Duke Libraries

Ask us now

U.S. History

Finding Books

Need Book Reviews?

America: History and Life includes citations to book reviews from over one hundred key journals in the area of U.S. history. 1954 to present

Book Review Index indexes book reviews from newspapers, journals, and magazines.  1965 to present
 
JSTOR, a database of archived issues of academic journals, allows the searcher to limit to book reviews only. From the basic search screen, you can limit your search by type (reviews).
 

The online catalog provides bibliographic information on the majority of holdings in the Duke University Libraries. Materials in the online catalog are cataloged using Library of Congress Subject headings. A listing of these headings is available through the multi-volume Library of Congress Subject Headings (commonly referred to as the "big red books"). Sets are available in both the Perkins Reference Department and Lilly Library. With subject searching, a good place to begin is with variations on the heading that begins with United States -- history. For example,

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Caricatures and cartoons
United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 – Bibliography


What about books that aren’t in the Duke Libraries’ collections?

To identify books that are held at other libraries, you can check the following catalogs:

  • WorldCat provides access to millions of records of materials held by libraries throughout the United States and the world.
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

Last modified October 4, 2007 2:39:19 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870