Duke Libraries

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

Printed Resources

To search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes.

arts

Dictionaries

Bhagyalekshmy, S. Ragas in Carnatic Music. (Madras, 1990)

          Duke  Music Stacks  ML102.R2 B5 1990
Menon, Raghava R.
The Penguin Dictionary of Indian Classical Music, (New Delhi, 1995)
          Duke  Music Stacks  ML101.I5 M46 1995
          NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  ML101 .I5 M46 1995

Nirmala Devi, Mrs. Dictionary of Music  (New Delhi,1990)

          Duke  Library Service Center  780.3 N721, D554, 1990
          UNC  Music Reference  ML100 .N58 199
Rajagopalan, N.
A Garland: A Biographical Dictionary of Carnatic Composers and Musicians, (Bombay, 1990-1996)
          Duke  Music Stacks  780.92 R161, G233, 1990
          UNC  Davis Stacks  ML385 .R14 199

Rôya Caudhuri, Vimalakanta. The Dictionary of Hindustani Classical Music (Delhi, 2000)

          Duke  Music Stacks  ML101.I5 R6913 2000
          UNC  Music Reference  ML102.H56 R613 2


Sambamoorthy, P. A Dictionary of South Indian Music and Musicians. (Madras, 1952)

          Duke  Music Reference  ML106.I5 S3 1952
          UNC  Music Reference  ML106.I5 S3

Sundaram, B. M. Palaiyazhi = Musical Scales; Introduction by S.A.K. Durga. (Madras, 1979)

          Duke  Library Service Center  781.22 S957, P154, 1979

Sundaram, B. M. Tala Sangraha: Compendium of Talas in Karnatak Music, (Bangalore, 1987)     

          Duke  Library Service Center  781.2240954 S957, T137, 198

 
Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Indian Theatre (Delhi, 2000)
          Duke  Lilly  PK2931 .E53 2002
          UNC  Davis Stacks
 PK2931 .E53 2002
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (New York, 1998-2002) Volume 5: South Asia
          Duke  Music Reference  ML100 .G16 1997
          UNC  Music Reference  ML100 .G16 1998 v. 5
          NCSU  D.H. Hill Reference  ML100 .G16 1998 v.
The Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre (New Delhi, 2004)
          UNC  Library Service Center
 PN2881 .O95 2004
          NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  PN2881 .O95 2004
Simha, Hara Mandira.
Hindī philma gīta kośa = Encyclopaedia of Hindi Film Songs 
          Duke  Library Service Center  781.9703 S589, H662, 1986
          UNC  Davis Stacks  ML128.M7 S55 1980
          NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  ML128 .M7 S55 198

Discographies

Barnett, Elise B. A Discography of the Art Music of India (Ann Arbor, 1975)

          Duke  Music Reference  ML3797 .S6 no.3
          UNC  Music Reference  ML156.4 .N3 I52

   
Daniélou, Alain. The Rāga-s of Northern Indian Music. London, Barrie & Rockliff the Cresset P. [c1968] 

          Duke  Music Stacks  ML338 .D22 1968
          UNC  Music Stacks  ML338 .D22
          NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  ML338 .D22 199

   
Kinnear, Michael S. A Discography of Hindustani and Karnatic Music; foreword by Reis Flora. (Westport, Conn., 1985) 

          Duke  Music Reference  ML156.4.N3 I546 1985
          UNC  Music Reference  ML156.4.N3 I546 1985

   
Tupper, F. Musiques de l'Inde du nord: guide d'écoute & discographie CD (Paris: Editions du Makar, 1993)    

          Duke  Music Reference  ML3748 .T928 1993
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified May 29, 2009 5:11:15 PM EDT