Duke Libraries

Ask us now

US Public Policy

When

News subscriptions through the library

When did key events take place? Look at current events and get historical background from contemporaneous news accounts.

The Duke University libraries subscribe to over 150 newspapers in print, plus we subscribe to many databases that include news articles from papers, wire services, radio and TV.

Many newspaper articles are included in Duke Libraries databases. You can also look up newspapers by title in e-journals.
Accunet/AP Multimedia Archive
Sometimes an image is worth more than 1,000 words, mobilizing many more than 1,000 people. This database contains news photos, mostly North American, from 1995 to present, with some older photos.
America's Newspapers
Use for regional, state and local papers. You must choose America's Newspapers from a list of databases on the Newsbank site.
CNN/Time AllPolitics
Useful for current news and issues. Some analysis.
C-SPAN
Watch or listen to US government in action through this nonprofit cable company. 
LexisNexis Academic
Full text coverage of major general periodicals, newspapers, and wire services from the U.S. and the world. Foreign language news in Spanish, French, Dutch, Italian & German.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
An archive of evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Use for:
  • identifying national news segments on your topic
  • brief blurbs only; to borrow the video you must pay a fee
  • Identify the news segment, then look for the transcript in LexisNexis
 

Current US newspaper subscriptions

A list with locations and dates of coverage from Perkins Library Newspapers Department


Last modified October 24, 2006 5:08:16 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870