Duke Libraries

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

Politics, Government, and Human Rights

Print Resources

To search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes.

Boquérat, Gilles.
International Relations in South Asia: Directory of Institutions. (New Delhi, 1999)
In addition to contact information, includes information such as areas of expertise, regional scope, activities, publications, and lists of members.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  DS335 .B67 1999  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  DS335 .B67 1999   
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  DS335 .B67 1999  
Kozicki, Richard J., ed.
International Relations of South Asia, 1947-1980 (Detroit, 1981)
Annotated bibliography of English-language publications on international relations of the several countries of South Asia from 1947 to 1980. Divided into four sections: South Asia as a region, India, Pakistan, and final section covering collectively Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and Afghanistan. First section broken down into coverage of bibliographies and reference works, monographs, and articles and essays. Latter three sections divided into sub-sections on relations of section's country with other countries (e.g., India-China, Pakistan-United States, etc.), with each sub-section further divided into monographs and articles/essays. Contains appendix of basic books, as well as author and subject indexes.
             Duke  Library Service Center  016.327 K88, I61, 1981  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z3185 .K69   
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  Z3185 .K69 1981   

Bangladesh

Zafarullah, Habib Mohammad, ed.
Government and Politics in Bangladesh: A Bibliographical Guide, (Dhaka, 1981)
Divided into three main sections. First section includes materials on Pakistan from 1947 to 1971, when Bangladesh and Pakistan were one country. Second section covers literature on the political crisis of 1971, culminating in revolution and the emergence of independent Bangladesh. Third section contains citations on the political-administrative system of independent Bangladesh from 1971 to 1980. Includes journal/periodical and author indexes.
             Duke  Library Service Center
 016.95492 Z17, G721, 1981  

India

Ghosh, Arun and Ranjit Ghosh, eds.
Indian Political Movement, 1919-1971: A Systematic Bibliography (Calcutta, 1976)
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  JQ298.A1 G467 1976  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z7164.P8 G47    
Government Books in Print, 2nd. ed. (New Delhi, 1994)
Lists publications of the Government of India. Entries divided by government ministry and subdivided by ministerial department. Includes title index.
             Duke  Library Service Center
 015.54 G721, B724x, 1994  
Rana, M.S., ed.
Writings on Indian Constitution (1861-1985), 2nd ed. (Meerut, 1987)
             Duke  Library Service Center
 016.34254 R185, W956, 1987  
Singh, Mohinder.
Government of India Publications, (New Delhi, 1982)
Discusses the nature and scope of different government reports, descriptions of major publications and sponsoring agencies, and the publishing and distribution of the publications.  Includes select bibliographies.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  Z3205 .S564 1982   
             UNC  Davis Reference  Z3205 .S62 1982    

Pakistan

Jones, Garth N. and Shaukat Ali, eds.
A Comprehensive Bibliography: Pakistan Government and Administration, 4 vols. (Islamabad, 1970)
Contains nearly 4000 references, dealing with birth and antecedents of Pakistan, constitutional development, bureaucracy, sub-national administration, local government, foreign relations, etc. Includes author index.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  JQ629.A58 J664 1970

Online Resources

Environmentalism in South Asia - Selected Internet Resources (University of California-Berkeley)

Government of India.  Directory of Official Web Sites

Government of Sri Lanka Official Web Portal

Government Resources for the Study of Asia Links to various government agencies, organizations and IGOs.

Human Rights in South Asia  Links to reports from different organizations on the human rights situation in South Asia.

Human Rights in South Asia: Selected Internet Resources (University of California-Berkeley)

National Web Portal of Bangladesh

National Portal of India This is the National Portal of India, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Government entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Government Ministries and Departments, at the Central/State/District level.

Nepalgov Government of Nepal

Pakistan.gov The Official web gateway to the Government of Pakistan

Nuclear Issues in India and Pakistan - Selected Internet Resources (University of California-Berkeley)

Partition of India  (University of California-Los Angeles)

Peace Process of Sri Lanka  The official website of the Sri Lankan Government's Secretariat for Coordinating the Peace Process (SCOPP).  Updated frequently.

Social Exclusion in South Asia (International Labour Organization)

The Gazetteers Department of the Govt. of Maharashtra Gazetteers Department is a separate Directorate of the Govt. of Maharashtra under the administrative control of the Cultural Affairs Department of the Govt. of Maharashtra.This Department publishes District and State Gazetteers in Marathi and English Languages.


Last modified April 10, 2009 11:09:06 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870