Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

South Asian Studies

Newspapers and Periodicals

Current News Sources

newsThe TRLN libraries subscribe to the following newspapers by air mail:.

Times of India, Bombay. (Duke; on paper and film).

Dawn, Karachi. (Duke; on paper and film).

Although received by air mail, generally there is a time lag of 2-3 weeks. A paper copy is held in the Current Periodicals at least for a year or until the microfilm is received.  For the latest news from South Asia BBC Front Page along with its radio and TV services provides round the clock news summary in English, Bengali, Hindi, Nepali, Sinhala, Tamil and Urdu. For a countrywide list of major newspapers online the following are some of the most useful sources:

Afghanistan    Bangladesh    Bhutan    India    Maldives    Nepal    Pakistan    Sri Lanka

          Afghanistan

  • Afghan Online Press   A summary of daily news with links to different sources of information on Afghanistan.

          Bangladesh

  • Bangla 2000  A searchable portal to news, magazines, with links to online newspapers in Bengali, Urdu and English.

          Bhutan

          India

  • Indiapress Provides links to major newspapers in 13 Indian languages and select English papers.
  • SAMACHAR Includes links to major Indian newspapers: Deccan Chronicle, Deccan Herald, The Hindu, Hindustan Times, The Indian Express, The Times of India; and newspapers in various regional languages

          Maldives

  • Haveeru Daily Online   Sections on news, sports, people, photos, features, entertainment, weather, exchange rates, editorial.  Published in English and Dhivehi.

          Nepal

A select list of links to online newspapers in English and Nepali.

  • Nepal News Homepage  Mercantile Communications, Ltd.  Nepal's online news service.  Produces its own (searchable) independent news site and hosts a number of publications, with a list of important daily and weekly papers.
  • The Kathmandu Post  Daily news, with numerous links to information on Nepal.
  • The Telegraph  Weekly coverage of ongoing news.
  • The Rising Nepal  Daily news, chatroom, weekly poll, Nepali Section, fonts download and search feature.

Top of Page

          Pakistan

Links to select newspapers in English and regional languages.

  • Dawn Internet Edition "Pakistan's most widely circulated English language Newspaper."  Note: The Library has microforms of back issues: Oct. 26, 1941-Sept. 3, 1947 (Originally published from Delhi); 1951-to date (from Karachi). For current holdings check with the Newspapers and Microforms Dept.
  • Business Recorder  Pakistan's National Financial Daily" which is published simultaneously from Karachi and Lahore as well as on the WWW.
  • Daily Jasarat  Urdu
  • The Frontier Post  Online version of a daily newspaper published simultaneously from Peshawar and Quetta, complete with national and international news, features, cartoons, and a reply form for letters to the editor.  
  • The Nation
  • Newspapers Subject Guides  (Pakistan)

         Sri Lanka

A select list of links to online newspapers in English, Sinhala and Tamil.

Top of Page

Archival News Sources on Microform

For archival news sources, in addition to the titles listed below, Duke, NC State and UNC researchers have access to South Asian newspapers in microform in the CRL foreign newspaper collection and South Asia Microform Project (SAMP). These vast collections consist of South Asian newspapers in English and various vernacular languages, from the 19th century to the present. For borrowing these films check with the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Dept.

Bangladesh | India | Nepal | Pakistan | Sri Lanka

Bangladesh

S43

Bangladesh Observer. Dacca. Formerly Pakistan Observer (to 1971).  Library has: 1962-Oct. 2004.
India

N3589

Bande Mataram. Calcutta, Aug. 6, 1906-    Library has: Aug. 1906-Oct. 1908.
 

N4733

The Bengal Hurkaru. (Spelled also as: Bengal Harracarrah, Bengal Harakaru.) Calcutta, 1795-    Library has: Aug. 1822-Dec. 1866.
 

N4189

Bengal native newspapers. Selections from Bengal native newspapers in the India Office Library collection, for the period 1901 to 1910. For details, see Calendar of Selections (Call no. 015.414 / C149) in the Newspaper and Microform Dept. (Calendar is only for the period 1907-1910).
 

