Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Style Manuals and Citation Guides

Other Styles, Manuals, & Bibliographies of Style Manuals

Journal-Specific Styles

Those intending to submit their work to a specific journal should be aware of the publication's stylistic requirements. Often each issue includes information for authors. Several of the guides in these Style Manuals and Citation Guides pages, particularly Carolyn J. Mullins's The Complete Manuscript Preparation Style Guide and John Bruce Howell's Style Manuals of the English-Speaking World, will help in locating issues that contain more detailed style requirements.

House Manuals

Most publishing houses produce style manuals as guides for their authors and editors. Several firms' manuals are listed below, as they have attracted some outside use:

  • Ritter, R. M. New Hart's Rules. Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
    Perkins Reference  PN147 .N42 2005

Covers the mechanics of writing and manuscript preparation.

Covers punctuation, documentation, typography, etc.

Bibliographies of Style Manuals

The following resource will be useful in locating manuals that specific disciplines or publications use. Other sources, such as chapters 6-8 of Mullins's The Complete Manuscript Preparation Style Guide, provide similar information.

This annotated bibliography arranges general and specialized manuals according to discipline. Covers in two broad sections general style manuals and subject-specific ones ranging from Agriculture to Zoology.

The online catalog may be useful in locating additional style manuals. Some appropriate subject headings are:

  • Authorship--Style manuals
  • Bibliographical citations
  • Electronic publishing--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
  • Manuscript preparation
  • Report writing--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
  • Research--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified October 4, 2007 12:13:43 PM EDT