Duke Libraries

Ask us now

South Asian Studies

Religion and Philosophy

Islamic Studies Resources

For more information about Islam, please see the Middle East Studies site.

Print Resources

 General     Buddhism     Hinduism     Islam     Jainism     Sikhism

To search for articles, statistics, and other documents, please consult our Select Databases and Indexes.

General

Fenton, John Y.
South Asian Religions in the Americas: An Annotated Bibliography of Immigrant Religious Traditions (Westport, CT, 1995)
             Duke  Divinity Stacks  BL1055 .F468 1995  
             UNC  Davis Reference  Z7757.S64 F46 1995   
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  BL1055 .F46 1995  
Potter, Karl H., et. al.
Guide to Indian Philosophy, (Boston, 1988)
Surveys works on Indian philosophy, with emphasis on works published between 1975 and 1985.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  B5131 .P688 1988   
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z7129.I5 P68 1988    
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  B5131 .P68 1988  
Potter, Karl H., et. al.
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies, (Delhi, 1970- )
             Duke  Divinity Stacks  B131 .E5 1970
 
             UNC  Davis Stacks  B131 .E5 1970 
 
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  B131 .E5 1995  

 guru_nanak

Buddhism

Reynolds, Frank E.
Guide to Buddhist Religion, (Boston, 1981)
             Duke  Divinity Reference  BQ4012 .R496 1981  
             UNC  Davis Reference   Z7860 .R48  

Hinduism

Bhattacharyya, Narendra Nath.
A Dictionary of Indian Mythology,  (New Delhi, 2001)
Includes bibliographical references and index.  Introduction includes overview of the history of theories about myths, particularly those of India.
             Duke  Perkins Reference   BL1105 .B53 2001  
             UNC  Davis Stacks   BL1105 .B43 2001  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks   BL1105 .B43 2001   

Bunce, Fredrick W.
An Encyclopaedia of Hindu Deities, Demi-gods, Godlings, Demons, and Heroes: with Special Focus on Iconographic Attributes,  (New Delhi, 2000)  3 vols. 
Includes bibliographical references and index.
             Duke  Divinity Reference  BL1216 .B86 2000  Also in Perkins Reference BL1216 .B86 2000 
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  BL1216 .B86 2000  

Chandra, Suresh.
Encyclopaedia of Hindu Gods and Goddesses, (New Delhi, 1998)
             Duke  Divinity Reference  BL1216 .C47 1998  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  BL1216 .C47 1998  

Dandekar, Ramchandra Narayan.
Vedic Bibliography; An Up-to-date, Comprehensive, and Analytically Arranged Register of All Important Work done since 1930 in the Field of the Veda and Allied Antiquities including Indus Valley Civilisation, (Bombay, 1946- ), vols. 2-5.
             Duke  Library Service Center  Z294.1 D176V  
             UNC  Storage  016.4912 D176v  

Ranade, H.G.
Illustrated Dictionary of Vedic Rituals, (New Delhi, 2006)
             Duke  EAC Reading Room  BL1226.2 .R38 2006 In process  
 
Satyaprakash, ed.
Hinduism: A Select Bibliography, (Gurgaon, 1984).
Compilation listing over 11,000 research and general interest articles, research papers, notes, news, and book reviews relating to Hinduism. Includes materials from 231 journals and daily newspapers.
             Duke  Divinity Stacks  BL1202 .A457 1984  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z7835.B8 A45 1984   

Stietencron, Heinrich von et. al. (eds.)
Epic and Puranic Bibliography: (Up to 1985): Annotated and with Indexes, (Wiesbaden, 1992).
Includes over 8,000 annotated bibliographical references with several detailed indexes, by author, subject, quoted textual passage, and source.  Includes a large number of references on Hinduism beyond textual studies of the epics and Puranas.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  PK2917 .E64 1992  

Sullivan, Bruce M.
The A to Z of Hinduism (Lanham, Md.; 2001).
Includes chronology and short introduction.  "Revised and updated text based on Bruce M. Sullivan's Historical dictionary of Hinduism published by Scarecrow Press, 1997.
             Duke  Divinity Stacks   BL1105 .S847 2001  
             UNC  Davis Reference   BL1105 .S847 2001  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks   BL1105 .S847 2001  


Islam

Adamec, Ludwig W.
Historical Dictionary of Islam, (Lanham, Md.; 2001).
In addition to the main body of the dictionary, includes a chronology, introductory material, and an extensive bibliography.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  BP50 .A33 2001  
             UNC  Davis Reference  BP50 .A33 2001   
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  BP50 .A33 2001   

