Web Site Search

Ask us now
Resources for Policy Memos

This guide is organized to point out resources that answer the reporter's questions: who? what? when? where? why?

Use each section to find the information you need to write a policy memo.

US Public Policy

Library Keys

Public Policy Collection Description

The Public Policy collection supports the curricular and research needs of the Sanford Institute of Public Policy, and its centers, at Duke. The collection serves undergraduates, graduate students, teaching faculty, and research staff . Perkins Library acquires resources for Public Policy in all formats, including books, periodicals, microfiche, and electronic databases. Subject areas collected extensively include: political analysis, economic analysis, environmental policy, developing countries, sustainable development, mass communications and journalism, and urban planning. 

Catalog
More than just books, the catalog points you to journal holdings and electronic resources like databases and selected web sites. Follow the examples under the search box or click Help in the banner to get the most out of it. Specific tips:

  • "Public policy" is not a Library of Congress subject heading. Search "policy sciences," "political planning" or "public policy (law)" as a subject.
  • Search also: subdivision Government policy under subjects; and headings of the type [Topic] and state, and [Topic] policy, e.g. Science and state; Economic policy.
  • Useful keywords to combine with topics: policy, politic*, govern*, civil society

Research Databases
The databases are carefully selected, paid subscriptions, much more reliable and accurate than surfing the Web. Choose those most appropriate for your paper by browsing the Social Sciences subjects (especially Demographic Studies, Economics, History, International Relations and IGOs, Political Science, Public Policy, and Women's Studies) for recommended databases for your discipline or topic.
    
Public Documents & Maps
This collection on the 3rd floor of Bostock Library includes documents and publications from the governments of the United States, North Carolina, European Union, and United Nations. Core publications from other US states and intergovernmental organizations such as OECD, World Bank, WTO, NAFTA and IMF are integrated into the general collection and listed in the catalog.

Other Research Guides

Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism
From the Duke Libraries. Important topic to remember throughout the research and writing process.

The Legislative Process
Follow the process and locate the documents produced along the way, via Duke Libraries

Non-governmental Organizations
From Perkins Library's Public Documents & Maps Dept., a research guide and dynamic database of NGOs specializing in environmentally sustainable development, women and development, and human rights.


International/Transnational Relations
Companion to this guide, for international political and policy topics. Suggests resources about and from other nations, intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) and civil society. Includes where to find statistics and primary sources.