South Asian Studies
Other South Asian Centers and Associations
- ACSAA: American Committee for South Asian Art; A collection of 15,000 slides of art and architecture of India and other South and South East Asian countries; available for purchase from the University of Michigan.
- American Institute of Bangladesh Studies Started in 1989 to be the equivalent for Bangladesh of the older AIIS and AIPS. The program is sponsored by the government of Bangladesh. It aims to provide opportunities for American citizens to do research in Bangladesh. In 1992 the institute became eligible for grants funded by the United States Information Agency.
- AIIS: American Institute of Indian Studies. A consortium of universities and colleges, established in 1961. Provides fellowship support to scholars and PhD candidates and facilitates language learning through its on-site Language Centers.
- AIPS: American Institute of Pakistan Studies. Established in 1973, a non-profit educational organization. Provides research fellowships, administers lectureships and organizes academic conferences to further the study of Pakistan.
- AISLS: American Institute for Sri Lankan Studies. A non-profit organization incorporated in 1996. Provides directories on scholars, research and academic events.
- ASIANetwork: A consortium of one hundred and fifty US colleges. Focuses on strengthening the role of Asian Studies in the undergraduate curriculum.
- Asia Society: A non-profit, non-partisan educational organization founded in 1956 by John D. Rockefeller 3rd. It offers information on the more than thirty countries broadly defined as the Asia-Pacific region. Headquarters are in New York, in addition there are nine regional centers in the US and overseas. Asia Society's web projects include Asia Source (A resource of the Asia Society providing daily news and special reports on Asian countries), AskAsia (A comprehensive website for K-12 Asian and Asian-American Studies), and AsiaFood (Information on Asian cuisine, with two searchable databases of over 500 recipes).
- Asiatica Association: This association is not affiliated with any university, it is a non-profit, non-governmental, cultural association , which has been established to promote and diffuse the study of the Asian cultures. It invites scholarly contributions and provides links to academic events and publications.
- AAS: Association for Asian Studies. Founded in 1941originally as publisher of the Far Eastern Quarterly (now the Journal of Asian Studies). A large scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association that organizes annual meetings and facilitates research and publications. The homepage has up to date links to major publications, conferences, organizations and employment opportunities.
- Centre de Sciences Humaines: New Delhi. Cultural Service of the French embassy. It promotes research on South Asia in the social sciences and humanities.
- NBR: National Bureau of Asian Research. NBR is a non-profit, non-partisan research institute that focuses on policy relevant issues in Asia.
- SACP: Society for Asian & Comparative Philosophy. A non-profit association established in 1967, it strives to facilitate intellectual exchange between Asian and Western philosophers. SACP organizes conferences in Asia, Australia, Europe and the United States.
- ASAA: Asian Studies Association of Australia, Inc. Supports educators who study Asian languages, societies, cultures and politics in Australia. Organizes conferences and seminars, and publishes periodicals and monographs.
- BASAS: British Association for South Asian Studies. The largest UK association for the study of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Links to upcoming conferences, different news sources and funding opportunities for research.
- International Institute for Asian Studies: Leiden, Netherlands. The site includes Gateway to Asian Studies - this is a complete listing of non US associations of South Asian studies searchable by country.
- SAARC: South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. Established in 1985 by the governments of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka to accelerate the process of economic and social development in Member States.
- SACAP The New Delhi Office of The Library of Congress acquires, catalogs, preserves, publications in all languages from India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka, as well as Tibetan language publications available in these countries. It ships these acquisitions to the Library of Congress in Washington, and to libraries which participate in the South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program (SACAP) including Duke.
Top of Page
Select International Centers for South Asian Studies
Library Resources for South Asian Studies
Top of Page
Last modified January 31, 2011 9:19:24 AM EST