E.J. Brill's First Encyclopaedia of Islam, 1913-1936, 9 vols. (Leiden, 1993)

             Duke  Divinity Reference   DS35.53 .E53 1993  
             UNC  Davis Reference   DS35.53 .E53 1993  

Esposito, John L. (ed.)
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, (New York, 2003)
             Duke  Divinity Reference   BP40 .O95 2003  
             UNC  Davis Reference   BP40 .O95 2003  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill   Order in process  

Geddes, C.L.
Guide to Reference Books for Islamic Studies, (Denver, 1985).
Guide to more than 1200 books, articles, tables, and charts, etc. Covers the geographical expanse from Spain to China, and chronologically from the time of Muhammad to the abolition of the caliphate in 1924. Excludes reference materials on the contemporary politics, modern states, and related subjects of the Middle East and North Africa. Includes general index.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  BP161.2 .G433 1985   
             UNC  Davis Reference  Z7835.M6 A54 no. 9  

Index Islamicus (London; 1956/60-1971/75, annual, 1976-1993, quarterly)

             Duke  Divinity Reference  z297 L847IAx.  
             UNC  Davis Reference  Z7835.M6 L6   
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Reference  Z7835 .M6 I53  

Martin, Richard C. (ed.)
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World.  (New York, 2004), 2 vols.
Comprises 504 articles, arranged in alphabetical order, by scholars from a wide range of disciplinary backgrounds.  Includes many illustrations, and a glossary, index, and synoptic outline of entries.
             Duke  Perkins Reference  BP40 .E525 2004   
             UNC  Davis Reference  BP40 .E525 2004  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill  on order  

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, 4 vols. (Oxford, 1995)

             Duke  Perkins Reference  DS35.53 .O95 2001  
             UNC  Davis Reference  DS35.53 .O95 1995  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Reference  DS35.53 .O95 1995 v.1-v.4  

Select Bibliography on Indian Muslims, (Hyderabad, 1983)

             Duke  Library Service Center
 Quarto 016.297 S464, 1983  


Jainism

Banerjee, Satya Ranjan, ed.
Chhotelal Jain's Jaina Bibliography, 2 vols. 2nd rev. ed. (Delhi, 1982)
Entries arranged into chapters by broad subject category. The work also includes many references to items which are not specifically about Jainism but contain references to it, and in these cases there are synopses of the contents listed by page number of the work in question.
             Duke  Divinity Stacks  BL1351.2 .J356 1982  


Sikhism

Dogra, R.C.
Encyclopaedia of Sikh Religion and Culture, (New Delhi, 1995).
Includes "information on all major and minor aspects of religion, culture, history, tribes, castes, folklore customs, fairs and festivals of the Sikhs".  Includes index.
             Duke  Divinity Reference  BL2017.3 .D64 1995  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  BL2017.3 .D64 1995b  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  BL2017.3 .D64 1996  

Rai, Priya Muhar.
Sikhism and the Sikhs: An Annotated Bibliography, (New York, 1989)
             Duke  Divinity Reference  BL48 .B535 no.13  
             UNC  Davis Stacks  Z7835.S64 R34 1989  

Singh, Harbans, ed.-in-ch.
The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism, (Patiala, 1992), 4 vols.
Approximately 4,000 entries, includes index.  Covers topics such as "Sikh theology, philosophy, history, ethics, literature, art, ceremonies, customs, personalities, shrines, sects, etc.". 
             Duke  Divinity Reference  BL2017.3 .E63 1992  
             UNC  Davis Reference  BL2017.3 .E539 1995  
             NCSU  D.H. Hill Stacks  BL2017.3 .E63 1992 v.3-v.4  
Singh, Rajwant.
The Sikhs: Their Literature on Culture, History, Philosophy, Politics, Religion, and Traditions, (Delhi, 1989)
Provides account of books, research articles, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings on Sikh Studies published in English up to the end of 1988.
             Duke  Perkins Stacks  Z3208.E74 C455 1989 

Online Resources

Islamic Studies Reference (Duke University) Online and print resources related to Islam.

Religion in South Asia (University of Wisconsin)

Religion in South Asia (RISA)   RISA is a branch of the American Academy of Religion (AAR).

Sufi Literature Archive--Links  Page of links for another course taught at UNC.

WWW Virtual Library - Asian Studies  A collaborative, comprehensive expert guide to scholarly resources and documents.  Links are carefully evaluated and annotated. Various South Asian countries are represented.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified May 29, 2009 5:16:30 PM EDT