What is the foundation of the issue? What are the legal, economic, and social structures that gave rise to it?
Follow policymaking in the federal and state governments.
Congress and the nation : a review of government and politics in the postwar years.
Congressional Quarterly. Covers 1945-present in 4 years/volume. Perkins Ref.
Each volume covers a four-year Presidential term, giving an overview and chronology of government action in major policy areas.
Annually reviews the Congress and nation. Provides thorough discussions of issues, bills, and votes. Appendices provide vote studies, key texts from that year, a list of public laws and roll call votes.
Congressional Record
U.S. Government Printing Office. 1925 - present. Last 6 years in Docs. Ref.; earlier issues in Docs. Stacks X/a: 1789 - 1925 on microfiche in Docs. Ref.
The proceedings and debates of Congress. Paginated by letters and numbers, i.e. H675. Letters identify whether House or Senate. Records the proceedings on the floor with remarks as added by the representative or senator. Also available through GPO Access and Lexis Nexis Congressional.
A variety of fulltext materials made available to researchers by the Naval Postgraduate School and sponsored by the US Dept. of Homeland Security. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Topics include: immigration, emergency management, intelligence, law and justice, economics, military, politics and government, public health, technology, terrorism, and weapons. Materials include government documents, research studies, CRS reports, GAO reports and testimony, theses and dissertations, case studies and grey literature. Links to related sites and news reports.
MarciveWeb Docs
Formerly known as Index to U.S. Government Publications. July 1976 - present. Go to Articles and Databases and enter the database name in the box under Find Database.
The catalog of materials published by the Government Printing Office. Prior to July 1976 it exists in paper format. It is indexed by author, title and subject. Use the combined search, "anyword" field, for keyword searching.
North Carolina Legislation
1974 - present. Perkins Ref.
Excellent annual summary of the work of the NC Legislature.
State Legislative Sourcebook.
Latest Perkins Ref.; earlier Perkins stacks
Resource guide to legislative information on the 50 states.
U.S. Government Periodicals Index
Congressional Information Service. 1990-present. CD Network.
Indexes articles in federal government journals and magazines. Very useful for military magazines not indexed in other indexes.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Office of the Federal Register. 1965 - present. 1992 - present in Perkins Ref. US, older issues in Docs. Stacks AE 2.109: Online from 1993-present.
Exactly what the title implies. A weekly compilation of presidential addresses, communications, interviews, proclamations and nominations, and meetings with foreign dignitaries. Compiled after each term of office in the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, online from 1992, Perkins Ref US AE 2.114: (1984-present) and GS 4.113: (1929-1983).