The following list is a selection of general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias on U.S. history that are available in the Duke libraries. The Duke University Libraries have an outstanding collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias, both in print and online. To search for additional titles in the online catalog (link to catalog), either a subject or keyword search can be used. In subject searching, look for the sub-heading "dictionaries" or "encyclopedias." Such as:
In keyword searching, use the term "dictionary*" or "encyclopedia*" in the search statement. For example, civil war and united states and (dictionar* or encyclopedia*). The asterick (truncation) allows for the retrieval of both the singular and plural of the words.
American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History. Ed. by John Mack Faragher. New York: H. Holt, 1998. Perkins/Bostock Reference E174 .A535 1998 and Lilly Reference 973.003 A512 1998
Dictionary of American History. Rev. ed. 8 v. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1976-78. Perkins/Bostock Stacks E174 D52 1976 and Lilly Reference 973 A214DA (There is also a 1996 supplement available in both Perkins/Bostock Stacks and Lilly Reference)
Encyclopedia of American History. Ed. by Richard B. Morris. 7th ed. New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 1996. Perkins/Bostock Reference E174.5 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia of American History. Ed. By Gary B. Nash. New York: Facts on File, 2003. Perkins/Bostock Reference E174 .E53 2003
The Oxford Companion to United States History. Ed. by Paul S. Boyer. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001; print copies Perkins/Bostock Reference E174 .O94 2001 and Lilly Reference 973.03 O98, 2001
Purvis, Thomas L. A Dictionary of American History. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1997; print copies Perkins/Bostock Reference E174 .P87 1995 and Lilly Reference 973.003 P986 D554 1995
The Libraries also have a growing collection of online reference works. For historical research, the best collection to use is History Reference Online. This collection of specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries offers such titles as:
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.