriya
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
PK2902 .G37 1987
|
|
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
PK2902 .G37 1987 |
|
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Stacks |
PK2902 .G37 1987 |
- Ghosh, Dipali.
- Translations of Hindi Works into English: A Bibliography, (New Delhi , 1995)
Bibliography comprises nearly 1,400 items. The first part covers translations of works of fiction, while the second part covers non-fiction work such as history, literary criticism, philosophy, etc. Includes English and Hindi title indexes as well as an author index.
| Duke |
Perkins Stacks |
PK2047 .G467 1995
|
- Ghosh, Dipali.
- Translations of Bengali Works into English: A Bibliography, (London; New York, 1986)
Bibliography comprises over 700 items. Chapters arranged by type of item translated, e.g. poetry, religion, etc. Includes English and Bengali title indexes as well as an author index.
| Duke |
LSC |
016.95414 G427, T772, 1986
|
Govi, K.M., ed. Modern Indian Literature: Bibliography (Thrissur, 1991)
| Duke |
LSC |
016.8911 G721, M689, 1991 |
- Krishnamoorthy, K.
- A Critical Inventory of Ramayana Studies in the World, 2 vols. (New Delhi, 1991)
Bibliography of materials dealing with the Ramayana. Contains works in twenty-two Indian languages, as well as numerous non-Indian languages. Includes translations, commentaries, literary works based on the Ramayana theme, songs, critical studies, manuscripts, etc. No index.
| Duke |
Divinity Stacks |
BL1139.26 .C758 1991 |
| UNC |
Davis Stacks |
BL1139.26 .C75 1991 |
- Mills, Margaret A., Peter J. Claus and Sarah Diamond, eds.
- South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, (New York 2003)
Comprises general concept articles for orientation as well as many case study articles. Each entry is followed by bibliographic references and often 'see also' references to other articles in the encyclopedia. Includes nearly 500 articles by over 250 authors.
Crosslisted in the anthropology section.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
GR302 .S68 2003 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
GR302 .S68 2003 |
| NCSU |
D.H. Hill Reference |
GR302 .S68 200 |
- The National Bibliography of Indian Literature, 5 vols. (New Delhi, 1962-1990)
- Divided alphabetically by language, including: Assamese, Bengali, English, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Panjabi, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. First four volumes cover works published from 1901 to 1953. Titles listed in these volumes are available on microfiche through the South Asian Microform Project (SAMP).
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
Z3201 .N3 19 |
- Persian Manuscript Catalogs
- A listing of Persian manuscript catalogs, held at UNC and Duke (the catalogs, not the manuscripts), compiled by Dr. Carl Ernst. Arranged by the city and/or country in which the manuscripts are held.
- Sanga, Jaina C. (ed.)
- South Asian Novelists in English: An A-to-Z Guide (Westport, Conn., 2003)
Focuses on English-writing authors born in South Asia. There are entries for over 50 contemporary writers - each entry is comprised of the sections "biography", "major works and themes", "critical reception", and "biography" (including the author's own works as well as secondary material on the author's works etc.) Includes index.
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
PR9496.2.S6 S68 2003 |
| UNC |
Davis Reference |
PR9496.2.S6 S68 2003 |
- Samiuddin, Abida, ed.
- Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Urdu Literature (New Delhi, 2007)
| Duke |
Perkins Reference |
PK2155 .E53 2007 In process
|
Dictionaries at Duke
- Apte, Vaman Shivaram. The Practical Sanskrit-English Dictionary.
- Brown, Charles Philip. Telugu English Dictionary.
- Cappeller, Carl. A Sanskrit-English Dictionary, based upon the St. Petersburg Lexicons.
- Fabricius, Johann Philipp. J.P. Fabricius's Tamil and English Dictionary.
- Macdonell, Arthur Anthony. A Practical Sanskrit Dictionary with Transliteration, Accentuation, and Etymological Analysis Throughout.
- Molesworth, James Thomas. English and Marathi Dictionary.
- Monier-Williams, Monier, Sir. A Sanskrit-English Dictionary Etymologically and Philologically Arranged with Special Reference to Cognate Indo-European Languages.
- Pali Text Society, London. Pali-English Dictionary.
- Platts, John T. A Dictionary of Urdu, Classical Hindi, and English.
- Schmidt, Ruth Laila. A Practical Dictionary of Modern Nepali.
- Steingass, Francis Joseph. A Comprehensive Persian-English Dictionary, Including the Arabic Words and Phrases to be Met with in Persian Literature.
- Bahri, Hardev. English-English-Hindi Dictionary.
- Burrow, Thomas. A Dravidian Etymological Dictionary.
- Caturvedi, Mahendra. A Practical Hindi-English Dictionary.
- Hayyim, Sulayman. The Larger English-Persian Dictionary.
- Nayyar Kakorvi, Nurulhasan. Nurullughat.
- Shakespear, John. A Dictionary, Hindustani and English.
- Winslow, Miron. English and Tamil Dictionary.
Online Resources
Hindi Literature in English Translation (University of Washington)
Indian Languages Portal - Hindi Literature Links Includes links to information on Hindi poetry and literature, proverbs, statistical information, etc.
Persian Manuscript Catalogs at Duke and UNC libraries (University of North Carolina)
Seldom Studied and Endangered South Asian Languages (University of Osnabruck, Germany)
South Asian Diaspora Writing in English (University of Washington)
The South Asian Literary Recordings Project (Library of Congress New Delhi Office) Launched in April 2000, to record the voices of South Asian authors for the Library of Congress' Archive of Recorded World Literature, the project has captured the readings of prominent South Asian poets, novelists, and playwrights. The authors recorded so far represent more than fifteen of the languages of India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
South Asian Literature in English, Pre-Independence Era (University of Washington)