S8

Bharata ka Rajapatra. (Gazette of India). New Delhi, Jan. 28, 1950-    Library has: 1957-July 1997.
    Bombay Courier. Bombay, 1790-1837. From 1938 continued as: Times of India. Library has: (Hard copy) 1800 Feb. 8, 15; Mar. 1, 8, 22 (odd paper, vol. 17). Shelved in Special Collections.
 

N3605

Calcutta Morning Post. Calcutta, 1798-    Library has: 1812-1813.
 

S101s

Deccan Herald. Banglore, 1948-    Library has: 1963-1985.
 

N3650

Hicky's Bengal Gazette. Calcutta, Jan. 29, 1780-    Library has: July 22, 1780-1782.
 

S178

Hi. (Weekly) Bombay. In Underground Press Collection. Library has:
v. 4, no. 8 (Aug. 4)-no. 13 (Oct. 19) 1972. (Reel 103, item no 4)
v. 5, no. 1 (Nov. 4, 1972)-24 (Oct. 19, 1973). (Reel 103, item no. 4; reel 131, item   no. 6)
v. 6, no. 1 (Nov. 4, 1973)-no. 24 (Nov. 19, 1974). (Reel 131, item no. 6; reel 159, item no. 5)
v. 7, no. 3-4 (Dec. 4-19, 1974). (Reel 159, item no. 5) v. 8, no. 3 (Jan. 4, 1975). (Reel 184, item no. 2)
    The Hindu, Chennai [Madras]. 1878-    UNC has 1951-to date.
 

S126

Hindustan Times. New Delhi, 1924-    Library has: Nov. 1926-1929 (lacking Jan. 1927); 1963-Jan. 2005. 

  S130s The Hitavada. Nagpur, 1911-    Organ of the Servants of India Society. Library has: 1963-Apr. 1985.
 

N4782

Kerala Chronicle. Trichur, 1961-    Library has: 1963-Apr. 1964.
 

N4787

The Leader. Allahabad, 1909-Sept. 6, 1967. Library has: Hardcopy 1937 Sept. 19, 23, 26, 30; Oct. 3, 7. Film: 1963-Sept. 6, 1967.
 

N2093

Madras Native Newspapers. Selections from the Madras native newspapers available in India Office Library, for the period 1875, 1880, 1885, 1890, 1895, 1900-1909. For details, see Calendar of Selections (call no. 015.5482 / C149) in the Newspapers and Microforms Dept.
 

S148

National Herald. Allahabad, Aug. 1938-    Library has 1963-Aug 1985.
 

N4837

The Pioneer. Lucknow, 1865-    Library has: 1870-1884 (lacking Apr. 18-24, 1873).
 

N4190

Punjab native newspapers. Selections from Punjab native newspapers in the India Office Library collection for the period: 1875, 1880, 1882, 1890, 1893-1901, 1903, 1906 and 1908. For details, see Calendar of Selections (call no. 015.545 / C149) in the Newspapers and Microforms Dept.
 

S161

Searchlight. Patna, 1919-    Library has: 1963-Apr. 1986.
 

S164

Statesman. Delhi, 1930-    Library has: 1963-Oct. 1986.
 

S 173

Times of India. Bombay, 1838-    Library has: 1956-DEC. 2006. (Bombay ed. is received currently.) From Jan. 1967-Dec. 1989 film is of New Delhi ed.)
 

S173A

Times of India. New Delhi, 1950-    Library has film: 1966-1989. See also the preceding entry for the Bombay ed.
Nepal

S72

Commoner. Kathmandu. Library has: 1963-1994.
Pakistan

S99

Dawn. Karachi. (Originally published from Delhi.) Library has: Oct. 26, 1941-Sept. 3, 1947 ; 1951-Apr. 2000, Jul.-Aug. 2004.
Sri Lanka

S6236

Daily News. Colombo. Library has: 1987-Dec. 2004.